We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but that is all I need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed October 5, 2013

- Location: Central. A 5 minute walk from both Lime Street railway station and the coach station, a very short walk to the city center and the shops.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant.
- Decoration: The furniture and decoration were dated, but this is a budget hotel so there has to be some compromise.
- Room: It was of a good size, clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was dated, but clean.
- Service: The staff were friendly and helpful.
- Breakfast: British.
- Parking: No problem.

- Would I stay there again?: Yes, for 1-3 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 604 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here last year whilst visiting my son at Uni. The hotel is basic, clean, friendly and close to all the shops etc. I enjoyed my stay last time and felt safe. I have booked to stay again in February, but This time I have asked to be placed in a single room away from the noisy lift.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenArmy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here in Sept. '13. I wanted a cheap, centrally located place to stay. Lovely, friendly, helpful, accomodating staff. Basic, but that's all you need. Could do with a lick of paint in some areas, but bed & bathroom were clean. Good, unexpected breakfast included. Was hoping to stay there again this weekend, but appears to be fully booked!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location in the centre of Liverpool, just 2 minutes form both Lime Street railway station and the coach station, only a stroll to the shops and the centre of the nightlife.
If honest I was not expect much, given the price, but this has to be one of the best budget hotels that I have stayed in the UK.
The welcome was warm and efficient; the room was excellent, great to get a ¾ bed in a single room, the linen was crisp and clean and the room very clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious, with an excellent shower. The room’s bonus was the large flat screen free view television.
Highly recommend this hotel and will not hesitate in coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have twice used the hotel and may use it again if I got a good deal.

The good things.

+ You could open the windows.
+ Large bathroom and some are equipped with a bathtube.
+ Cheap.
- Good location
+ Free WiFi.
+ Breakfast included.
+ No decafe coffee in the room.

No so good.

- Badly isolated with regards to noise from elevator and activity in the corridor.
- Quiet after 23 o'clock.
- Tricky WiFi setup. Good speed for a while but it suddenly drops.
- No egg and bacon for breakfast.
- Cramped elevator.
- No chair in the room.
- The door in corridor was tiny.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairs and the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlaDunk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is located just 2 min walk from the central station which is a plus point but it's very noisy. Music that was played outside the hotel was heard very loudly in the room and unfortunately this went on until 05:00h in the morning so I hardly slept!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Giora V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a wedding. We booked the hotel about nine months ago as we basically just wanted a "cheap" hotel to stay in. So imagine how surprised we were when we arrived The bedroom was small but very clean and tidy and the staff were most pleasant and could not do enough for you. The only down side was the fact that they only did a "continental" breakfast, but that did not bother us in the slightest .I would not hesitate to stay there in the future!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4,976 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
The Podworks Hotel
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
374 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#56 of 99 in Liverpool
597 reviews
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel

Address: Hotham Street, Liverpool L3 5PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $54 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing