We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Real McCoy

The Real McCoy
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Real McCoy
Ranked #43 of 77 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Absolutely loved my stay in the Real McCoy Guest House. Ann and John McCoy are real gems who make you feel so welcome and ensure that your stay in Liverpool is a great one. In their house, you feel as if you are staying at a home away from home, and I was always looking forward to returning to the place after a long day. The room was comfy and clean, and I had some great nights' sleep. The lovely breakfast really set you up for the day! In the relaxed atmosphere, it was easy to chat to the other guests, and I noticed that the Real McCoy has a lot of regulars, who come to stay there when they are in Liverpool. Although the Guest House is a bit outside the City Centre, it has a regular bus service into town (the stop is just outside the house, so very handy), and other bus services nearby. The Real McCoy is close to Hope University, so it's a great place to stay when you are visiting friends there.
I'll definitely return to the Real McCoy, since it added so much to my visit to Liverpool. Ann and John - you rock!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a really good guest house, easy to get to from Liverpool Lime Street Station about £8 in a taxi.

We arrrived about 9 on the Saturday night, Anne McCoy (proprietor) made us welcome and gave us all a beer when we arrived, Anne offered us more, i thought that was a really nice touch. It was a really warm night so we sat in the garden which was relaxing.

The rooms were very clean, fresh and well furnished . The breakfast was good value with an excellent choice of cereal and yoghurts, the cooked breakfast was amazing i was full for most of the day.

I would book here again........ Thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MungoPNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Everything about our 2 night stay was perfect, from the rooms and breakfast, to the free beer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyboy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We were warmly welcomed by Ann when we arrived. She had a good cht over tea and biscuits to see if there was anything she could help us with. The room was clean and beautifully furnished. We had a great night's sleepas there was no traffic noise and were fed a great breakfast in a lovely room overlooking the garden. All in all a very pleasant experience. This is what a B&B should be like.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

ok - this ticks all the boxes in what we were looking for in a high quality good value B&B.:
- The bed - absolutely to die for!
The sleep - sounder than seemed possible!
The breakfast...amazing full English - superb, but not really bad for you, or if it is, the guilt is only momentary!
But most of all what will stay with us for a long time- and makes this a "must stay" - is the hospitality of Ann and John. - From the post midnight arrival (because of delayed flight) - absolutely no problem - the warmth of the welcome, the sense that they create that this is "your home" while there - is I think, quite unique. The genuine sense that they will do what they can for you is very real.
A hidden gem.

Liam O'Donohoe

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublintraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We only stayed here after our original accomodation in Liverpool was cancelled. I was a little apprehensive at first by the location, but, WOW this place was a real find. Location ended up being fine as it was only a 5-10 min taxi from the city centre and there is a regular bus service to/from city centre as well.

The McCoy owners could not be more lovely and accomodating. Offered beers or coffee upon our arrival which we gladly accepted. The English breakfast was the best we've had at a B&B (honestly) and the owners regularly topped up the coffee/orange juice etc and kept offering food until our bellies could not fit any more in. Rooms were amazing - sunny, large and very comfy beds. Modern feel to them as well. The owner gave us some old newspapers on Beatles history which was great too. Definitely going back if we ever go back to liverpool!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naki_Tripper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I was looking for inexpensive accommodation for a night for myself and my daughter; she had an interview early the following morning. Chose the Real McCoy based on location; it's just around the corner from JMU. Welcomed on arrival with hot coffee, and offered comfortable, spacious rooms. Then discovered that the interview was at a different campus, across town. Anne (McCoy, hence the guest house name) immediately offered to drive to the interview location to show us the way so that we wouldn't get lost the following morning. That successfully accomplished, we followed her recommendation for an evening meal (Halfway House) and were very well fed (excellent carvery and a couple of drinks, all for a tenner). Passed plenty of other restaurants nearby, so lots of choice. Returned to the Real McCoy for a quiet, comfortable night's sleep (residential area, so no traffic noise) followed by an excellent cooked breakfast. And all for £70!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiz_me_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Childwall Abbey Hotel
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Real McCoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Real McCoy

Property: The Real McCoy
Address: 126 Childwall Park Avenue, Liverpool L16 0JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Real McCoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Real Mccoy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing