We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights on a stag do. Excellent location right outside lime street station and walking distance to all the bars and clubs. Breakfast was basic and cheap. Look elsewhere for a longer stay but for a bunch of lads it's ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lord Nelson Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

All at the Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Lord Nelson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 592 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here last Friday for one night in a single room for £40 including continental breakfast (didn't eat that as I left too early - breakfast not served until 8.00 am on Saturday).

The room was fine, functional, clean and a bonus was that it was a large single bed (more like a small double). The room was surprisingly quiet given its location. It was also great to be so close to Lime Street - head for the exit on the right and you are literally a few steps away from the hotel!

The bathroom had been refurbished and was large. My only criticism would be that the bedroom and bathroom felt a little cold - not helped by the fact that the heating was off when I arrived. It was easy to turn the heater on and the room soon warmed up but .... A few feminine touches wouldn't go amiss. I also felt the bathroom needed something thicker than a ragged net curtain at the window.

There was a huge TV mounted on the wall which was almost impossible to view from the bed as it was mounted on the wall to the left of the bed rather than in front of it. It was too big for the room and the money would have been better spent elsewhere.

That said, you really can't complain for the price and as I just wanted a place to sleep, I was more than happy with the price I paid.

PS For some reason I was asked for photo ID when I arrived but when I queried this, I was told it was not compulsory and I didn't have to provide it, they just asked all guests?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarysezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lord Nelson Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

All at the Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent location next to the train station and shopping area, quiet, at very resonable price.
Rooms are small but ok, bedsheets clean, toilet cleaning needs improvement.
Breakfast basic but ok. Hotel has a large reception/living room, with large TV screen, and a bar.
Nice people. In rating this hotel i considerthe fact that I paid just 35 pounds/night including breakfast! So, can't be very demanding!

Room Tip: If arriving at Lime Street train station, search for an exit that takes you right to the hotel. Do...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lord Nelson Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

All at the Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked this very last minute for a gig I was going to at the Academy.
The first thing I was impressed with was its location, firstly as its literally two minutes from Lime Street Station and secondly because it is the building right next door to the Academy so I didn't have to worry about being late.
The welcome I got at reception was warm and friendly. I had booked two rooms for me and a friend and both rooms had their ups and downs. My friends room was a great size but on the down side it was right outside the elevator doors. So i opted for the much smaller room that was further away from the elevator thinking that this would save me being woken up in the middle of the night by people returning to their rooms. What I hadn't realised at this point is that the lifts are shut down at 11pm so I wouldn't have been disturbed at all!
My room was a bit grubby. The bedding had the token black curly hair on it and the wall next to the bed had various stains that I wouldn't want to hazard a guess at what they were. The most annoying bit about my room was that the window wouldn't shut fully so I got the road noise from outside throughout the night. This being said there were many positives. The shower area was nice and clean. There is a massive flat screen TV in the room if you wanted to just veg out for a day or so. The bar downstairs stays open until you are ready to go to bed (the night porter is exceptionally funny and friendly) and the biggest sell of all was that my room only cost me £30 with breakfast included.
The breakfast was a buffet style but there was still plenty of choice and the coffee was good enough
The hotel has signs asking for your feedback and if I hadn't been hit with the flu the following day I probably would have told them the things that I think needed fixing but to be honest they simply didn't bother me THAT much..
All in all this hotel doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is but for the price I think it is an absolute bargain and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here for future events when all you are looking for is somewhere to lay your head for the night in reasonable comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SerendipityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lord Nelson Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

All at the Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank brett a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

good location close to lime street station. receptionist could do with a lesson in customer service, being made to feel welcome or a smile would have been nice.When later enquiring if it was possible to obtain a second key for the twin room we were staying in, a prompt one word answer 'No' was the response. The room was a good size and nicely modernised however unfortunately the floor was was at a slant and the room stank of stale cigarette smoke. The staff were helpful in the breakfast room/bar but there were an inadequate number of seats for the number of guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have taken your points seriously and on board.
We are disappointed you were greeted in that manner. We have spoken to all reception staff regarding this to make sure this will not happen again.
Also smoking in rooms is taken serious by manage and often when identified either a charge will be made or ask to leave the hotel. The Lord Nelson is a strictly no smoking hotel.
I hope these points do not deter you from visiting us again sometime soon.

Best Wishes
All at The Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very close to Lime Street Station, if you come out of the Lord Nelson Street exit [signposted] you can see the hotel to the right on the far side of the road. Welcoming staff, reception is always manned. I was given a room with a double bed although I booked a single. I liked the fact I could control the heating, it was particularly cold outside during my stay. A comfortable bed, good shower and a modern clean room. A very large flatscreen tv provided, wifi in my room [get the code at reception], Little extras like storage and a shelf in the bathroom, a long mirror in the room, even showergel provided makes this more comfortable than other budget hotels.There is a large lounge/bar with comfortable black leather settees as well as tables and chairs so a good place to relax provided as well.
Breakfast was continental and a selection of cereals,plus juice, croissants, ham and cheese and fresh fruit included in my £70 for 2 nights booked online.
Restaurants close by and the centre of town 5 mins walk [short cut back through the station]. There is an M and S Simply food in the station which I found handy and WH Smiths etc. Slight drawback of distant music and vibration but it stopped around 11, didn't bother me but it may depend on which room you are in. Overall good value, nice and helpful staff. Reception has a multi screen security minitoring system and I felt quite happy there a single female and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is in a quiet area of the hotel if thats what you want
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Standardswatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord N, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
All at the Lord Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 98 in Liverpool
4,774 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,421 reviews
The Podworks Hotel
#58 of 98 in Liverpool
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel

Address: Hotham Street, Liverpool L3 5PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing