We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, inexpensive hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aachen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aachen Hotel
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, inexpensive hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great value, great location, and a great, full English breakfast is included in the price. My room is small, as is the bathroom (I think I have the smallest room in the hotel), but the rooms are clean and comfortable (and who wants to spend their day in their hotel room?), the staff is great and helpful, and the location by Lime Street and Central stations is conveniently central to anywhere you might want to go in Liverpool for the most part. Overall a great value.

Room Tip: I'd ask about the size of the room and bathroom. My room is great, but it, and the bathroom in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_EPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    76
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
27
57
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was so friendly and the food was great! Everything about it was good. It was central to everything too.
I go to Liverpool quite a bit and this is the only place I will stay from now on.
Very reasonable in price, spotless and like i said EVERYONE was friendly toward myself and my friend.

Room Tip: Just stay at this hotel and you won't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

For me, a single visitor on my first time 4-day trip to Liverpool, wanting to see all the various amazing exhibitions for the Biennial celebrations, this hotel is ideal. Warm and friendly from the moment I arrived. Had single occupancy in a compact comfy room (fab double bed - slept better than I do at home!) was made to feel very welcome. I cannot begin to describe the breakfast - bring loose clothing!! Such lovely ladies one and all (though opening a jar of Marmite was the giggle at breakfast-time - "need a strong man, love? No, a strong woman"!!!) About sums it up for me - lovely hotel, lovely city and being originally from London incredibly warm-hearted...with people who are genuine. Thank you Aachen, Thanks Liverpool - I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Think you will be welcome to ask for any changes you want for "quieter" rooms! It's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0seid0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Imagine you were the owner of a hotel that needed refurbishment. Imagine that you couldn't raise the capital to carry out the changes you wanted. The result might be something like the Aachen.

The stairs up to the rooms felt very old and dated but my room was pretty good for a three star hotel. It was a reasonable size and was equipped like a mini apartment - worktop area, sink, even a wine cooler(!)… however no cooking facilities apart from a microwave, so it didn't really feel like an apartment. The bathroom furniture was as stylish as anything I've seen in four and five star hotels and yet the bathroom walls looked like the walls you'd find on a cross channel ferry.

Aside from these quirks, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. I went for a full English breakfast - fried eggs, bacon, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried bread etc… a cholesterol packed, artery clogging start to the day and I loved it. The ladies running the place were very friendly and I enjoyed my stay. It's not a luxurious hotel by any means but is worth the money if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked a single room at this Hotel. On arrival I was given a room with a double and a single bed. Room was very clean. There was an extra duvet for each bed though can't really work out why as the one on the bed was warm and the room heating was good (and adjustable thermostat). Breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very helpful. The location is good... 5 mins walk from Lime Street Station and town centre. 15 mins walk to Albert Dock. I can't think of anything I did not like about this small Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Aachen Hotel for a midweek break. It is clean, the staff are friendly and we got given a studio room when we booked for a double room, no complaints there as we had more room! The bed sheets were a bit dated, not the same as the ones shown in the photos and some of the finish on the room was not perfect (chipped paint and floor) but nothing major.
It's in a good location, the shopping centre, docks and restaurants are all in walking distance (20 minutes or so).
The breakfast was good, a full english (with vegetarian options available too) and cereals, fruit and yoghurt also. Although it was served 7 - 9 which as students is a little early for our liking !!
We both slept really well as the bed was comfortable and the room a good temperature. There was a little noise you could here from the room, but not really noticeable with the windows shut and it's what you'd expect from a lively city.

A brilliant hotel if you're on a budget, or a quick visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQuickOne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is pretty much perfect as a base when in Liverpool. It seems like it used to be a couple of old houses that have been converted into a small hotel, but it is done nicely, with the front downstairs room acting as reception and dining room.

My room was very conferrable with everything I needed. It was of a good size and the bathroom was nice also. Free wifi is available and I was able to log on from my room.

The lady who greeted me was very friendly and provided me with a key to come and go from the hotel as I pleased. The ladies at breakfast were just as nice and were chatty and having a laugh with provided a good start to the day. The Full English breakfast was also spot on.

The only two faults I could pick was my room was quite warm and there was only a small fan. Also, some background music or radio would have been nice at breakfast, instead of silence.

In a good location just minutes walk to the city centre and would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuickOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#65 of 100 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 100 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 100 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aachen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Hotel

Property: Aachen Hotel
Address: 89 - 91 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aachen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within a Grade 2 Georgian building, each room at the Aachen has every conceivable facility for the traveler: Flat Screen TV's with DVD player, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities, trouser press. Bar facilities are also available on the premises. We also offer free internet service. Your room rate will always include our Famous 'Eat As Much As You Like' Breakfast. Situated in the heart of the city centre, we are located within the university complex (Central Campus), and convenient for all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aachen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing