We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hard Days Night in Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Hard Days Night in Liverpool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked into the Atlantic for a 2 night stay. After a 5 hour drive we arrived approx 3 o'clock in the afternoon to an unmanned reception. Eventually the manager and a receptionist showed up but in body only. Im not one to expect bells and whistles but the greeting we received was cold and very unwelcoming. The receptionist charged me for one night only, it was only when i pointed out her error that she charged me for the second night. Two weeks after our stay i noticed on a bank statement they had taken a further amount of money from my account because of more errors.

The room was cold despite the heating being on but it did have reasonable views of Albert Dockyard. The room was anything but roomy and very very tight. There was a distinct lack of fresh air in the room and no means to open any windows. On the Saturday morning i was gasping for fresh air and couldn't wait to get outside.

Unfortunately the dinning area was under renovation during our stay and guests taking breakfast were squeezed into a back room which was anything but comfortable and relaxing. The staff did their best to provide a decent breakfast service but it was very poor. We received no notification of this inconvenience in advance.

The hotel was very well situated for the city center and also for the waterfront.

Would i return? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river if you chose to stay here. Other hotels are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nige_863,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
I am sorry that your welcome was not as it should be, and will follow this up with the reception manager and the team. We do provide ourselves ion the friendly nature of our team, and this is evidenced on these pages, but clearly we did not get it right this time and I offer my apologies.
I am pleased to say our restaurant and bar are now fully refurbished and are back with us in great shape.
I apologies for any challenges you endured during the renovations. We did have plenty of other space available, and there were only a couple of periods where the rooms were a bit tight due to very high demand, though I recognise that advanced notice would have been appropriate.
Many thanks for your comments and I hope to see you back in Liverpool soon to see what improvements have been made.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    779
    383
    142
    77
See reviews for
212
895
85
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Positives:

1) Decent location, close to the docks,
2) Friendly staff
3) Nice Modern Rooms
4) Excellent Breakfast Selection, good quality food/coffee etc,
5) Responsive Hot and powerful shower:)
6) Great view of the LiverBirds from room 911 :D

Negatives:
1) Horrific communication between staff changing shifts (nearly ruined my sunday trip to Goodison Park by delaying us ages waiting for breakfast to be delievered to our room as Free deal we were offered had not been honoured thanks to previous supervisor not leaving notes about breakfast vouchers.
2) Massive three-way crack in sink
3) Simple old-fashioned bathroom decor.
4) Breakfast staff presuming guests wouldn't finish breakfast items ordered, (Pregnant wife needs options if she cannot eat one, she tries another) fact is you DO NOT SECOND GUESS GUESTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would add that although the communication was awful Martin the supervisor dealt with originally did compensate for the money paid for room-service. As with so many businesses these days too much reliance on policies and procedures etc, Sad lack of Common Sense anymore:(

Room Tip: Higher rooms usually give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Liam G,

Thanks for your balanced review. I appreciate you highlighting the positives, and the negatives are helpful in terms of helping us move forward.
I will look into the communications issues you raised, and offer my apologies, though I am pleased that Martin did take steps to resolve the matter for you.
Most certainly the team should not be trying to second guess our guests, but more should be offering anticipative service, and I will feed your views back tio the breakfast team.
Despite having completely refurbished or redecorated every room in the hotel, we do have a few cracked sinks which have been repaired in the past but now need full replacement. I have this matter in hand, and have addressed a large number, but with some outstanding. Please rest assured that this is in hand.
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review, and I hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A good hotel going through a refurbishment, great location easy for Liverpool 1 and Albert dock, staff are great and helpful. Stayed in Liverpool Lots of times and I would use this every time. Parking is just around the corner no hassle.

Room Tip: 10th floor great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Longtravellers,

Thanks so much for your review, which is short but sweet!
Delighted to note that you are regular visitors, and will return to us every time.
Just wait until you see our fantastic newly refurbished restaurant and bar, which came back to us this week!
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

breakfast was good...however...

no hot water, was told to wait half hour and it might warm up! cheers then!

mattress was [--] to be fair, big spring down the middle or might have been two beds pushed together

pillows were like rocks

two of the most basic things hot water, comfy bed...how did this place get 4 star? unbelievable

got a beer sent to my room...£4.50

I've stayed in much better premier inns

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oooooooosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear oooooooosh,

Thanks for your review, and sorry to see you were not too pleased with your experience.
We have endured some recent challenges with the hot water and heating, largely down to the recent cold snap, and have carried out extensive investigation into the root cause with our systems.
We have made a number of findings and are currently in the process of actioning them. The issue is not consistent and therefore not usually a problem, but more recently the trend of feedback has increased and therefore we are very much on the case to resolve the matter once and for all.
With reference to the bed, we have recently changed many of the beds to new Hypnos beds, but are also adding mattress toppers to ensure that our guest "Sleep" experience" is enhanced.

Thanks again for your comments and hope you will return to the hotel in future and see the impact of our changes.
Many thanks and best regards,

Alistair Risk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Managed to secure a room here for an amazing knock down price via Last Minute sceret hotel room booking.
However, if I'd paid full price, which is extortionate, I'd have been cross. The clue is it's a Thistle hotel, and Thistle hotels are almost always a little shabby and poor on detail.
This one is no different. Staff at check in were excellent, local and very helpful. Car parking is provided around the corner for only six pounds a night which is reasonable for a city center location, but wi fi is charged, and at a ludicrous ten pounds a night. Tried to buy a voucher for one night but they only had one week vouchers at 29 pounds, so no thanks.
Room confortable if shabby, but wonderful view of the waterfront and ferry.
Ancient single glazed windows so room was very noisy, even on the tenth floor.
An oil heater was in the room indicating that the heating is not great, and indeed I had to use it.
Coffee and tea making facilities nut no mini bar. Called room service and beveridge arrived almost immediately, but there's a five pound charge for this service which is crazy.
Excellent staff again on check out. So basically a mediocre hotel, that's way overpriced, but at least has friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Waterfront view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear WanderingScotty,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am so sorry that you didn’t have a perfect stay, and offer my apologies.
I was pleased to note the positive comments regarding the members of the team you came in contact with, but do note the problems you had with heating and Wi-Fi.
This late cold snap has highlighted some issues with our heating system, and we are currently undergoing a full review with planned expenditure in our systems. The air con / heating controls are effective but not as we would like in very cold weather conditions,. We do have some back up heaters available, but as I mentioned, we are taking action, and also looking at testing the impact on double glazing in some of the rooms to see the impact.
The Wi-Fi is at a price at present, but only at the level as which we buy access ourselves, so there is no profit margin for the hotels in this. We approaching the end of our current contract and with an upgrade to our Wi-Fi "pipe" will soon be going free to all guests.
The vouchers in stock have been run down in readiness for this, hence only the higher tariffs being available, but I will follow this up with the team.
From a pricing perspective, we are one of the best value 4 star properties in the City, but these days price is often driven by demand and therefore at weekend in particular our rates are at a premium. We do work with a number of third parties and indeed our own website offers promotions and special offers, and I am pleased you managed to secure a great deal. The published price you may have seen on property is rarely charged in full, unless we are at very high demand.
I do hope that in future you will see return and see the impact our recent restaurant and bar refurbishment programme.
With many thanks and kindest regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed in the Atlantic a lot now, but this was not very good. First when we got there it had been a really long day, and the receptionist could not find our booking. So after 5 minutes or so she got us a room on the 11th floor, the room was the smallest we have stayed in at the Tower also the air con did not work. The bed was really small and rock hard.
The good points about the hotel. Parking is great and only £6.00 for the night, Breakfast was really nice but very cramped. Staff are always very friendly and always very happy to help. I do really enjoy staying at the tower but will ask for a different room next time..

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can.. They are huge and has an excellent view of the Mersey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Steven L,

Thanks for your review, and sorry that your room didn’t quite meet you’re expectations!
With reference to the bed being hard, I have good news! We are investing in Mattress Toppers to improve the comfort levels in on our beds, and they should be with us soon.
I do recognise that we have specifically two clearly different room sizes, and we are currently working on our configuration to ensure that this is understood at the point of booking.
Delighted to see you will be back, and hopefully you can check out our new Restaurant and Bar which has just had a full refurbishment and comes back on line this weekend!

Many thanks and best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port talbot
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my son stayed here for one night prior to a visit to the university. We had a room with a very long window with a wonderful view! The breakfast was very fresh hot and plentiful, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Alison G,

Thanks for your very kind comments and delighted to note you will be back!

Next time please check out our new Vista Restaurant which returns to us after a significant refurbishment this weekend.

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing