We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb / Bring the Toddlers & Kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walker Art Gallery

Walker Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.68*
and up
Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour...
Ranked #8 of 201 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walker Art Gallery is a beautiful building housing a stunning collection of art. The galleries hold paintings from the 13th century to the present day: you can see work by Rembrandt, Hockney, Holbein, Turner, Lowry, Rossetti, Millais and Freud to name but a few.We also have a sculpture gallery, a craft and design gallery, and Big Art for Little Artists - a gallery specially designed for children up to 8 years of age.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb / Bring the Toddlers & Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic space to view renaissance paintings – and more. Includes a brilliant children’s art area with crafts, books, puzzles, art displays and more. Worth a visit, toddler and older children in tow. Nice café as well for light snacks/sandwiches.

Check out What's on, and if you happen to be in town during a Kaleidescape weekend, which is an 'open floor of music, poetry and performance,' do check it out. Don't miss it! Led by Singer songwriter Tony Kehoe. Perhaps even sign up??!

Tate Liverpool also had a kids room, worth going if visiting Albert Docks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J&MDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,135
    428
    65
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab and Free Too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited the Walker Art Gallery after visiting The World Museum and were amazed to find that it was another fabulous, free attraction which Liverpool has on offer. It's a beautiful building in a convenient location (Lime Street Station is just around the corner - it was the last thing we did before we headed for our train) packed with famous portraits and pictures. I loved the pre-raphaelite galleries and the Victorian Art, whereas my son loved the (very famous) portrait of Henry VIII most. There was a workshop area for kids to dabble in art of their own and play and loads of resources, We had loads of fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evercreech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great for Children too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is a wonderful room on the ground floor dedicated to entertaining children. A good variety of paintings throughout the Gallery and good exhibitions which change frequently.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wisteria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big art.... Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staff member was rude, horrible, disgusting and told me my child couldn't use her potty on day 4 of potty training. Made my 3 year old daughter feel embarrassed, shamed and made her cry. Not a place for children to go, I do not recommend this place at all. Infant stay away with small children

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sapphireastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good description of art forms etc, some good displays.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Another good museum of displaying examples of arts and ceramics etc.

On the day I went there was a museum staff strike, so I walked around with a full backpack ok. However the staff said if it was a "normal" staffed day then they would not allow it. They did say there would normally be luggage facilities available.

Staff were friendly and courteous, however any museum that tries to prevent travellers from wearing backpacks gets negative marks from me.

Travellers are often doing their own modern day "Grand Tours", and are out there to get culture and education. We often have time between trains and hotel check in/out which means we often need to have our packs on.

The British Library i the only other museum/art gallery that I have found that is not backpack friendly.

Worth the time to visit. Only 5-10 minutes walk from Lime Street station

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Walker Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing