We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away ruined by awful thoughtless staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away ruined by awful thoughtless staff”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself,my sister and mum came to Liverpool for a Girly weekend. We arrived on Friday afternoon and checked into our family room, we all signed our names and went to our room to get ready for a night out, the room was fine, nothing amazing but no more or less than you would expect for the money.

We went out leaving the key on reception with no issues. However - When we returned around 12am the reception staff stopped us on the way in and told us 3 adults were not allowed in a family room, we were completely unaware of this policy and told them we had not done it deliberately and couldnt see the problem with 3 adults staying in a room with a double and single bed. However the receptionist was very unfriendly and accusing, basically said we couldn't all stay in the room, thankfully the other receptionist said that as the hotel was fully booked due to a football game being on they must have made an exception and allowed us to stay in the room.

The next morning we were told that we had caused the staff to go agaist company policy and could not stay in the room again that night, however they did not have another room available and all the local hotels would be full due to the football game but we should go away and use our phones to try and find a room elsewhere.

We tried many hotels but couldn't find any rooms available unless we were willing to stay miles out of town and pay well over the odds which we didn't actually have the money for.

We returned to the hotel that night hoping the staff would see the dilemma we were in and have some morals or decency and try to help us out, but it a appears a 'health and safety' policy of premier inn deems it perfectly acceptable for a women to sleep in a car in October, which is obviously much safer than three able bodied adults sharing a room with beds for 3 people. It amazes me that common sense cannot prevail in situations like this. It is clear that profit is more important than customer care to premier inn. I will never stay in a premier inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_pickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    237
    81
    25
    21
See reviews for
263
216
37
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very good run hotel, Jo the supervisor, and her staff are excellent, a very nice meal was to be had, a clean hotel and a very nice stay. tv and wifi as you would expect, and a clean comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlilse
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great nights sleep great to have choice of soft pillows room was very clean on arrival and throughout our stay .very friendly and helpful staff always pleasant nothing to much bother x only thing that let it down was the shower/ bath water went off couldn't get back on for some reason however was ok in the morning a bit disappointing however this didn't mar our stay in this friendly and convenient hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 49 no noise had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in Premier Inn West Derby for 2 nights last weekend and will certainly re-visit. From the initial Reception to Checking-out the personnel were extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms were simply furnished but clean, comfortable and quiet - with a good hot shower to complete the picture. Tea and coffee-making facilities were provided.
Bus links were available just outside the hotel with frequent service to Liverpool Centre and surrounding village clusters such as Allerton and Woolton. With day travel available @ £3.50 a day it was very convenient and affordable.
The weather was atrocious one day - and it would have been helpful if Premier Inn umbrellas were available either to buy or hire. Other than this small point, quite honestly, we felt there was nothing to criticize at the price paid.
We enjoyed a drink in the Stag & Rainbow / Beefeater attached to the Hotel but on this occasion did not eat there.
We will hope to stay here again and would recommend it as amazing value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RostrevorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

secure parking friendly staff good place to stay as visited the anfield stadium so was ideal.had tea at pub connected to premier inn very good,would stay again if was visting in this area.only problem had was traffic but with window closed wasnt a problem.bed seemed more comfortable then other premmiers stayed in previous for some reason .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Liverpool hotel rooms get pretty expensive if you're just staying one night, especially a Saturday, due to high demand from tourists visiting.

We were staying in liverpool after a night out and so didn't want anything too expensive or frilly, as it was literally a place to crash.

This was great for us: £7.50 taxi ride from the very centre of town for all bars, etc.; secure car parking and just over £60.00 for a twin room, which made it much more cost effective than paying £40.00 more to stay in the centre of town at a different Travelodge/Premier Inn.

Good reception (although a little slow - we got stuck behind a large hen party checking in) and you might have a bit of a trek to your room. But staff were friendly, accommodation clean and well maintained - beds were comfy!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with people who cannot walk a long way - suggest to request rooms close to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed 2 nights in August, very helpful staff, only problem we had was other customers banging doors atnight and someone parking their car so close to mine that they marked mine with their case. very helpful staff, but don't expect refunds on their no sleep promise

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devonshire House Hotel
#69 of 97 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel
Address: Queens Drive | West Derby, Liverpool L13 0DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in pretty West Derby then head into the city centre to rock out at The Beatles Story ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Liverpool (West Derby) Hotel Liverpool
Premier Inn West Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing