We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at the Thistle Atlantic Tower Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent at the Thistle Atlantic Tower Liverpool”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I would like to say what a wonderful hotel and team of people we encountered whilst staying at this hotel weekend of the Aintree Grand National 5th April 2014.

It was a suprise 70th Birthday treat for my Dad and the hotel did everything they could to make our stay both enjoyable, comfortable, memorable and hassle free. They even supplied a complimentary bottle of bubbles and card for my dad in his room which was a really lovely and unexpected touch so thank you for that too.

The hotel is lovely and clean, the champagne breakfast and the ordinary breakfast had everything on offer you could hope for. We also enjoyed what was an absolutley beautifully freshly cooked meal on the Saturday night, everyone one of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Very high quality and well cooked/presented food and lots of it too. Thank you to the kitchen and waiting staff.

All of the reception staff were also extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We checked in with no hassle what so ever, they knew all the details and had us allocated to our rooms in no time. Considering it was the weekend of the Grand National and the hotel was very near fully booked if not completely, yet you would never have known this. The team of people working here run the operation so smoothly and no body goes without or is not looked after in a very pesronal and friendly manner. They really couldn't have done anymore for us or for anybody else by the looks of things. everyone I spoke to seemd to have only praise for the hotel and the people working there.

I would just like to also say that the whole experience overall, stayig in Liverpool and going to the Grand National was a truely lovely weekend and all of the local people in Liverpool that we encounted were so friendly and welcomiing. What a lovely city and lovely people. We all said we will definitely visit again.

thank you to the Thistle Atlantic Tower and its fantastic staff, people working at the National and last but not least all the lovely people from Liverpool.

Big high Five Thistle xx!!
didn't have time to use the fitness facilities so unable to comment. hence no ranking on these below.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Tammy R,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your comments clearly reflect that you all thoroughly enjoyed your Grand National stay and I am so pleased that the team’s dedication to guest service contributed to your memorable weekend.
I have shared all your comments with the team, many of whom are local. They were all greatly encouraged by your kind words. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    826
    401
    147
    80
See reviews for
231
958
87
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this hotel for a weekend away and got a great price.
Reception Staff were very helpfull and booked us into a nice room with great views over the Liver Building and the Mersey. The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of most of the popular attractions.
There was a good choice at Breakfast, which was very busy.
The only downside for us, was that the hotel doesn't have a Gym or Pool.

Room Tip: Pay Extra and get a room high up to enjoy the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fife-on-a-bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Fife64

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and picked up a great deal.
We can't offer you a gym but can suggest some great jogging routes around the city.
Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards


Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday. Upon arrival the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed on the 10th floor, room 1007 in the Executive double room which was very spacious and had amazing views of the Liver building and the River Mersey. The decor was a bit dated but the room was clean and presentable. We had dinner in the Club Car restaurant which was very nice. The food was great! Visited the bar which also had fantastic views and the staff were really pleasant. Breakfast was lovely. Private car park is nearby and costs £8 per night. Great location, just walking distance to the Albert Docks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Mersey/Liver building
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Polly 350

Thank you for chosing to spend your special birthday at the Thistle Liverpool. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and were well looked after by the team. The rooms on our lower floors are more recently refurbished but many guests like yourself do appreciate the stunning bedroom views from the higher floors. Thanks for your comments and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked the hotel as we had previously stayed at the Thistle in Cardiff and really enjoyed it there. The Friday night deal for £79 with breakfast and a bottle of wine was great value but we decided to upgrade and paid £104 for the deal with an executive room.
When we arrived the reception staff were pleasant and helpful in advising us how to get to the Royal Court. We were delighted when we found when had been upgraded again to a junior suite on the 12th floor, room 1206, with a fantastic view. Room was everything we would expect. We ordered room service and it arrived within 15 mins. The food was great. Visited the bar which also had fantastic views and the staff were really pleasant. Breakfast was lovely. In all we couldn't fault Anything from start to finish and we wished we had booked an extra night. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lj0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear lj0405

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments which I have shared with my team. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There are some great deals on rooms available for Easter and we would be delighted to welome you back in the near future.

Best Regards


Jonathen Marsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Sink cracked in room. Bedding had holes. These things were not the end of the world however my friends and I both are the same thing in the restuarant and spent the night in the bathroom (the couple we went with ate something different and were fine)
The worst thing was that despite complaining at check out, writing to the hotel and writing to head office no one was polite enough to return a letter, email or phone call.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neet753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear neet 753

I am extremely concerned by your comments and allegations regarding the hotel. Neither Reception, Head Office or my Management Team have received your complaint and I would be most grateful if you could contact myself jonathan.marsden@thistle.co.uk. or nikki.palmer@thistleco.uk / 0151 227 4444 to discuss.

Best Regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bispham
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed one night with friends to attend a concert at The Philharmonic Hall. While we had a room on the 11th floor with a good view of the river, it was one of the smallest we've stayed in with a tiny bathroom. However it was clean and the bed was comfy. The reception staff were very helpful and the car park around the corner at £8 for the time we were there was okay. We booked room only as breakfast was an additional £15.95 each, however when we arrived we booked breakfast at reception and paid £10 each. The selection was good and plentiful for this price and the waitress named Joan was very good refilling our cups and very pleasant. We didn't visit the bar so can't comment on the prices but we've certainly stayed at better hotels and paid a lot less. Obviously Liverpool was the place to be last night and therefore the hotels set their prices accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Fazug

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I hope you had a great time at the concert. We do have various style and types of rooms which are displayed on our website you may find the executive rooms more suited to your needs in future. Prices do fluctuate in the city and if you can be flexible on dates you will pick up some great deals. I am glad you were able to take up the advance purchased breakfast promotion and enjoy a leisurely breakfast with good service from the team.
Best Regards


Jonathan Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here overnight as we were attending a concert at the Echo Arena (great!). Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was good, be very comfortable, breakfast very good but the drinks were expensive in the V bar and we had to pay £8 to park the car overnight-not the most we've paid but also not the least! Would have been nice to have a room overlooking the Mersey but I suppose that was reflected in the price we paid. Good location and would return if we were staying overnight again.Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear pamsteve

Thanks for choosing the Thistle, Atlantic Tower whilst attending a concert at the Echo Arena and great to hear everyone looked after you so well. Bar prices are similar to most hotels in the city but concierge can always assist with information for alternative options. Do request a view room next time, we go try upgrade if they are available. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Jonathan Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,380 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing