We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott for an anniversary treat. We stayed in a penthouse suit which was well equipped clean and a very comfortable bed. We had breakfast delivered to our room on both mornings for a cost of only £3. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. I would recommend as a great location for a city break to a lively city centre

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besty414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for a 2 night break. Room was adequate but poorly lit and no control seemed possible over the heating. Cleaning staff need to look more closely at standards in bathrooms ..... A glance in the mirror over the sink revealed an extremely dirty sink overflow which is clearly never cleaned, yet readily accessible.
Reception, bar and leisure centre staff were very friendly and helpful, but breakfast staff were disinterested, save the egg chef, and the buffet was poorly restocked despite showing obvious gaps and requests were necessary for a supply of glasses for juice and you had to be quick to catch someone to ask for tea or coffee.

The hotel is well placed and well insulated to any exterior noise but lacked the standards I expect from the Marriott chain.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Harricat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were at the Marriott for a wedding reception.
We had excellent service, the receptionists were especially lovely and helpful.
The only reason it is 4 stars and not 5, is because the hotel does not have its own car park, although there is a multi-storey virtually next door to the hotel.
It was very comfortable and fairly quiet for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location in the centre of Liverpool,generous sized rooms,very comfortable beds...nearly everything you want in a 4 star hotel.But,be warned, the heating/cooling system in the rooms is antiquated and we had to change rooms to get any heat at all and in the new room we could only have either a blast of cold air or a blast of hot air - there was no way of adjusting the system to suit your own needs.Having said that,the staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful.Rather surprisingly the complimentary newspaper was the Metro...this may be a step too far in reducing the running costs of a hotel of this standard!

Room Tip: The hotel gets crowded when there is a big football match on in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddayhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon. It was right across from the train station without being so close that you heard trains all the time. It was a great location. We were able to walk around Liverpool, close to shopping and the harbour with lots of tourist attractions.
The staff at this hotel was amazing! They were so friendly and helpful. The concierge has great places to send us to and helped us get to our LFC stadium on time and with public transit. The ladies who worked at the reception desk were so kind and pleasant. The staff at the hotel bar/lounge was very nice as well.
Our room was clean and nice. We didn't spend much time in it as we were exploring the city the whole time we were there.
The only downfall of this hotel was the wifi. I wish they offered free wifi, but unfrotunately they didn't and the hourly rate was somewhat expensive.
My husband and I want to go back to Liverpool at some point, and I can only imagine we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stopped here for two nights, on arrival we were shown to our room bed was dirty also a chair was stained. Staff were helpful and changed things. Also noticed that there was a coffee stain down the wall which no one bothered to remove. We spoke to the duty manager who was most helpful but by the end of the 1st day we had a list of problems. When you are away for two nights you don't need problems.

Again the duty manager was helpful , we never seem to have problems when we use Marriott hotels abroad.

Having looked around Liverpool there are a lot better places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb's48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Welcome to 2012 where The Marriott Hotel Liverpool City Centre will charge you £6 per hour for wi-fi. Until they change this I won't go back there, this despite the hotel in itself is great with spacious rooms, friendly service, and a top location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jørgen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Hard Days Night Hotel
#28 of 99 in Liverpool
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $96 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing