We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, food and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Liverpool
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great service, food and location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Easy to find, free car parking on site, great service from all the staff, dinner and breakfast both very good. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Reasonable price.
Easy access to city centre, Anglican Cathedral, Albert Dock, Cains Brewery and routes out of the city

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for you pleasent words. Good to hear you had chance to see some the attractions our city has to offer and hopefully will be welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    337
    251
    101
    119
See reviews for
114
420
57
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I might as well start with the positives:
1.Good location.
2.Free parking
3.Good view if you get a Dock side room.
4.Incredibly friendly and helpful Reception Staff.
Now the not so positives:
1.Room is basic (which I would expect for the price), but the room and hotel is also incredibly tired and drab. There were no additional towels in the room and no iron. There also weren’t enough sockets in the room for plugging in your own hairdryer etc.
2.Noise – I’ve spent many weekends away in other city centre hotels before, but have never experienced noise even close to this anywhere else. In fact, this has to go down as one of the worse night’s sleep I’ve ever had, being woken up by slamming doors and drunken babble numerous times through to 6am!!
3.Food is pretty crummy if I’m honest. The continental selection was poor compared even to other budget hotels, and the cooked breakfast (although adequately cooked) contained the addition of four thick black hairs (two a piece, so neither of us felt left out I guess)!
I wouldn’t want to stay again even if someone else was paying. The Reception staff are amazing, but are flogging a dead horse unfortunately!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_pangie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to write a few words regarding your stay with us. Unfortunatly not all what we would like read. I'm very sorry to hear you had a disrupted nights sleep during your stay. Our security are trained to respond to any noise complaints within 5 minutes of them being reported. Although we do everything in our power to control noise levels sometimes these issues do arrise. We also do provide irons and extra towels on request and we will look at making this facilities more visable our guests in the future. Hopefully your experiences have not put you off using Camapnile Liverpool again and giving us the opportunity to show you these problems are not the norm while staying with us. If you would like to discuss you experiences with us further please contact me on 0151 7098104.

Kind regards
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Kelsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed one night in order to attend a Classical Spectacular concert at the Echo Arena. Friendly reception and staff very helpful. The hotel is a basic budget hotel but was clean and comfortable. Despite a Hen Party staying and also a group of young men there was no noise and we had a good night's sleep, bed was comfortable. The bar closes quite early and had just closed when we got back from the concert, however the extremely helpful staff got us a drink and said we could pay for it in the morning as the till had been cashed up.
The only negatives were that the toilet seat in our room needs to be replaced and they do not supply glasses/tumblers in the bathrooms. Take a couple of plastic glasses with you and some extra tea/coffee.
Breakfast was excellent, we upgraded for £2.75 each to a full English.
All in all quite good value and an easy walk to the Albert Dock. If you are attending an event there it is essential to book a table for dinner priior to the concert as we found all restaurants were fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room there will be less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back after a two night St Patrick's Break this hotel is only budget! its value for money as your right on the dock road and some rooms do have a great Mersey River View you would pay at least £100 per night for this view if you booked a hotel down the road, its handy for the city about a 10 minute walk we got a taxi ( free call from hotel phone ) into the city including a tip £5.
rooms our in there own building which is really odd, you have a security card to access the hotel rooms after dark but think this should be 24 hour as the main door is left open all day and anyone can have access to the rooms many of the doors left wide open when staff our busy cleaning them? the walls our paper thin!! you can hear everything that's going on next door and i mean everything!! they have this odd little wall heater with a warning sign on it, but if you have kids with you i wont turn it on as the metal gets really hot!! the shower above the bath is really good, we didn't eat in the place as so many great and cheaper places to eat within the city try Lime Kiln Seel St its a Lloyd s bar staff are great really friendly food is great and the beer nice and cold.
we had a disabled room on the ground floor as this hotel has no lift, we had room number ( 1 ) its the first room on the ground floor, not big and if your in a wheel chair its a little tight, bathroom is good lots of space and grab rails even the shaver point is low level be it set right next to the loo ? the toilet seat was loose ? car parking is free which is a bonus for the city centre, overall you pay for what you get? its value for money but dont think we would stay again over the weekend as they get lots of group bookings hens stags, last weekend lots of guest staying over for St PATRICKS DAY and we were still up at 6.30am on Monday morning due to a gang of Irish lads fighting in the next room from when they came in at 4am, its not the hotels fault but no reception after 11pm and no security if there had been security on duty they should have sorted things out which they didn't thank goodness they checked out that day so we had a good nights sleep the next night.help review helps you, if your looking for a cheap hotel in great location and you don't mind the hassle of noise etc then its value

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room as no lift, and ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Firstly thank you giving us feedback regarding your recent stay here at Campanile Liverpool. It's fantastic we could provide the majority of services needed during your stay. Unfortunatly I am disappointed to hear you had problems with noise. We have security throughout the evenings which should have reacted much quicker with any noise issues. Usually our security solve these problems within 5 minutes of these being reported. St Patricks weekend is a massive event within the city, however we rarely experience any issues. Hopefully the positives will out weigh any negatives and will be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel offers excellent value for money, with easy access to the heart of Liverpool.
The staff in this hotel are why we returned to this hotel.
Nothing is too much trouble and they are so welcoming.
Other more expensive hotels should learn by the example set by the staff at Campanile.

Highly recommended for a great value, enjoyable,delightful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. I will pass on your gratitude to our whole team and hopefully look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards,
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently returned from Liverpool with a party of 13 friends. We wanted somewhere basic clean and close to the city centre, the hotel was exactly as it says on the tin. I would like to thank Iain for all his help and i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for budget accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSM672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such nice comments.

Kind regards,
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wouldn't send my worst enemy here. Calling the hotel basic would be being kind to it, but we could have lived with that if we hadn't been treated so badly by someone who I can only assume was the duty manager.

We were eating a bowl of museli from the crummy selection available for continental breakfast. I wouldn't have bothered, only we had booked bed and breakfast and thought that since it was paid for we would make the best of it.

The next thing we know we're brought a bill. When we explain that breakfast is included and my super-organised husband produced the booking confirmation, the `duty manager' descended and told us that the rate we had paid did not include breakfast, whatever our confirmation said and we would have to pay for it.

This was basically being shouted at us in front of other patrons in the dining room. We refused very reasonably, saying we had paid and had the written confirmation of what we had paid for.

Then the man returned to say he had Booking.com on the phone and they needed to speak to us or they would take the money off the credit card for the breakfast. As I recall this would have been something like £10 for half a bowl of museli. We said we were having our breakfast and if they had a problem with booking.com that was their's, not ours. We had booked in good faith.

The manager badgered and badgered us in a loud voice in front of everybody as if this was the first time this had happened only for us to overhear him later to booking.com saying this happened all the time and "this time the hotel wouldn't be paying".

Basically we were being used as a bargaining chip for their row with booking.com! It was a horribly stressful start to our weekend "break" and we spent as little time as possible at the hotel after that. Not even taking the breakfast we were entitled to the second morning as the whole thing had been soured.

I cannot understand how anybody in the service industry could treat guests like that. It was like the worst episode of `Hotel Inspector'.

Stay well clear!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence W, General Manager at Campanile Liverpool, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Campanile Liverpool, unfortunately it is sad to hear we did not for fill all your required needs and you did not experience the hospitality in which we usually pride ourselves. I will be investigating your experience further with regards to a member of our team and booking.com as this seems to be a confusion which I would like to eradicate swiftly.
I would like to apologise profoundly and should you wish to discuss the matter further, in so I can investigate the events thoroughly, please contact me on 0151 7098104.

Kind regards,
L.Whittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
The Podworks Hotel
#58 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Liverpool

Property: Campanile Liverpool
Address: Chaloner Street | Queen's Dock, Liverpool L3 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing