We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve Gerrard......Gerrard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Steve Gerrard......Gerrard”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my third game to Anfield ( Liverpool 1- S'hampton 0) , with my first time getting to see Stevie G play ( was injured last two games). And, the best spot in Liverpool is the Marriott City Centre. It's now like home ( second visit) as the staff are very accommodating, and the location couldn't be better. The rooms are also updated and spotless! I'm already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kef101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    506
    205
    76
    63
See reviews for
224
479
67
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Was to stay at this property for two nights but left after one night of poor sleep. There was a prom event and it was really loud. The room was OK - small but adequate. The floor I was on had a old carpet smell - not too surprising as the carpet was well worn and had spilled food stains. The breakfast was adequate but a bit thrown together. I am a Platinum Member at Marriott and would have to say this property was not up to the usual standard. Will have to say the staff were excellent and trying to do their best. Hotel management need to invest on improving the hotel infrastructure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am from the city and love going back there. Whenever I can, I stay at the Marriott. The staff are very warm and welcoming, the location is great. Only negative is that the last time we stayed, the room was in need of some maintenance, knobs falling off draws etc! Didn't spoil our stay though.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spidy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our room included breakfast in the rate which was not the case by the time we checked in. This had to be sorted by proving with an email on my phone account that breakfast was included in the rate we paid. The rooms are clean but not modern. The decor of the rooms is dated and a bit mis match. The beds are very comfortable though. Also the room became quite stuffy as there was no air conditioning. At breakfast my girlfriend toasted some bread which we noticed was found to have mould on it. A big let down really as you wouldnt expect this at a B&B never mind a supposedly 4 star hotel. To sum it up its not a bad hotel but there are better, more modern hotels in the city centre for the same price and can even be less expensive (try Malmaison). The location is excellent but there are other hotels (62 castle st, Hilton) that are more modern for the same price and with just as good a location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gezza1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'm actually staying here now and am quite amazed at the fact that this place can call itself a Marriott and a hotel. It's really a disco with roomd at weekends and if you want to sleep you can forget about it. I cant sleep due to the noise and the staff can of course do nothing about it. The hotel's function room plays extremely loud music that can be heard in the rooms as if a radio is on loudly in your room. The hotel's sound insulation is completely inadequate. Thr loud beat music finishes at 130 but of course the guests don't go home so Im looking at 2 O Clock before I'll get to sleep (I hope). So if you want a stag or hen weekend maybe this is OK if you come back very late, or go to the party yourself. If you are traveling with your family and you want to use the hotel for sleeping then stay well clear. I'm a Marriott regular. I'll be checking into the Crowne Plaza in the morning and complaining to Marriott that they lend this place it's brand.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Situated in the heart of the city centre, a short walk from lime street train station, the Marriott is perfect for someone looking for a city break with some added comfort. Didnt use the fitness centre but used the swimming pool and had no complaints with the facilities. The rooms were in excellent condition and as expected considering cost. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast room slightly too small to cater for the amount of people staying at the hotel, long queues built up to be seated and at the food stations to be served.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unfortunately I have to say that my experience from start to finish was so appalingly bad that I'm almost at a loss for where to start...

I guess the beginning is the best place, and for me this was before I even arrived.
I was staying here as a part of a large group, it was a friends hen weekend, and her mum had booked several rooms for both 1 and 2 night stays.

I wanted to confirm check in times, and possible early check in options, so after getting the booking reference for our group I called the number on their website and asked about these.
I knew we needed to be elsewhere in Liverpool for 2pm, so on finding out that check in was 3pm I asked if I could leave my name to request an early check in.
I then gave my email address, as the lady offered to send me the full info through.
Just off hand she then mentioned that we were all booked in for double rooms - not the twins we were expecting.
I queried this, but was told no - there were no twins left and all the rooms were definitely doubles, but would I prefer to have a room of my own? I said I wouldn't want to share a bed, but OK - fair enough, I'd flag this up with the organiser of our booking.

I then received an email from Marriot, who had changed the booking into my name, and sent me the bill for a double room of my own - £198 for the 1 night, which was double what I was expecting to pay as we were supposed to be sharing a twin at 2 per room.

I called straight back and told them to put everything back as it had been - I hadn't wanted them to change the booking, and just wanted to confirm check in times, and put my name down for an early check in.
After sorting this out, I sent a message to the organiser of our group, telling them what had happened and suggesting they check the twin rooms issue with the hotel.

Fast forward to the day of our stay, and half way to the hotel I receive a message from my roomie to say that the hotel had cancelled 2 of our rooms, and subsequently we didn't have enough beds for our group.

On arrival this was confirmed - the organiser had called up to check the booking, and had on 2 seperate occasions discovered that they had our May booking down as March (even in May!)
and had then discovered on arrival the 2 room references that she had given on her last call to check that it was all ok, had been cancelled.
The hotel was at this point totally full, and we were left without enough rooms for our party.
We had no choice but to leave bags with the concierge, and go out to our activity, and then dinner.

We returned to the hotel at approx. 6-7pm that evening, to find that they had made 1 more room available for 1 night, but that we were still 1 rooms/2 beds short for the night.
Although actually we were very short of beds, because we all ended up in double beds, not the twins we had booked - meaning that we were all sharing double beds, not the twins we expected, and I had to share a bed for the night with someone I'd only met once before.

The only suggestion the hotel could come up with was to provide fold up in 2 of the rooms to cover the shortfall.

The room my bedfellow for the night and I had to share wasn't great, expecially bearing in mind that we were paying £198 for the privilidge of 1 night of sharing a bed.
The bedding was ripped, the tiles in the bathroom were cracked, the carpet was dirty and stained, the decor was tired and dated, there was no hairdrier (had to call down and request one), the room was boiling hot, the air conditioning was blowing out hot, and the window was locked.

I called down to reception to ask for someone to come and sort the window out, and a while later a man came, tried to open it, but couldn't because it was locked.
He then went to get a key, and came back and tried again - but it still wouldn't open because the lock was broken.
So we ended up with a massive floor fan, which although powerful was also quite noisy.

It was too late to go anywhere else at this point, so we got ready and met our friends in the bar.
It was at this point that we were told that in one of the rooms our friends had discovered a pool of vomit on the floor, which calls into question when it was cleaned last, if at all!
The room stank of it apparently, but there were no other rooms available so they had to getit cleaned, but put up with the stench as there was nothing that could be done about that.

After several complaints from several members of our party to the duty manager we were all offered 10% off the cost of our stay, the people on roll out beds and in the vomit room stayed free of charge, and reception arranged for a couple of bottles of cava to be sent to the hen, but to be honest I would have rather had a clean room with enough beds.

I will never stay in a Marriot hotel again

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing