We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a stay in The Liner hotel it is a very comfortable clean and good value for money.It is only a short walk into the town. The breakfast is self service with a wide selection to choose from.The staff were very friendly and helpful ,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baughan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,645
    488
    139
    110
See reviews for
606
2,228
173
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the liner with my daughter over the weekend 20th/21st July.What a fabulous hotel could not fault anything, check in was fast and easy and all of the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and had everything we required, breakfast was excellent. The hotel is literally two minutes from the station and just over five minutes from the shopping centre.
Our only regret is that we couldn't' stay longer. Would most certainly use the liner again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear yve m,
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is very important to the hotel and we appreciate guest comments. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights. Staff were excellent and breakfast was good and plentiful. Location is excellent for shopping and sight seeing etc. We had 2 problems with our stay, firstly the wifi does not reach the rooms, not a major problem but a bit of a pain, secondly and this was a MAJOR problem, the heat in the room was unbearable. The window in our room was left open constantly and the hotel provided a fan but this did not help at all. We needed the fan on the whole time we were in the room. I would not stay in this hotel again unless they got air conditioning or it was winter time. It is a sahme because it is a great hotel but when you cant sleep in the room provided there is not much point of stayin again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublingirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dublingirl1979,
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the temperature in room. We are sorry you felt the fan we issued to be insufficient, we will be looking into alternative options such as larger fans for the rooms.
We hope that you will return to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHUMBERLAND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed for couple of nights when attending my sons graduation at Anglican cathedral which was only about 10 mins
walk away! Ideal for shops restaurants too
Hotel had its own car park which was always jammed packed but once you found parking bay you can leave the car
for as long as you want for no extra charge,
Hotel just round the corner from Liverpool lime street station.
Small rooms,clean and adequate,buffet breakfast
bar with seating area inside and out
friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIEJEANNE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear VALERIEJEANNE56,
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is very important to the hotel and we appreciate guest comments. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel free parking and wii fi which both suited me just great room small but clean tidy and everything needed for short break the bar and Resterant area great too lovely food and prices good too staff very friendly x breakfast is a buffet style help yourself which suited us as you choose how much etc you want plenty choose from full English cereals cheese fruit continental x only one concern we had was the train station right next door which did not bother us much apart from the speaker telling you wen the trains were late etc went on til 1.00 am but if shut window wasn't so loud so I think if you ask for front room u will not hear it as we were in the back x over all I would most def stay here again great hotel for the price and location great just 10 min walk into town and near all the museums if you like that sort thing x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsymrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear bootsymrs,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel, its always pleasing to read that guests enjoyed there stay and would recommend us to others.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, if you come back to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I do wish to stress the problems we had were all related to the building and its location, and were in no way related to the service we received, and we actually found out in later conversations with a number of the staff, they are as frustrated with these KNOWN problems as the guests are

Checking into The Liner was easy and painless, the reception staff were lovely and provided all the information we required for our stay. The first impression was of a well run, well appointed hotel ready to provide us with everything we needed for a great city break. We were allocated room 653, overlooking Lime Street station, giving us great views of the city from the Catholic Cathedral to the River Mersey. When we entered the room it was a little stuffy, but opening the window let in some fresh air and we went to eat in the excellent Seven Seas brasserie.
However, during the night we noticed a number of problems
1) As the temperature outside went down during the night the temperature in the room actually went up and there was no way regulate or lower it except open the window
2) Because we were overlooking Lime street station the noise was awful, especially with the window open to let in some cool air
3) The station management chose that particular night (1:30 am) to test the upgrades to their tannoy system
4) Railway drivers decided to start charging the compressed air system on their trains at 4:30 am
5) Whilst a mini bar is something I don't disagree with in a room (if you want to spend nearly a fiver for a can of stella) the light should only come on when the (glass) door is opened

We should have stayed for 2 nights, but after the the first night we decided to find another hotel, less noisy and with air condition, and write-off the cost of the second night, as no refund was offered for the unused second night
As we checked out, 4 other residents of the same part of the same floor were also curtailing their stay to find other quieter, cooler accomodation,

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a high room on the street side of the hotel if you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healy6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear healy660,
On behalf of the Management I apologise for your disappointing stay with us.
Thank you for providing your feedback as this will help us to better our services for all our valued guests, such as yourself. I will make sure to share and address all your remarks with our Team.
Once again I am very sorry for your inconvenience.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

stayed there for one night for a business meeting.
check in was very swift was told where to have breakfast in the morning and where the lifts where
Lift was very small fits 5 people if you have no suitcases, room was on the fourth floor (459) key card needs to be put in a slot at the door for the lights to work. Looked out of the window and realised that I was right above the train station. Wallpaper had been ripped off the wall beside one of the very uncomfortable beds. trying to sleep at night was a disaster because of the noise of the train station and the seagulls couldn't shut the window because the room had no air-con and it got very warm.
Next morning decided to have a bath to try and cool myself down but the plug in the bath wasn't working correctly so that was out of the question.
Breakfast was the good thing for this hotel plenty of different options to chose from.
Overall this is a nice hotel if you get the correct side of the hotel away from the train station.

Room Tip: room on the side of the train station are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing