We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and lovely staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location and lovely staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed for 3 nights in January at this Hotel.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and It's only a short walk into the town center and the nearby restaurants,bars and shopping malls.
I was checked quickly by the polite receptionist. My room was only a standard double and looks very old style.I think they only should renovate the rooms as soon as possible.Of course I may think to stay again at this Hotel for my upcoming visits...
Thanks everybody in that hotel.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    496
    203
    73
    60
See reviews for
218
469
65
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caldy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here Monday and Tuesday evening. My room was a little depressed but I slept fine and my wake up call was just on time. I decided to stay here as I needed to travel from Lime Street Station early Tuesday morning for business.
The concierge was very polite and advised me of local eateries in the area.
Will return, maybe with family to encounter a different experience. I'm finding trip advisor very useful and will continue to review as and when needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersavior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff as normal are very friendly as always and the concierge had a great knowledge of the city. As other people have written on trip advisor the rooms are a little tired. The hotel room that i stayed in, the bath,room could do with a tidy up as there was rust on the shower rail. The breakfast was very good and good value for money at £14. The hotel itself is in a great location and in walking distance to all the shops and the night life.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A four star hotel in a central location, that matches up to it's four star billing,thus,to be original, I'm giving it four stars:) The reception staff would get five stars for sheer chatty friendliness though.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Here on business but couldn't get all 3 nights at the Marriott so the first night was at the Holiday Inn just across the street. What a pleasure it was to get out of there and into this hotel.
It cost about 10 GBP/night more and another 10 GBP/night more for internet (but this is WiFi compared to cabled).

The WiFi was quite expensive - BUT, it allowed up to 6 devices (I travel with 3 devices that use WiFi and a small family could easily use it al up). Regardless, I've been to many places that restrict the numbers greatly and I've been to many places that the user id and password can be shared indefinitely but not at the same time.

Coming from North America you will appreciate that the room had: pants press; iron and ironing board; HDTV with a few HD channels (at least I think so - sometimes with a small but good quality TV they can fool these eyes); a good cross section of included toiletries (including bar soaps - I still prefer bars to gels); decent workspace; closet with about 10 hangers; room that was easy to control the temperature; mini fridge (although it didn't get things very cold); and a shower tub.

The shower tub was a bit chipped and cracked in places but very good pressure and temperature control. The lighting in the bathroom was decent (although without my wife there, I don't have her real world experience to really rate it!). I think I remember a hair dryer but it may have been stored in a drawer in the room.

The pants press isn't intuitive - you press the timer first and THEN the on button.

I also don't remember there being a clock radio in the room - I'm currently in my fourth hotel in Europe on this trip and I'm 0 for 4 with clock radios.

The decor in the room was nice and while certainly not brand new, it was a major upgrade to the Holiday Inn room I was in. And the bed was much more to my liking - proper mattress topper; fitted and flat sheets; duvet cover. They even have a (grossly overpriced) 'catalog' in the room whereby you can purchase Marriott linens so at least you have the sense that they aren't run of the mill. I wouldn't say they come close to Westin's Heavenly Bed, but I would say for this price range, they are above average.

I didn't partake in any of the facilities or eating / drinking areas except breakfast one time. I find hotel breakfasts particularly overpriced and the Marriott is no exception. While the quality was there (and they do have an omelette station), even on business it turns me off to be charged something like 15 GPB when I can go to a local pub and get a hearty breakfast for about half that price.

They had bacon (not the strip kind, but English bacon), scrambled eggs, potatoes, beans, about 3 or 4 cereals, yogurt and various toppings that you could put on either the cereal or mix in your yogurt and an assortment of pastries and bread with toasters. There were also some dishes of fruit plus, as I mentioned, the omelet station.

The location for Lime Street and shopping and eating is very good if you're on foot - I can't speak to how easy it is to get in and out of if you have a car (nor what the parking rates are).

So far this trip - Holiday Inn 0, Marriott 1.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannon_fodder1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott in Liverpool on our short trip, the hotel is modern, the rooms were clean, toilets were clean everything about this hotel was really nice, but if I had to be really really picky, the staff on checking in were not that bothered, the staff in the bar were not that interested overall the staff didn't do this place justice, would we visit again, well after our previous experience in Liverpool's moat house many many years ago - the Marriott is a 5 star so will probably book again.

Room Tip: They have a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMoore71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night in January to celebrate our anniversary.
The hotel is in a fantstic location at Queen's Square. It's only a short walk into the town centre and the nearby bars and restaurants.
We were checked ivery quickly by the polite receptionist. Our room was only a standard double, but it was quite large and spotlessly clean.
We had a drink in the hotel bar. £21 for a double Jack & Coke and a glass of Champagne.
We had breakfast and parking included in the rate. The breakfast was delicious. We both had a full english but there was cereal and a continental breakfast available as well. Lots of fruit and pastries to choose from.
Check out was smooth and quick and the parking pass was really easy to use. If I need to stay over in Liverpool again I would definately pick the Marriott.

Room Tip: I would advise a high room, so you can't hear reception and the restaurant on the first floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyrob669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing