We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception!”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and stayed over recently, wedding went smoothly and both buffets (day & evening) was nice, the evening buffet was especially tasty! Good DJ, pleasant staff. The hotel is lovely and good if you like the nautical theme, the room was spacious, clean, big bed with a good view of the city fm tower. My only gripe was the heat! Having no air con with a baby in tow was a struggle.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MRANDMRSSMITH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear MRANDMRSSMITh05,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a great time at a Wedding that was held hear, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. I am sorry to hear you struggled with the heat we do offer a range of fans at the reception area to help ease the heat.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,781)
There are newer reviews for The Liner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,920 - 2,926 of 4,783 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

arrived Friday the 18th for a 3 night stay with a mate of mine were we had booked a twin room but when we arrived we were told there were no twin rooms available and we would have to share a double room we said it was not practical for two 62 yr old men to have to share the one bed and asked if a single bed could be put in the room we received a very curt no and the same answer when we asked for a mattress or a duvet to put on the floor we ended up putting the spare blanket on the floor for one of us to sleep on it at no stage during our conversation with her did she offer to help us in any way it was a disgrace the way we were treated.
we were allotted the proper room for the following 2 nights. I have been travelling for over 40 yrs and I have never met a more unhelpful and discourteous person at a reception desk.
It was not all bad in the hotel we ate in the restaurant the 3 nights we were there plus lunch on the day we checked out and the food and the staff were wonderful also the breakfasts were brilliant. The hotel is in a very central location near the train station very clean rooms and would be perfect it they had Air con as the heat was nearly un bearable.

Room Tip: look for a room with a/c
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 616liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear 616liam,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience with being allocated a Double Bedroom instead of a Twin Bedded room as you had requested. I am very sorry to hear you felt the Receptionist was unhelpful, I will pass this on to the team to look into and address where it is needed. I am pleased that we was able to allocate you a Twin Bedded room for the remaining 2 days you had with us. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel and once again I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had three nights at The Liner in two different rooms - one "with a view" over the Lime Street Station and one overlooking the street next door. The rooms were clean and relatively nice. The beds were a bit too soft.

The rooms have no airconditioning so if you're here during summer, you probably won't get too much sleep. I don't thing I exaggerate when I say that we had at least 30 degrees in the room during the night. In addition to that, the seagulls and the pigeons had a party of a lifetime every night, and since we couldn't close the window, sleep was difficult.

The guy in the other room, next to the railway station, had to listen to the female loudspeaker voice from 5 every morning. Closing the window was not an option when the temperature in the room was close to 30C.

The hotel has got some potential (the concept is cool), but I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ahakstun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear ahakstun,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to read you didn't fully enjoy your stay and you found the room you was allocated to be too hot. We do offer a wide selection of fans at reception for the hotter days, if guests find the rooms get too warm. We are sorry to hear you was also disturbed by the outside noise from Limestreet Trains Stations tannoy system, we are currently liaising with their management team and hoping to come to a resolve soon. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused, we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the liner for the first time had friends stay there previous and wasn't dissapointed. Clean rooms and all you can eat breakfast if you go out hungry it's your own fault. Staff friendly and helpful. Only criticism if any was noise from the train station nearby as it was so hot the window had to stay open. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear John N,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel over the Open golf weekend. It was nice to read you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely and clean and looks recently renovated.

Reception very welcoming

Room clean and everything that you need at hand. Breakfast was excellent with lots of different choices.

Negatives:

Very very stuffy on the 5th Floor, not sure about the other floors though!

Noisy - My room was right above Lime Street Station so noisy towards the late evening, which I, to some extent, expected. Not the trains though, it was the announcements!
Also the blooming seagulls that seemed to squark all night long.

It was very warm at night so had to have the windows open which didn't help with the noise

Room Tip: Try to select one that is NOT right above Lime Street station ( even numbers would be better)
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear dave v,
Thank you taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are pleased to hear your kind comments regarding the hotel and the cleanliness. We are disappointed to read about the noise disruptions from the seagulls and the announcements from Limestreet train station, I will discuss these comments with the management team and we will look into addressing them where we can. We hope that these issues will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room was very clean and the hotel is well located near Lime Street Station. The cost of the stay was reasonable and Breakfast was very good indeed.
The room was on the small side however and the feeling of a lack of space wasn't helped by having to connecting doors - not sure if that's the norm. There was no air con, only a fan, and I was woken by corridor noise from an inconsiderate and possibly drunk guest.
I won't rush back, but I would be content to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank harveydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear harveydo,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Liner Hotel. We are pleased to hear you found the location ideal for your trip to Liverpool and within close proximity to Limestreet Train Station. I was pleased to read that you found the breakfast to be of good quality and variety. We are sorry however to hear that you was disturbed by a guest, we hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night last week, and trust me I won't stay here again. I was given a room by the lifts which overlooked the railway station (to be fair the hotel can't do anything about the noise coming from the station, but it was a nightmare!). the room itself was clean and tidy and it did have a good bathroom. However, the noise from the station didn't stop until gone 11.00 and at 4.30 there was a gang of men singing for half an hour!! At 7.00 the railway noise started again!

On the plus side, I was there to hold workshops for the company that I work for, the conference facilities were excellent and the staff went out of their way to ensure that everything was there and ready for us.

Room Tip: Don't think there was a quite room here, there were 4 of us staying here and not one of us had a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear jennifer R,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by the Limestreet Train Station tannoy noise, our Management team are currently liaising with the stations Management to try and resolve to everyone’s satisfaction. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused and hope that we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,150 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,775 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $72 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing