We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant friendly hotel above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Scarborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant friendly hotel above expectations”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Sefton park, for one night. It was very reasonably priced and prior to a big game at anfield and wedding season most hotels were booked. As such I had minimal expectations. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all lovely, friendly and full of advice. The room was gorgeous, very plush and well presented. The area round Sefton park is beautiful with the trendy restaurants of lark lane a stone throw away. I would highly recommend this hotel. Only reason it's not a five out of five is the communal areas are not quite as plush, but what do you expect for average price?

Room Tip: Ask for a park facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mally308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. We are in an industry where we aim to do that with every single customer and when people, such as yourselves take the effort to write such reviews it is evident that our aims have been met. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    167
    122
    90
    67
See reviews for
147
247
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On 14th September 2013 we were fortunate enough to hold our sons wedding at the Alicia. What an excellent choice!!! From the moment we viewed the Alicia before booking, we were in the safe hands of John and Jenny and their wonderful team. Our son Matt and his beautiful bride Sarah were treated like royalty, as were my husband and I. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything was PERFECT. The whole day ran like clockwork, thanks to the caring, professional way in which the hotel is run. We cannot thank John and the team enough for making the day so special. Quite a few of our guests stayed over at the hotel and the excellent service carried on over the next 2 days. So - John, Jenny, Rob, Bernard, Paul and the rest of the Alicia team - thank you all for a brilliant experience. Joan and Frank Comber

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Joan and Frank, thank you for your review about Matt and Sarahs wedding. we are glad you all had a fantastic day. Its really does keep us motivated when the staff have made such an im[act that they all get named individually on a review so thank you again for this. We look forward to seeing you again in December for your lunch booking.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just spend a couple of nights at the Alicia with our Tesco vouchers. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. We had a lovely room it was very clean. The receptionist was very friendly. It's a little way out of Liverpool but that didn't bother us. We had a lovely stay at the Alicia!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Too expensive for what you get. Avoid room 38. Lumpy uncomfortable bed, drizzly shower and when you open the door into the bathroom it smacks the toilet! Room is very small and impossible to do any work. Lark Lane is its only saving grace, Liverpool's Nottingham Hill. Apart from that the only hi-light was checking out, knowing I won't return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we are an old cotton merchant buidling we are fairly restricted with the size of our rooms and they all differ. We do have executve rooms available which provide more space and only cost £10 more to upgrade to. We would like to think that where we lack in bedroom space we more than compensate in the high wuality of rooms inclusing ipod docking stations, free wifi etc and most of all the friendly team that are employed here as you will see from many other reviews. I am sorry that you feel that your stay was less than satisfactory but please do contact me if you are in Liverpool again and i will arrange a complimentary upgrade for you.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and my husband got married here on May bank holiday 2013. from the start it couldn't have been better.

jenny (the wedding planner) was relaxed, organised, approachable and thought of everything. she didnt mind my constant emails and made me feel like i was the only bride at the alicia that year. the personal touch was what made us chose the alicia in the first place and that continued right through until the day of the wedding and beyond.
we were invited for multiple menu and wine tastings and had the opportunity to speak with the dj to discuss exact needs, meet with the MC john prior to the wedding.

on the day of the wedding everything was arranged to perfection, we did not have to worry about organising a thing. John was very thoughtful in taking care of our hungry guests as we were running late having photos in sefton park in the horse and carriage!

our wedding menu consisted of the smoked salmon salad followed by duck breast with prune and apple compote served with veg wrapped in bacon. we customised our desert from one on the menu - white choc creme brulee with raspberries. the food exceeded our expectations, our guests all enjoyed it very much.

we chose to get married outside in the picturesque italien gardens. only problem is disabled access as the lift does not go all the way to the basement. our reception was in the cosy glasshouse to make the most of the views over the park. and then we moved downstairs for the evening ceremony which is large enough to house a band, dance floor and seat everyone. all rooms were tastefully decorated according to bride and groom's preference.

most of the bridal and groom's party stayed in the hotel the night before, and we stayed in the bridal suite on the wedding night. the rooms were well decorated and the family rooms very large. only fault was the tv aerial didnt work in the family room but who needs a tv on the weekend of your wedding! our bridal suite was tastefully decorated as well, lovely 4poster bed and they provided breakfast in bed the next day.

it really was perfect. i couldn't have wished for it to be any different.

John (day wedding Master of ceremonies), Jenny, Bernie (evening coordinator) and paul (manager) were all professional, relaxed and gave the personal touch. nothing was too much trouble. many thanks to Dave the DJ who listened to our requests and played exactly what we wanted even though it was a bit out of his usual comfort zone.

Many thanks, we will never forget this weekend

Jess and Kirk

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Jess & Kirk, thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you had the day of your dreams and that you have taken the time to write up such an extensive review. We hope life is treating you wel down in NZ and that when you are next visiting family/friends in Liverpool that we will be on your list of visits.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We attended a wedding there yesterday (Friday) lovely hotel, great staff and the food was very good, the only downside was we stayed and the hotel rooms are very dated and need bringing in line with the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We, as a company have a rolling imrovements/maintenance program in place and have this year completed 6 bedroom refurbishments and 4 luxurious bathroom refurbishments. I am sorry that you didn't get the option to experience one of these rooms but if you are visiting the area again then please do contact me directly so that I can assure you have a newly refurbished room.

Kind Regards,
Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night for business, we were also running a one day conference.
I was very impressed with the staff, they could not do enough to help us unload and set up, they were conciousness about everything running smoothly, they were friendly and warm.
I arrived late in the evening having had a very long drive in the rain, I was greeted with staff waiting for my arrival, a line of people ready to unload my car for me and first name basis welcome from reception wanting to know if I wanted food or a hot drink.
My room was a nice size, clean and comfortable and very quiet for a good nights sleep.
The next day the staff welcomed our conference guests in the same friendly, warm manner making them feel at ease.
Food served for the conference was delicious and the kitchens did not blink at us running 30 minutes late.
At the end of the day the staff were happy to help us clear up and the same line as the night before arrived to help me load the car back up again.
My only reservation about this hotel for another conference would be the disabled access to the lower room however in terms of everything running smoothly and staff keen to please I would have no concerns about booking this venue again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent conference event that was held with us. The Alicia really is a great venue for any conference being situated in the beautiful grounds of Sefton park. We are glad you found the team helpful and we would love to have you back with us someday.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 97 in Liverpool
1,073 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
462 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 97 in Liverpool
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#56 of 97 in Liverpool
348 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 97 in Liverpool
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Address: 3 Aigburth Drive, Liverpool L17 3AA, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Liverpool Alicia)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is kissing the fringe of the 200 leafy acres of Sefton Park in Liverpool city centre. Located less than three miles from Liverpool Lime Street station and just 6 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has 41 comfy bedrooms and is a really popular venue for weddings, celebrations and corporate dinners. Stunning photos can be taken in their beautiful Italian terraced garden. The hotel is licenced to host wedding ceremonies and has some great facilities, including on-site parking and Super-fast free unlimited WiFi. Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is the Green Business Tourism Scheme, Gold Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liverpool
Liverpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing