We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed overnight on Valentines for theatre trip. Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Rooms modern, clean and roomy. Nice and warm which is what you need in February. Dinner in restaurant very good and great value, service quick and friendly. Breakfast very good and chef very happy chappy and helpful, very busy though. Could do with turning their toaster up a notch as once through only warmed the bread not toasted it, so twice was the norm. Extremely good orange juice but coffee a little weak. City centre hotel, VERY convenient for Lime Street station and Empire Theatre which are only yards away and shopping centre close too and car park very close by. Usual heavy traffic noises until early hours but to be expected in city centre hotels anywhere. All in all would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at back of hotel maybe less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonbon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,356 - 4,362 of 4,976 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

Although I have recommended this hotel before I had an unpleasant experience last time. The booking was incorrect ,the hotel blamed the travel agent and washed their hands of it. The staff were obtuse ,to say the least . I would stay there again because of the location ,parking and good breakfast but deal direct with the hotel ,don't use an agent .

Room Tip: ask for street side ,not station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent value hotel, rooms well equipped and breadfast plentiful and varied choice. Free secure parking was a great bonus and hotel was in a good location. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very nice hotel with very efficient staff. stayed here on 08.02.12 as it is ideally located for the O2 music venue we was attending. The rooms were excellent value and the breakfast was good. Free secure parking was also another clincher when booking this first rate hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

stayed here for 1 night on wed 8/02. We was their to see a band playing at the 02 acedemy. which was just around the corner we had a double smoking room with breakfast. room was large with very comfy bed. also a large bathroom. all the staff was very pleasant. the barman was really nice and gave us plenty of information. breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from. there is also a free car park. next time we visit liverpool it will be for a longer break and we will be staying at the liner. thankyou.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmer645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The staff are friendly at the hotel and not imposing, which i find as a single traveller is important. The rooms are clean, breakfast is fine, but the location for me is excellent. I was here on business , it is close to my conference venue, the shops, the resturants, theatre, etc, this was my 3rd visit and i will return to The Liner when next in Liverpool.
I do think they will have to update carpets soon as they are looking a bit shabby which is a shame, as although the hotel is a bit tired looking overall, the cleanliness takes that away, with the exception of the carpets,

Room Tip: The hotel is by the train station, however i have always stayed on the 5th floor (or deck as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

i checked in to the liner around four and the room was like ice as the windows had been left open and it was the middle of winter when i called over how you turn the heating on i was told it wont come on till six. the radiator was coverd so even at six the room was frezzing cold!! if you decide to pop out you are given icy stares by the staff for them having to see you walk past, they are unable to understand the simplist request as their english is so poor. overpriced for an igloo!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing