We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bringing the past to life”
Review of Casbah Coffee Club

Casbah Coffee Club
Ranked #7 of 206 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Holy Grail of The Beatles trail. The place where it truly all began for the greatest music phenomenon of the 20th century.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bringing the past to life”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited the Casbah as part of the Fab Four Beatles Tour, and can't recommend it enough! Pete Best's brother Rogue, is an energetic and engaging guide, and really brings the past to life as he walks you through the club and its history. It was a perfect complement to the tour, and a glimpse into the early days of the Liverpool music scene. The significance of the Casbah in the Beatles' career will blow you away!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    62
    18
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rock 'n' roll shrine”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a great experience this was, for any Beatle fan this is a must. Our guide was Rory Best, Pete Best's brother, much better than the cavern as this is exactly how it was when the Beatles played there. Don't be afraid to ask Rory any questions either a charming gentleman. Personally i think somebody should buy the whole house and grounds and turn it into a Beatles museum, tour the museum first then into the Casbah at the end for a few drinks and a listen to some live music similar to what they do at the cavern.
Dave and Kerry Sheffield

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It Is, What It Is, A Shrine!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a Great Experience. We were here on a tour and I have to admit it was truly a treat to be not only in the actual establishment that is the Birthplace of the Beatles but as well have the very knowledgeable Rory Storm guide us through this shrine. It is not big, it is not easily accessible and it is tight in many spots, but what history. The Best family have maintained this historic landmark and kept it in its original state. Very clean considering it has had nothing done to it in 55 years. Rory was full of interesting facts and stories. He and his brother Roag posed for pictures were very grateful that we included them on our Liverpool experience. If you are a Beatles fan, don't miss this place. It is definitely the "Best" Kept Secret Of Beatles History. Puts the Cavern and all that other Beatle Stuff to shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LPPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A must visit when you're in Liverpool. We had a blast and everybody is so friendly there. The music was great and everybody was dancing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeyahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Carol and I went to the Best Fest on 24th August, bought the tickets months ago, we were not disappointed. What an atmosphere, the Casbah oozes history from every corner. You can imagine what it was like in the 60's, when it was at its height. We sat in the bar, there was still some room as we arrived early. Roag's family were serving and they were great hosts. Could do with some new fridges to cool the beer though!
The Blackjacks, the Quarrymen et al were excellent. Pete and his band were on at around 11 and did two sets, and were superb. Carol had her photo taken with Pete afterwards, what a nice bloke. The last set was due to finish around midnight, we got back to our hotel at 3:00. am.Thanks Pete and all, for a great night, brilliant!
The Casbah is a must visit for those who love rock history, and want to see a venue which retains it's authenticity and hasn't been ponced up since it's inception. John and Carol

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casbah Coffee Club also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Casbah Coffee Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing