We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a great hotel to visit Liverpool. Staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms clean, comfortable and warm everything you need for a weekend. Location excellent for catching the train or they have free parking if you driving, but dont forget to ask for your token to leave.
Breakfast was lovely but we didn't try the restaurant, however the menu looked good and reasonable for hotel. The bar was great too. Sure to return.

Room Tip: Views arent the best but the higher the better they are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolajones1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,645
    488
    139
    110
See reviews for
606
2,228
173
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Just an excelent hotel. Excellent rooms (nicely decorated and furnished, not too big but comfortable) excellent location next to liverpool lime street station, excelent staff, very friendly, loved the experience, totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodriDaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed for 2 nights recently, was unsure of where to stay and like the liner from the pictures, well i was pleasantly surprised how lovely it was, staff were fab and food was also gorgeous, the whole layout was also gorgeous, recommend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a lovely welcome at reception. Me and my husband celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the hotel, the view wasnt great but we had the luxery of watching snow fall from the sky through a large window. The bathroom was very clean and new looking. The bed was the most comfortable we've stayed in at a hotel. we got an amazing deal online. we would highly recommend and have told family and friends about how much a great place this was. We will stay there again! :-)
Great price
Great location
clean and cozy couldnt be better.
Great beds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torivictoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, ideally situated in the city centre. Free parking, lovely rooms, all at a great price. We couldn't have asked for more. The choice at breakfast was excellent and was all included in the price. Looks slightly out dated from the outside but that did not put us off. Would very much recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedwasWicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've been coming here for 10 years now, and it was then called the Gladstone after the Liberal politician who was born in Liverpool in 1809. This hotel was a little run down for many years, and a lot of money has been spent on it transforming it into something of an Ocean Liner, with port holes and pictures of liners along the corridors. The hotel is located a short distance up the hill behind the railway station, very well located for people like myself who travel by rail on business and who need overnight stops. It's also on edge of the town centre and a walkable distance from the waterfront, though when I take my wife I stop more centrally for closer access to shops and restaurants. The price of a room has varied over the years, up and down, and is currently exceptionally good value at £50 for a room including breakfast. Normally a low price like this would make me suspicious, The rooms are of a good standard, and include a wide work desk. I prefer staying at the front of the hotel, as it can be a little noisy at night, overlooking the railway lines, if you like to open the window for fresh air. I feel very loyal to this hotel, and I will continue to use it.

Room Tip: Front of hotel quieter if like me you open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDE513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear JohnDE513,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review. I am thrilled you have had such a good experience at The Liner Hotel. It was lovely to read how you feel loyal to the Hotel and how you find the location perfect for business, being so close to Limestreet trainstation.I will be sure to pass on all your lovely comments to the other members of staff.Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here on saturday night last and found check in very easy and efficient. The room on the 5th floor was clean and well presented.We had some reservations when booking about noise from the train station and general sleep quality from reading other reviews on here,but i have to say we did not experience any of these issues.
Breakfast on the whole was very good, but it is here that we found the only real negative of our stay.The self service system in place seems to encompass everything from tea/coffee,toast making to searching for cutlery and other services that are generally taken for granted at most hotels.However the choice and quality of food on offer was excellent.
The hotel is well positioned in the city for walking to all the main attractions and the taxi rank down the street is always well serviced.
The staff here make the hotel and especially the receptionist who was so helpful with our airline query when we were checking out.
Overall good value and enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on higher floors seem to eliminate noise problems mentioned in other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear jmon06,
Thank you very much for your comments we are extremely pleased when guests take time out to review our hotel. Please know that feedback like yours is used to help and improve the service we provide. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing