We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly at Aachen”
Review of Aachen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aachen Hotel
Ranked #52 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Two adults and two children age 9 and 11 had a very good stay for 5 days at Aachen Hotel. The first floor family en suite room with an extra bed was very suitable for us. Excellent breakfast, both continental and English and additional food that is rarely offered in other smaller hotels. Good and friendly service from staff. Cleaning was good. Aachen is situated close to the city centre, only minutes to walk to shopping area, train stations and the cathedrals.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mbrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 281 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

We ended up at the Aachen Hotel only because I couldnt find a place that would book three people to a room (i.,e. Premier Inns) and I am VERY glad we did. We absolutely loved the charm of this place. True there is no elevator, yes it is more of a B&B than a hotel and yes the bathroom was small........but I have absolutely no complaints about any of it. The hosts were friendly & helpful. I thought the decor was charming and the place was more than just clean. We had a full breakfast the next morning - and being used to American "breakfast included"...which is usually coffee, pastry or a bagel....this was great. It was a few minute walk from the Lime Street Station and walkable to most of the things we wanted to do. If I ever have the treat of getting back to Liverpool I wont look to book anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

In some ways I might be seen as an awkward customer, because I am a vegan. However when the hotel were told, they contacted me to find out exactly what my requirements were; and when I arrived I found that they had purchased a number of vegan products - soya milk, margarine, rashers, chocolate dessert, yoghurt, cheese - which is the best selection I have ever come across at a non-vegetarian establishment. The staff were friendly and willing to have a joke with you, so overall I was really pleased.

There was also wireless internet that was easy to connect to, enabling me to do a bit of work as well. With it being so close to the venue I was visiting every day, the Aachen was ideal.

Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
Thank BrynWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I booked this hotel based upon 2 things. 1 I needed a hotel close to LIPA and 2 the reviews on this site. I have just spent one night at the hotel and the only thing I can say is that I am glad it was only one. I agree that the hotel is very clean. But that is about it. In reality this is not really a hotel but a B&B. The public areas, with the exception of the reception/bar area are very tired. I felt like I was in an episode of life on Mars, the decor is definitely straight from the 70s. I had a room on the top floor, to which there is no lift, the room itself was quite small, but the en suite was laughable. It was so small that if you went in forwards you had to back out. The shower was less than inviting, the washbasin was so small as to be next to useless, the loo didn't flush properly and the shaver point didn't work. After a poor nights sleep on an unbelievably hard bed I was looking forward to the wonderful breakfast talked about in the previous reviews. How disappointed I was, I was served coffee that was so strong and bitter it was undrinkable at a table that was set like a Blackpool guest house( I had never seen ketchup and brown sauce in vinegar bottles before). The service was akin to Fawlty towers and the food was dire. I left my meal, checked out and headed for a local greasy spoon where I Had a far superior full English for
£3. Would I return, never, was it worth £65 a night? I don't think so. My advice would be to spend an extra £20-£30 and book a real hotel

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank the jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Aachen hotel was located within 5 min walk from the Lime St train station. Easily accessible even with luggage.
The receptionist immediately recognized and called me by name when I walked in. Helped me with my luggage to my room.
Spacious, tastefully decoreated rooms. Wireless internet that worked. Outstanding cook-to-order breakfast; even remembered what I had the day before.
Excellent value for your money. Will return.
David Wong
Toronto

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

The Aachen was a nice hotel. They were very accomodating as we arrived early and they let us check in.The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean.They did our laundry for us for a very reasonable sum which was so helpful as we had been travelling for 3 weeks and had had difficulty finding laundry facilities. The location was okay. We were able to walk to the docks and from the train station but it was a fair distance.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I have friends who live in the Liverpool.
He has small house so gives us stay in this hotel. I go with my Wife. We love the friendliness of people of city of Liverpool and same in hotel.
Rooms are small but have evrything i need for good stay.
When i come back next year i will stay in same hotel again.
Not so good for Beatles festival this time but my friends told me it will be very good again next year like other years.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jens_sewden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#56 of 99 in Liverpool
597 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#58 of 99 in Liverpool
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#62 of 99 in Liverpool
48 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
The Podworks Hotel
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aachen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Hotel

Address: 89-91 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $50 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aachen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within a Grade 2 Georgian building, each room at the Aachen has every conceivable facility for the traveler: Flat Screen TV's with DVD player, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities, trouser press. Bar facilities are also available on the premises. We also offer free internet service. Your room rate will always include our Famous 'Eat As Much As You Like' Breakfast. Situated in the heart of the city centre, we are located within the university complex (Central Campus), and convenient for all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aachen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing