We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting Liverpool and the Beatles attractions. The hotel is as you'd expect for a Marriot really.The rooms weren't huge but were very comfortable and the hotel is in a good location. There are a couple of chain restaurants and a car park next door. no complaints

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    519
    206
    76
    63
See reviews for
227
483
67
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What can I say , it is not Marriott standards. The rooms are not very clean, and they are outdated, there is no mini bar , I had to ask for sleepers and bathrobe, the staff are friendly and they help a lot, but like I said they should change the name or the standards, is very expensive for what is it.
the pool are is ok , the sauna is not that hot, steam room nice , pool ok.
however the location is brilliant next to everything dont need a taxi to go anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodcomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited over the Easter bank holiday weekend and found the hotel conveniently located, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Thanks to Concierge Alan for booking our Beatles taxi tour the morning of our departure at such the last minute, good one. Enjoyed the leisure facilities, in particular the pool [and sauna, Jacuzzi] which was really underused by other guests – bring your bathing suit. As seems to be becoming usual, can add breakfast for 10 pounds the night before [booking with room costs 15].

Close to Liverpool Lime Street train station (3 minutes downhill), Liverpool One [big, newish shopping complex], several theatres, as well as to the Walker Art Gallery. About a 15-min easy walk through the City Centre to Albert Docks, Tate Liverpool and Mersey ferries. Several restaurants next to hotel in Queens square, including La Tasca, Ask and Nandos.

Quickly, we ate at La Tasca our first evening (lively, good service and food), and Mei Mei (good Chinese, very busy) and The Italian Club Fish (for some very fresh fish...).

Agree with other reviews regarding bathrooms in need of an upgrade (otherwise clean...) - request high floor facing away from buses.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request high floor facing away from buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J&MDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Decided for change of scene, so spent the night away in Liverpool. We chose the Marriott for its convenient location for the rail station (Lime Street) , shops and eateries. The hotel was less than 4 minutes’ walk from Lime street station ideal after a longer train journey.
Upon arrival at the hotel we was met by a warm and friendly front desk, who checked us in with speed and offered help with area maps and answering questions on local area. I never allow pre-authorisation of my card as this can take up to 2 weeks for the funds to be return, most check in staff normally argue the toss before submitting, however this wasn’t a problem at all with Marriott Liverpool.
Our room was an executive standard (215) and was spacious, clean and over-looked St Johns Gardens. I rather like the docking station in the room, allowing us to take our own music with us.
The leisure facilities were great and while the kids worked up an appetite splashing around the pool I could relax in the hot tub, sauna and steam room. The amenities here were all spotless and a great way to spend an hour of your afternoon.
If you don’t fancy eating in the hotel then not to worry, there is an abundance of restaurants and bars to suit every taste and budget. Directly outside the hotel was La Tasca (Spanish Tapas), Burger King and Buffalo Jacks and American themed eatery.
Breakfast at the hotel is buffet style and offers something for everyone, the setting lovely and staff like the rest of the hotel are warm and friendly, my tip is to book breakfast the night before midnight and enjoy breakfast for £10.00 an adult and £5.00 a child

If shopping is your thing then the hotel is also ideally situated by ST Johns shopping centre and just 5 minutes -walk from Liverpool One.

In short the Marriott Liverpool is one of my favourite hotels and I will stay here again. The only downer with Marriot UK as a group is the lack of in-room free WI-FI (Free in public areas), which someone was complaining about to reception about when I arrived. For me it’s not such an issue, however I do understand that the modern traveller is more Hi-tech savvy than it’s ever has been before and it’s something that I feel needs to be addressed, as brand oppositions in the same category do offer it free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetwind1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love Marriot hotels and this Marriot Hotel in the heart og Liverpool is no exception.
I particullary loved that the hotel is nearby the train station, and a few blocks away from the Cavern and all the clubs within the Fab Four Quartier.
Great sleep time, coffe machine, wonderful view. and very polite manager and staff.
Would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the front of the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebaztian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Good: Friendly staff (especially the concierge) who really want to help, central location and there is a small gym with a pool.

The Rest:
I was supposed to stay at this hotel for four weeks, but checked out after two. The room I stayed in had filthy carpeting and ancient furniture, and the faucet in the bathroom would get stuck in the on position. One of my colleagues reported the same problem. The central heat is so poor, the rooms are fitted with portable radiators, which barely warm the room. My colleague had to request a second one for his corner room. This is not what I was expecting given that, had I not checked out prematurely, some nights of my stay were set to exceed £200 ($300 US). Some nights of my actual stay were nearly £200.

They have a strange policy of charging your credit card as soon as your bill hits £1,000, which does not take long at the above rates. My interim bill was inaccurate, and it's taken one long, fruitless talk with the "manager" and an overseas phone call to try to sort it out. The two amounts charged on my receipt do not add up to the itemized lists above each charge, so it is impossible for me to complete my expense report. To date, I still don't have that sorted out. This has been a huge inconvenience and not something I really needed to deal with after five weeks of travel.

The business center consists of a computer and printer/scanner device. They charge you by the minute and you have to pay in advance at the front desk to use the computer, requiring you guess how long it will take to perform your task. Although I paid to use the computer to print out some documents, I never was able to print them because the printer was jammed. Exactly one week later, the printer was still jammed. Finally, the expensive breakfast is horrible with an odor of vinegar filling the entire restaurant (never could figure out where that was coming from). Mercifully, this restaurant is only open for breakfast. Food options at the bar consist of peanuts and mixed nuts at night, but you can get room service around the clock. It's really a depressing place with a dark and dingy ambiance. I forgot to mention that the first night I stayed there the fire alarm went off at 01:00. I'm guessing that was related to the wedding reception that was going on. So, we all got to stand around outside and in the lobby for half an hour.

In short, I just got the impression that there is no competent management onsite and this place has fallen off the radar screen of Marriott Corporate. It's long overdue for a makeover and new management.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a room that overlooks the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelF33067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Went to see the Loveable Rogues support Olly Murrs, lovely room, great view and 2 minutes from Lime Street station. Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Choice of 6 restaurants within 5 minutes walk. No complaints, central well appointed and ticks the boxes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing