We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My amazing wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Ranked #58 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“My amazing wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where do I start.... We had our wedding at the Alicia on Sunday. From the moment we booked it I knew I had made the right choice, perfect hotel with amazing helpful staff. Jenny john and joe were all excellent in helping plan our day but I have to say a massive thank you to Paul who did everything on our special day. He did everything to give us the wedding we wanted, everywhere looked amazing and I think it was him who kept me so calm, as from the moment we met him to discuss our day I new I could trust him. All the staff on the day were brilliant all so friendly. Our guests had an amazing day and so did we. So Paul and to your amazing staff thank you so much for everything you did and for making our wedding a very special day for everyone to remember. Alexia and Christopher Manger

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you Alexia and Christopher for such a great review. The type of people you are looking afer can reflect in a managers conduct and by the fact you have praised us so highly and recognised how smoothly everything went shows that we also ejoyed the day as much as you and that you were a pleasure to look after, as was the whole family. Carry on smiling and enjoying married life and don't be a stranger to us here at Alicia.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    160
    116
    89
    64
See reviews for
138
234
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Got married 6/7/13 and had our reception at the Alicia Hotel. I cannot recommend the premises highly enough. From the start Jenny Phoenix made the experience of planning fun and stress free. Nothing was too much trouble. On the day John took care of every detail making it such a wonderful experience for us all day. All staff members were professional and courteous throughout. The best day of our lives and would love to do it all again! Thank you so much Alicia staff - Amy and Chris Norrington xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy0578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you Amy & Chris for such a positive review. Weddings really are our business and we all do everyhting possible to amke sure that you have the most unforgettable day. This clearly shows from the many reviews on here and we are truly grateful for every single one of them. We all hope you are both settling back into normality and wish you many happy years together.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

People here are very friendly and extremely eager to please. Overall, the rooms, food and general standards are reasonable. The hotel is directly opposite a large recreation area so, apart from the minor road noise, The setting is quite pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Alicia Liverpool.
We do appreciate your feedback however as we are always trying to improve what we do , and if you have the change to stay again , I hope you will find things much better.
Kind regards:
James Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were attending a family wedding in the Palm House in Sefton Park so this was an ideal location, just a 10 minute walk away, The superior room was excellent, a kingsize bed and settee and everywhere very clean, All staff we met were very friendly and helpful, We definitely intend to stay again next time we are in Liverpool,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janerobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with the team who will be truly grateful. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again on your next visit to Liverpool.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My son got married at the Alicia hotel last Saturday. It was the most wonderful day made all the more special by the attention to detail of Jenny Phoenix, John O'Neil and all their staff. Nothing was too much trouble; minor hitches were dealt with in a calm and professional manner. The venue was exceptional, decorated as my son and his new wife wanted. The food was equally exceptional; everyone commented on it. We also want to mention the night time bar staff member who served some of our deaf guests (most communicate by sign language) in the residents lounge. He was patient, courteous and pleasant at all times. Thank you all for making our day very special; you even managed to bring sunshine to the event. Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linking186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
What a lovely couple!! When you have such a lovely couple to serve you just know your day is going to be a success and that it was. Our staff, in particular John and Jenny were looking forward to this wedding for quite a while and both enjoyed it thoroughly. Please pass on our congratutions to Chris and Queesra once again and we hope to see you all soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I decided on this hotel after I attended an 80th Birthday lunch on the 3rd June. I had my doubts that giving only 4 weeks notice, the hotel would be able to accommodate all my needs. I need not of had any concerns. The staff were all amazingly helpful, especially John O'Neill, Bernard Lloyd -Crawford & Jenny Phoenix. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave me lots of useful suggestions regarding menu and seating arrangements. We held my husbands party in the Glass room at the front of the hotel, which comfortably held over 70 guests. The service was quick and attentive, so everyone had their meals at the same time as each other. The location was perfect, with beautiful views of the park and splendid décor and comfortable seating. The food was excellent and plentiful with superb presentation. Since Sunday the day of he party the feed back from our guests has been awesome. Everyone has said how impressed they were with the hotel and staff. Without any hesitation I would recommend the Alicia for any event if you want a stress free fantastic party.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thannk you for your review. The evening was fantastic and you were such a lovely group to serve. I will pass on your thanks to the members of the team that helped pull the event together.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I attended a birthday party on 30th June for a very special man at the hotel. The whole event was made exceptional by Bernard and his staff who were all fantastic and very attentive but not intrusive. The food was excellent and the atmosphere enhanced by the wonderful location. The view from the function room over the park on a summers evening was beautiful. The service at dinner was excellent. No waiting around for people on the table to be served as the meals arrived together. Will remember the evening for a long time to come thanks to all the staff i(not forgetting the bar staff). Would recommend The Alicia to anyone planning a special event

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glas you enjoyed the evening. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Address: 3 Aigburth Drive, Liverpool L17 3AA, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Liverpool Alicia)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is kissing the fringe of the 200 leafy acres of Sefton Park in Liverpool city centre. Located less than three miles from Liverpool Lime Street station and just 6 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has 41 comfy bedrooms and is a really popular venue for weddings, celebrations and corporate dinners. Stunning photos can be taken in their beautiful Italian terraced garden. The hotel is licenced to host wedding ceremonies and has some great facilities, including on-site parking and Super-fast free unlimited WiFi. Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is the Green Business Tourism Scheme, Gold Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liverpool
Liverpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing