We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smallest rooms & bathrooms on the planet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Smallest rooms & bathrooms on the planet!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

They say you get what you pay for but in this case you get much less. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathrooms are only about 3' x 4' and that includes the shower which is nearly impossible to use. You can't close the shower curtain as it lays across your back and the controls are situated so any movement turns off the water. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gkleimancap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    439
    187
    43
    53
See reviews for
202
382
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked the Hotel for the week end at the last minute, then read the reviews, small room, small bathroom and started to have 2nd thoughts and almost cancelled it, but really glad we did not, yes the rooms are small, yes the bathroom is small, but they are all you need, we went to Liverpool to see Liverpool, not stay in our room. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a great view, that I don't think would of been beaten even if we had paid double the price else where. The staff were great, the hotel was nipping clean, the bed was good as were the room facilities, we also had our breakfast at the hotel as well as an evening meal on the saturday night, the food and service was very good and the food and drink prices were very fair. There is a MacDonalds and KFC, just across the road , and it's a 10min walk to the wonderful Albert Dock with its bars and Restraunts, and another 5mins or so walk into town into town. There is so much to see and do in Liverpool that we will be back, and yes we will be booking the Dolby Hotel as our 1st choice, no problem at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor overlooking the Mersey, you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a budget hotel. It is very clean, comfortable and the staff are very welcoming. I read some comments beforehand and can't believe people could say any different. The manager Katie was fantastic and I can only praise the whole team for a great stay. It's walking distance to the Liverpool One shopping centre. Its right on the harbour. Very central can get around really easy. We have a disabled child in a wheelchair and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We have stayed here a few times now and would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay last minute. Knowing Liverpool well I was pleased to be able to find somewhere to close to the centre for so cheap. The room was clean with a really comfy bed, lovely view from the window and the staff were friendly. Free parking and wifi useful too. Only downside was our shower which was very temperamental and kept going hot and cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place isn't the Ritz, but you're not going to pay Ritz prices here. The rooms are very small, but the place is clean and all of the staff are very friendly, particularly the bar staff. You do get great value for money here, far cheaper than the other hotels close by. It's only a short walk to the city centre and very close to Albert Docks and the Liverpool Echo Arena. Excellent value and I would certainly recommend it, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francoisDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday and I was really pleased with it, especially for the price.
The room was quite small, but suited our needs perfectly. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, and let us keep the car there for the day after we had checked out, which was very good of them.

When booking the hotel, the main thing we had looked for, was one with somewhere to park, because so few hoptels in Liverpool have parking (I know this is obviously a common problem when booking hotels in cities, but I don't want to be traipsing my bags about so it is important to me). This hotel had adequate free parking.

It's located very close to Albert Dock and also easy access to the city centre - only a short walk away.

The set-up of the room was a bit weird, with an additional single bed perched above the double. The single was accessed by a ladder and VERY clode to the ceiling. I'd have felt a bit claustrophobic if I'd had to sleep in that, but I guess it's a good way of offering rooms for more people and would make it extremely cheap per person for a group of friends who were going for a night out or something.

The shower room was very small, but it had everything we needed and the shower itself was good.

There was lots of information provided on what to do locally, which was really helpful.

Breakfast was a good price, with lots of choice available.

the hotel is on a busy road, but we could not hear this in our room, even though it was at the front of the hotel and therefore facing onto the road.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room at the back, which faces onto the dock. Rooms at the front face onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

You'll be staying near famous Albert Dock and The Beatles Museum. Rooms are small but have all you need (bathroom, kettle, coffee&tea corner). Staff is most helpful and efficient. Thr price is a real surprise!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
913 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Property: The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing