We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England weekend break”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed here for 2 night weekend break.great hotel in a great location.hotel is beside Lime st. train station,but absolutly no noise from the station in the bedrooms.Staff are very helpful and friendly.rooms are nice and clean and very comfortable.room safe included.Breakfast is first class,cant comment on dinners as we only tried the bar food ,which was very nice,good value and a good choice.Will definatly stay in the liner again as it is so handy and near the city centre.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tedakenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,799 - 3,805 of 4,969 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

a slightly quirky but very good hotel set up like a ship inside.The outside appearance belies its charm and surprisingly good quality set up for the price. .Despite being on the 6th floor and facing the railway station ,we heard no train noise. Staff were pleasant, friendly and obliging . The castaway bar at the side was good for a drink and the breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and of a good choice .room was ok , nothing special, and i was very slightly disappointed that they do not follow the ship theme here as well.Good point was the free parking at the side which is definitely a plus point.
centrally located and only a 10 minute amble to the docks this is certainly worth a thought if you want to stay in liverpool

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank markymark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear markymark3
Thank you very much for your comments we are extremely pleased when guests take time out to review our hotel. Please know that feedback like yours is used to help and improve the service we provide.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for one night on recommendation of a friend. Having never been to Liverpool before.
We were happy with hotel ,and loved the theme. Location was near to the shops and we walked to Albert Dock which took about 20 minutes from the hotel. The room was adequate and clean. Had teamaking facility and biscuits .Breakfast was superb with lots of choice. Parking was free to hotel guests. We thought the price for our room was very reasonable
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Tessa46,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, if you come back to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

booked this hotel through a 3rd party site for one night in Liverpool. Cant fault it at all, on check in the receptionist was extremely friendly and welcoming, very smooth check in and gave us all the required info. Went to our room on the 5th floor with great views of the station and found it to be a good size, clean and comfy with a very nice bathroom. Location is great, close to all shopping, restaurants and also the train station for those that may need it. Breakfast was great, good selection of hot food, toast, cereals, fruit, cold meats and bread and pastries, all tasted great. A great bonus is the free parking which you can use for your entire stay even after you have checked out which is great for a city centre hotel. All in all I was very impressed and would definitely return when back in Liverpool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great staff, clean room and service top drawer, will be back. Breakfast good choice and good quailty cooked. Dinner was very good possibly too much salt for my taste. Location next to lime st station in the middle of the city But NO NOISE from the station

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank single-dad-glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed over for one night, A group of 10. Free car parking is available at the side of the hotel. The service was great, rooms clean, comfy & warm with a safe for any valuables. Happy to help staff, great location and a bright large breakfast room. Would stay again. Thanks Liner Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear over look the railway station but noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Chose this hotel because of the excellent feedback on trip advisor, inclusive parking and superb location - while I can't quibble with the second two points I simply can't believe the quality of feedback this hotel has somehow managed to get. The fact that so many reviewers would go back is astounding as we deliberated checking out on Day 1! Welcomed by unsupervised children rolling around the lobby and a group of drunken lads -not good. Cleanliness is priority whether you pay £60 or £160 per night - our room had unhoovered carpets and bedding with stains. Breakfast was average if you were prepared to queue and then be content with other guests manouevering around your table. On the plus side the staff were friendly and smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissD1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 98 in Liverpool
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing