We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay in Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Ranked #58 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice stay in Liverpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a very pleasant 3 nights here. The location is about 2 miles out of Liverpool but has parking and is opposite Sefton Park which is lovely and we like walking and enjoyed the walk into the city along the riverside especially. The room was a bit on the small side and the mattress was too soft for us but the bathroom was lovely and it was all very clean and quiet. The leisure B & B break was excellent value for money. The food was very good, help yourself breakfast with an excellent range and evening meals were good value and my coeliac husband had a reasonable choice of gluten free dishes. Liverpool is a great city with loads of free museums and we especially recommend the Liverpool and Maritime Museums with a tour of the first wet dock which was fascinating. All National Trust properties were very interesting as well including the Beatles tour! All in all a lovely short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and have taken the time to write up about it. It really does help to keep the team motivated when they see such comments. We hope to see you at Alicia Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    160
    116
    89
    64
See reviews for
138
234
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here recently for 2 nights on business. Avoid room Number 5! It was right over the back door of the kitchen with the smell of the bins wafting into the room (ok if you don't like some fresh air into the room!) and staff outside talking rather loudly at gone 11pm. Lucky I was still working and not wanting an early night.
Shower was a dribble of water - and bathroom was pretty dirty when I arrived.
Room itself looked quite clean and modern until I found shirt pins and bits of packaging all over the floor (note to manager get better hoovers or cleaners!)
Breakfast was ok - nothing special and not worth the extra money.
We ate in the restaurant - never seen so many small beer flies in an establishment - hotel needs to get that sorted

Real shame as the location was lovely overlooking the park.
For the price it was ok - but certainly won't be staying there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebov007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ebov007,

Thank you for your recent review. It does dissapoint me that this review is of a negative nature however we will learn from these comments so thank you for your insight. I have spoke with our housekeeping team regarding the unacceptable cleanliness of the carpet and bathroom. Joanna, our head housekeeper will now re-train her team and ensure that these standards are maintained and also sends her apologies. As a result of your review we are now in the process of getting a covered bin area as we agree that it is unacceptable for you to look over this area.I have checked the restaurant and bar areas personally and have found no fruit flies to be in these areas. If it was a mild night and the windows opened in the conservatoy perhpas they were little midgey style flies. As you are aware we are in the middle of parkland and little flying creatures unfortunately come along with this. We sincereley do thank you and send you my apologies. I hope that we can have the oppurtunity to welcome you back, I will personally ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as can be.

Kind Regards,
Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked the Alicia for our daughter's wedding this September. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. Rooms were spotless and inviting,
All our guests were describing the day as perfect and the best wedding they had been to. Thanks to John and his staff for taking the organisation ,advice and the stress of the day to a day we thoroughly enjoyed because of their professional and friendly service.

Room Tip: Four Poster Room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Alicia, thank you for such a kind review. We are glad that you all had a perfect day with us and it will be one to remember. We hoe that Ryan and Emma are enjoying their married life together. Dont be strangers and pop in to see us from time to time.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Sefton park, for one night. It was very reasonably priced and prior to a big game at anfield and wedding season most hotels were booked. As such I had minimal expectations. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all lovely, friendly and full of advice. The room was gorgeous, very plush and well presented. The area round Sefton park is beautiful with the trendy restaurants of lark lane a stone throw away. I would highly recommend this hotel. Only reason it's not a five out of five is the communal areas are not quite as plush, but what do you expect for average price?

Room Tip: Ask for a park facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mally308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. We are in an industry where we aim to do that with every single customer and when people, such as yourselves take the effort to write such reviews it is evident that our aims have been met. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

On 14th September 2013 we were fortunate enough to hold our sons wedding at the Alicia. What an excellent choice!!! From the moment we viewed the Alicia before booking, we were in the safe hands of John and Jenny and their wonderful team. Our son Matt and his beautiful bride Sarah were treated like royalty, as were my husband and I. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything was PERFECT. The whole day ran like clockwork, thanks to the caring, professional way in which the hotel is run. We cannot thank John and the team enough for making the day so special. Quite a few of our guests stayed over at the hotel and the excellent service carried on over the next 2 days. So - John, Jenny, Rob, Bernard, Paul and the rest of the Alicia team - thank you all for a brilliant experience. Joan and Frank Comber

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Joan and Frank, thank you for your review about Matt and Sarahs wedding. we are glad you all had a fantastic day. Its really does keep us motivated when the staff have made such an im[act that they all get named individually on a review so thank you again for this. We look forward to seeing you again in December for your lunch booking.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just spend a couple of nights at the Alicia with our Tesco vouchers. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. We had a lovely room it was very clean. The receptionist was very friendly. It's a little way out of Liverpool but that didn't bother us. We had a lovely stay at the Alicia!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Too expensive for what you get. Avoid room 38. Lumpy uncomfortable bed, drizzly shower and when you open the door into the bathroom it smacks the toilet! Room is very small and impossible to do any work. Lark Lane is its only saving grace, Liverpool's Nottingham Hill. Apart from that the only hi-light was checking out, knowing I won't return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we are an old cotton merchant buidling we are fairly restricted with the size of our rooms and they all differ. We do have executve rooms available which provide more space and only cost £10 more to upgrade to. We would like to think that where we lack in bedroom space we more than compensate in the high wuality of rooms inclusing ipod docking stations, free wifi etc and most of all the friendly team that are employed here as you will see from many other reviews. I am sorry that you feel that your stay was less than satisfactory but please do contact me if you are in Liverpool again and i will arrange a complimentary upgrade for you.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Address: 3 Aigburth Drive, Liverpool L17 3AA, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Liverpool Alicia)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is kissing the fringe of the 200 leafy acres of Sefton Park in Liverpool city centre. Located less than three miles from Liverpool Lime Street station and just 6 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has 41 comfy bedrooms and is a really popular venue for weddings, celebrations and corporate dinners. Stunning photos can be taken in their beautiful Italian terraced garden. The hotel is licenced to host wedding ceremonies and has some great facilities, including on-site parking and Super-fast free unlimited WiFi. Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is the Green Business Tourism Scheme, Gold Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liverpool
Liverpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing