We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for in life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Unfortunately this trip was slightly tainted by the fact my girlfriend had salmonella poisoning so we we did spend the entire trip inside the room.

The hotel had no lifts so I had to carry two suitcases up the stairs.

The bathroom reminded me of my old University room, it was a wet-room with just about enough room to swing hamster!

The view of the Mersey from the lobby was nice, and the staff were friendly.

The hotel is a good walk from Liverpool One, I suggest you pick somewhere a little closer and pay a little bit more.

Not a terrible stay, more like a hostel than a hotel!

Room Tip: try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife & I have just spent one night at the Dolby hotel in Liverpool. We were at a concert at the Echo Arena on the waterfront & this hotel is ideally situated for this. The rooms are small but functional & we both slept well. We had a meal & breakfast and both were nice & resonably priced. The drinks weren't too expensive either by hotel standards.
Would recommend and use again in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madness62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Dolby hotel is a great budget hotel in close proximity to the docks. The rooms are fairly standard but they're clean and you do get a good nights sleep here. The shower is very small and I couldn't get hot water for very long but I did get a somewhat decent shower. The hotel has a bar and dining area and you can get a very good bangers and mash for £5 odd pound. The staff were helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

20quid each per nite, 10min walk to liverpool one shopping area, clean and comfy but bathroom pretty small and tinny. Staff were friendly and theres a 24hr reception.

Would stay again as great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basilfawlty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Dolby is a bit out of the way and it is a fair walk into the city centre.
The staff were so helpful and welcoming all of the time and the room was comfortable. It is not big and there is a plastic pod of a shower but it serves it's purpose.
Food and drink are good and there is a lovely view of the docks.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Dolby Hotel was a excellent room only rate for our first visit to Liverpool. We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel to be in an ideal position for attractions and shopping. I requested a quiet room with a dock view, which we received. the only downside was the very small shower cubicle.The bar area was comfotable and staff friendly.We were able to leave our car in the car park on our departure day which is always an added bonus. We loved Liverpool and hopefully will visit again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireYorkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It is close to Albert Docks and walking way to. Free car parking is a plus. We had booked 2 rooms. As we have a small child they allocated us in a disable room (room 1), so the bathroom and space in the room was good. The room 2 had a very small bathroom. The restaurant and lounge area were good with good value. The food was tastefuly and the view to Mersey River was great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilisa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#69 of 98 in Liverpool
999 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 98 in Liverpool
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,837 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#47 of 98 in Liverpool
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $53 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing