We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and not very cheerful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campanile Liverpool
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap and not very cheerful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here when attending the Echo Arena for a gig. Stones throw away from the venue which was great and we also only paid £41 for our room which compared to some poor reviewers was a steal. Breakfast was an extra £17.50 for a continental and full English for both of us. Danish pastries burnt, bacon tasted of burgers as it is obviously cooked on uncleaned griddle!, and poor quality tea and coffee facilities. Night staff were foreign and didn't know which glasses to serve bar drinks in, so customers had to show them! Room basic although bed was comfy, (ask for a Waterfront view or else you will have a view of the main road and car park). Holes in curtains and mouldy bathroom grout. When we complained, were told that grouting gets done twice per year and that the curtains were due for renewal! but no offer of a discount, staff very aloof and clearly didn't care except the young man on duty when we checked in, he was very helpful. For £41 it was a fine price to pay but please don't pay anymore than that. Not worth it. Won't be going again. However if you want an Indian meal like you have never had before, saunter down to the Albert Dock and go to SPICE Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for Waterfront room to avoid the A road and car park view!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynebalshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    337
    245
    97
    114
See reviews for
113
410
56
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is in Queen's Dock which is very close to both Albert Dock and Liverpool 1, as well as being in easy walking distance of China Town. You can't really complain about the location of this hotel which is quite open about what it is...a budget hotel.
The room was clean and functional, having had a fresh coat of paint - which unfortunately had dripped onto the radiator initially making the controls stick. However, the staff were friendly and very quick to come and fix the radiator issue.
The view down over the dock was pretty and whilst this wouldn't be my hotel of choice were money no object for two nights it was largely a good stay.
The one thing I would say is because of it's location, which is also next to the local casino it did have people coming and going at all times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here to attend the Echo Arena. Ideal shovel for a budget one night stay. Staff really friendly would stay again. Warm and clean food okay for what we wanted.
A very very short walk from the Arena which was great before and after the show!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jip808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night as we were watching a show at the arena close by. Although we slept well we paid a good amount of money for such an average room. We had one towel to share between the two of us, the bath had not been cleaned and there were black 'mascara like' stains on the bed sheet. It was just ok for a one night stay as we were not in the room a lot anyway. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay or couples looking for a romantic weekend away. I'd say the rooms were worth nothing more than £30.00. We definitely won't visit again.

Room Tip: Don't spend alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My other booked this hotel for us for a one night stay in mid-November. The location is OK, just a couple of minutes walk from the docks and Liverpool One although there are better options.

Service was competent when we booked in. The room block is a separate building from reception. Our room was 2nd floor. Unbelievably, we found that 'our' room was already occupied when we tried to enter the room. Straight back to reception, I was offered a mumbled apology and a new room.

The room was very tired and in need of a complete makeover. The furniture was old, bruised and I'm sure there were even bits missing.

On return after our night out, we got back onto our corridor and it stank of fried chicken, horrid! Whilst on the same corridor, the smell changed from KFC to cannabis.

I've never stayed in such a poor hotel as this. Thank goodness we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMAnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst attending a party in Liverpool.

I was greeted by very friendly reception staff who were very happy to help.

Some refreshing work was taking place and so the associated activities of painting etc were expected to be taking place.

Room was fantastic overlooking the docks and was very clean.

Bathroom was a little dated but clean and adequate for what I needed.

One minor criticism would be the lack of sockets. Rooms could do with more sockets near the bedsides to charge phones etc.


Other than that it was great value and I would defiantly stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Picked this hotel because of easy free parking and proximity to Albert Docks. It is rated 2 star but by whom I do not know as it clearly fails many of the criteria for that grading. Arrived to find car park dominated by 'white van man' - realised some were working in the hotel, painting and decorating, but others were using it as cheap accommodation while working on nearby building site (more anon!). Reception was efficient and polite, once their own conversation been completed. Room as requested on top floor overlooking river, truly a great view and worth a special email request after booking online. Very small room with only a standard double bed and little circulation space. Reasonable wardrobe and good work desk in front of window, would be appreciated if staying for business. Little other storage space, so did not feel inclined to attempt unpacking, despite staying for 4 nights. Only one power point so had to carefully schedule recharging of phones and tablets.

Bathroom small but clean, some damage to shelf over basin could do with addressing, as well as flush mechanism of toilet, and I heard other guests complaining of same problem. Only 2 small shower towels, and 3 (?) pillows for 2 guests. Asked at reception for extras, which had not arrived after 3 hours. Went down and asked again and was given 2 more bath towels (no call for hand towels?) and 2 extra pillows were delivered to the room, followed by 2 more towels later on! Thankyou, except only one small towel rail, nowhere near the basin.

Cleaning was efficient, (no clean linen or change of aforesaid towels, used ones left in bath were removed so no real complaint). Rather mean with only 4 small pots of UHT milk each day, luckily we had taken our own supply, but no fridge, this is clearly a budget hotel despite the Saturday night rate being £110.00. The hotel is very close to the Liverpool Echo arena and therein lies the biggest problem.

The first night we suffered from banging doors in the hallway until about 2am and put this down to the 'white van men' who were gone the next day as we had surmised. However, the walls of these rooms must be made of a special material with an intention to transmit sound. On the Friday night the hotel was clearly full of pumped up, glammed up, boozed up over-blinged middle-aged ladies (?) intent on a good night out with Andre Rieu at the Echo. There was a lot of noise and giggling as they got ready but when they came back later, wow! The noise! Laughter, arguing, shouting and the most appalling language I have ever witnessed through a hotel bedroom wall. This went on until at least 5am which was the last time we banged on the wall hoping they might get the hint, but to abso-blinking-lutely no avail.

Management are clearly aware of the problem because on reporting it next day we were greeted with a shrug and no apology. All in all probably a fair choice when the price is right and there is no Viennese fest going on at the Echo but certainly avoid Friday and Saturday nights at all costs, if you value your sleep. Also, be aware it is at least a 15 minute walk to the Albert Dock area (looks less on the street map) and Liverpool One shopping, more to train stations and other attractions. We certainly got our exercise.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
The Podworks Hotel
#57 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Liverpool

Property: Campanile Liverpool
Address: Chaloner Street | Queen's Dock, Liverpool L3 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing