We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over on the way home”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“stop over on the way home”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place to stay good parking, close to city centre, high street shops and transport, good service and welcome, love staying at the liner so comfortable and the breakfasts are fabulous.
Well worth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley-anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,645
    488
    139
    110
See reviews for
606
2,228
173
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely hotel situated right next to Lime Street Station and a short walk to the shops and Theatre which is why me and my group of friends chose to go there after the show, the restaurant is beautiful and the staff very helpful nothing was too much trouble, the meal was prompt an delicious and I haven't hesitated to recommend it to my friends and family I have not yet stayed over at the hotel but I would definitely consider it in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the liner. It's located next door to lime st station so expect noises associated with a busy train station. The rooms are large & clean and the beds very comfy. Free parking is available although you may gave to wait off a space, again this is not the big deal some people make it out to be. We got b&b for £50 a night and that's gotta be a deal in anyone's eyes. Well done to you all @ the liner. We will return on our next trip to Liverpool.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tcourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Liner on September 17th as part of a late graduation treat. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The front desk service was great. We could hear tannoy noise from Lime Street Station, but that wasn't too much of an issue because we guessed that by the time we went to sleep, the trains would have stopped running.
The trains did stop running, but we were woken by the sound of pneumatic drills which were being used as part of some platform work at Lime Street. My boyfriend went down to reception, but didn't get much help from the night porter.
We eventually got some sleep, but were woken again by the fire alarm. I phoned down to reception to be told that something had been burnt in the breakfast room. If my memory is correct, the breakfast room is on the 1st floor of the hotel - we were staying on the 5th floor. Surely the fire alarms should operate on some kind of zoning system?
I asked to speak to the duty manger, and requested a refund. He was very courteous and said that he could not authorise a refund there and then, but he took my details and said someone would be in touch.
Nearly 2 months later, I'm still waiting to enter into any type of dialogue with anybody from the Liner, despite me sending messages through the "contact us" form on the website and posting messages to their Facebook page. I delayed posting a review on here until I had a resolution, but it seems that I will be waiting in vain.
So to summarise: a lovely room (could have done without the blue light on the minibar though), we loved the aquarium in reception, the front of house service was fantastic throughout, but was badly let down by the non - existent aftercare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Liner Hotel is a great hotel just situated behind Lime Street Station. It is excellently situated about a 10 minute walk to the Docks and less to the City Centre shops. We used the Seven Seas Brasserie for lunch and dinner. Great value food and very tasty. Whilst the brasserie seemed a little short staffed for dinner the service we had was excellent and if we did have to wait a while, the young man was very polite and apologised for any delay. The fish tank in the brasserie is fabulous and kept my daughter entertained.

The breakfast service again seemed a little short staffed as there were plenty of vacant tables with plates stacked up waiting to be cleared away. However the choice of food was plentiful and well cooked and kept us full until the evening!

After reading the reviews I was apprehensive when our room overlooked the train station and yes you could hear the tannoy announcements but unless you are a particularly light sleeper this really didn't bother us.

I love visiting Liverpool and found this hotel to be excellent value, with good quality food, very pleasant, large bright rooms and very clean bathrooms. As we travelled by train we used the concierge service after our departure so that we didn't have to haul our bags round all day. A nice little extra.

My only criticism of the hotel was that the reception staff did not seem particularly friendly. They were efficient but just lacked a little something! Quite surprising as most people we encountered during our stay were extremely welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The only reason for very good and not excellent is we only stayed for one night so did not make full use of this extremely friendly and comfortable hotel. We are regular visitors to Liverpool having a son at university there, we have stayed in many hotels and this has got to be the best so far. Not only is this hotel in an excellent location for all Liverpool has to offer it was good value for money and extremely clean with friendly welcoming staff. Another plus is the free parking for residents as many of the other hotels we have stayed in still charge residents for parking. Will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rase15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanahoe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellently located hotel right beside Lime St station and only a 10 minute walk from all the nightlife. It is five minutes to shopping area and there are a plethora of local pubs and restaurants to suit all pockets. The beds in the hotel room we had were poor. Probably need replacing. Aside from that I cannot fault the hotel. Breakfast was superb and the staff friendly helpful and courteous at all times. There is a taxi rank 50 metres away.

If flying in to Liverpool make sure you buy the all day bus pass for €3.80 at the information desk. It cost £3.20 to get in to the city on the express bus alone and the bus service at Queens Square is excellent for getting around. Taxi from airport is £17.00 approx

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the hotel in order to avoid hearing announcements from the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing