We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellently placed for central Liverpool, the hotel is very close to Lime Street station - firstclass, therefore for access, but it can get noisy in rooms overlooking the station We opted for a quiet room, and were glad to have done so.

Amenities are those expected from a predominantly business hotel, but the room was adequately sized, the breakfast was good and the staff largely willing to be helpful. Exceptions were a receptionist who initially was adamant that she could do nothing when I asked for the mattress on my bed to be changed as it had a deep hollow in it, making it difficult to sleep. Eventually she saw reason; and a barwoman who was clearly bored to tears with her job. The bar was also disappointing, with loud and execrable music.

However, neither experience spoiled our overall enjoyment, and our feeling that we were getting value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear chalmac,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and provide feedback on The Liner Hotel. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our services for all our future guests.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,648 - 3,654 of 4,944 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while I attended a Conference. I found the hotel to be clean, tidy and very welcoming and this was before I entered the hotel it is very conveniently located near one of the countries oldest train stations. any closer the train would be stopping in the hotel lobby. it was near Liverpool town and a 10 minute walk to the large shopping complex and the local pubs.

the reception staff was very good and friendly.

the room was spacious with a large comfortable bed, the room was on the 6th floor and even with the window open the noise from trains was low. (it was the seagulls that caused most noise). bathroom was clean and tidy.

the breakfast was very good as well, covering the full English (where the chef is just over the counter to take a special order) to the full continental or just a bowl of cereal.

if I had the opportunity to return I would book this hotel again!

Room Tip: room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Gordon K,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review. I am thrilled you had such a good experience at The Liner Hotel.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

just a good hotel. Small but comfy room. As I had a room on the highest floor (six) I had no problems with noised from the trains (even sleeping with an open window ). Have to say thought that I stayed from saturday to sunday and maybe train traffic on the early sunday morning is picking up late. Big breakfast buffet with enough choise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainriderUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked 7 rooms at the Liner hotel via ALPHA ROOMS and paid the deposit in march .We made our plans only to be told 4 weeks before that the hotel was overbooked and could not accommodate us ! I do not care who's fault it is but lack of communication between booking companies and the hotel is vital and really messed up our weeked away ! Than you ALPHA ROOMS FOR THE MESS UP...........THANKYOU THE LINER HOTEL FOR SORTING OUT OUR BOOKING NOT! I /WE HAVE HAD TO START ALL OVER AGAIN AND NOW HAVE TO WAIT TO GET DEPOSITS BACK AND START OVER AGAIN,
I AM NOT A HAPPY PERSON AND WOULD NEVER USE ALPHA ROOMS AGAIN......

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Agree with other reviewers that the beds are hard but didn't stop me sleeping so no issue really. Very good selection of hot and cold items at the breakfast buffet and represents excellent value for money overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scb187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear scb187062,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience this and our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked 6 rooms at The Liner back in March 2013 for a long weekend away at the beginning of July 2013 and paid the deposit, then sat back and planned our fantastic weekend in Liverpool. The Hotel looked wonderful and with its central location, being close to all amenities we couldn't wait. Then at the beginning of June the Liner Hotel informed us that it was overbooked and couldn't fit us in after all, which left us all extremely upset. Apparently it is their policy that if they are overbooked the group bookings go first!!!! Why do Hotels do this to their clients? They should not overbook in the first place!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in central Liverpool rooms are spacious very clean with good views over Liverpool breakfast very good lots of variety good friendly staff its nice to be greeted with a smile I am disabled and find the lift near reception very handy

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear jean4249,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience this and our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,264 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,918 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $65 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing