We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-theatre meal”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My friend and I visited the brasserie for a pre-theatre meal attracted by the price and location . I had previously stayed at the hotel, with my husband, so already had a pretty good idea it would be good. The service was excellent and we really enjoyed our meals. The pre-theatre meal offers were very reasonable but we decided to choose a la carte as we fancied the puddings more!! Would recommend and would revisit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Guest Relations Manager at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Deborah J,
Thank you for your kind review for our Seven Seas Brasserie. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable meal with us and chose to come back after a previous stay. It was great to read that you found the service to be good and the food to be value for money. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel whether for food or accommodation in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,645
    488
    139
    110
See reviews for
606
2,228
173
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our second stay at The Liner and we were not disapointed. Clean tidy room, great breakfast choices, helpful friendsly staff - and Free parking!
It is a great place to stay, whether you are on business, visiting the theater or sightseeing in Liverpool.

Room Tip: The benefit of being close to Lime Street station does mean that there is also a certain amount of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Anne M,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read you was pleased with the standard of service and facilities that we provided for your during your stay. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back to The Liner Hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Liner for 4 nights in March 2014. and would recommend it for location, breakfasts, staff friendliness and comfortable rooms.
There is nothing overly exciting about the hotel, lovely fish tank in the foyer, ordinary reception, rooms decorated with a nautical theme, but it is in a very good location, less than 4 mins uphill at the back of Lime St Station, therefore it was very good for us as tourists to the city.
What stood out a mile was the friendliness of the staff (except in the bar which we only visited once on the staurday we arrived). The reception staff were free tour guides suggesting attractions for us to vist and offering to book them or transport for us and the staff in the breakfast room, worked so hard and were so friendly and chatty, it put us off on a great start every morning. The hot food was excellent, but avoid the cold buffet and pastries -not good- and the drinks both hot and cold left a good bit to be desired. Sweetened fruit juices from a dispenser and the coffee was uugh!!!
Overall an excellent place for a couple of tourists to explore Liverpool and the environs from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear evelyn M,
Thank you for your review of your time with us at the Liner Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that our hotels location and facilities were convenient for you during your travels. I will pass on your feedback regarding some of the issues at breakfast and look to get these resolved. We hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Car park is a joke beware a flat rate £6 for all day regardless of how long you actually park there, advertised as a public car park, no common sense applied at reception if any mistake is made by member of the public.
Nice little money spinner next to lime street station for catching out anyone picking up from the station.
BEWARE.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shafted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Shafted A,
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you wasn't happy with the carpark prices. We offer a flat rate price of £6.00 as this is very competitive and works very well with most our guests. We do also offer complimentary car parking if you spend £6.00 in our Seven Seas Brasserie and Castaway Bar, so often guests get car parking free of charge. We hope this won't dissuade you from using us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

first plus point on arrival was the car park which a lot of city centre hotels lack, however we were concerned with the exterior of the building. Once inside though, wow! Like a completely different hotel.

Receptionist was very helpful and welcoming, as were all staff we encountered. The room was basic but clean and tidy and nicely done.

Only a short walk into the city centre which was great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We weren't affected but it is next to the train station so something to bare in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear freqtraveller90,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and facilities these are greatly appreciated. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Spent one night on my wife's birthday. We had an early check in and found our room to be very clean & comfortable. There is free parking adjacent to the hotel. The location was ideal as we were going to a show at the Empire Theatre which was approx 200m away. We had a few drinks [reasonably priced] at the Castaway Bar, which is part of the hotel. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices. We've stayed before and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Gerald G,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that your wife had an enjoyable birthday with us. It was great to read that you found the car park and location useful for your recent trip to Liverpool. We are very pleased to hear that you would return to the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having stayed recently with mum at the hotel we had a fantstastic time.The food is second to non would recommend the theatre menu good value for money lots of choice.The staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble our waitress rachael was lovely.Our room on the fourth floor had fantastic views of the area a vey quiet room soft pillows what a treat would highly recommend to anyone worth a visit you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear ellen h,
Thank you for awarding us a 5 star rating, that is very kind. We are so pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you chose to eat in our Seven Seas Brasserie and felt our pre theatre menu was great value for money. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the hotel its facilities and staff. We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing