We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will definitely be returning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely be returning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went over to Liverpool for a long weekend away with my other half and I'd heard reviews of the views the hotel had so made sure to request a room with a good view when booking. When we got into the room I was absolutely astounded by the views. Brilliant room, albeit a tad on the small side. Very clean, lovely big bed, excellent facilities and the view really just made it. Apart from the miserable weather this weekend we really loved our stay. Will definitely be back.
Also the young girl on reception when we checked in on Friday night couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola_star2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear lola_star2,

Thank you so much for your very favourable review. My team and I are greatly encouraged by your comments.
Hope to see you back again soon,

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    671
    328
    125
    71
See reviews for
177
756
70
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in the liverpool tower on our way to Lisbon it was a very nice hotel food was very good the panoramic views over liverpool from our room were spectacular .would go back again liver pool was a great place loads to see and do

Room Tip: front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank downman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear downman1948,

Thanks for your kind review which was short but sweet!
Delighted you enjoyed the hotel, and I agree that Liverpool is a great City and well worth a visit!
Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business and have always had a pleasant stay.
Reception has always been neat and efficient (though perhaps more businesslike than friendly and welcoming).
Parking is a little awkward. If you arrive late, then you can park in the multistorey next-door out the back, but because there is no direct connection to the foyer, you will have to lug your heavy bags around 3 sides of the city block. Or you can take a chance by leaving your car in one of the nearby 'waste site open air' car parks overnight (after carefully removing your laptop and all valuables) - but be aware that their charging regime starts very early in the morning and if you are late you could end up with a ticket.
Location is otherwise OK and its only a skip and a jump to the Albert Dock.
The real knock-out is the view if you get the right room. Ones that overlook the floodlit church next door and the floodlit Liver Building are SPECTACULAR.
Rooms can be very oddly shaped (triangular) and this means that they can seem a little small and cramped.
Otherwise the rooms are clean and perfectly servicable throughout -no complaints there.
If you want to mix with the locals, there is a very friendly pub just across the street where the staff and locals are very happy to tell you about why they love their city.
Would I use this hotel again? I do- regularly.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the floodlit church and Liver Building will take your breath away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ravenser,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review; I am pleased that you are a regular stayer! I guess we are somewhat unique in our set up here at the Atlantic Tower, so I will take the "Slightly eccentric" as a positive!
Look forward to seeing you again soon in .2013, when we celebrate our 40th Anniversary with a floor of refurbishment and an upgrade to our restaurant and bar areas.!
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I booked directly and was given the choice of a smoking room which I accepted.
When I arrived the receptionist was robotic and abrupt.
She told me there was no smoking in any of the rooms and if I had to smoke I was to stand outside. O.K but just be more customer friendly about it please. I smoke and it's not a crime...yet.
The room was cold and there was no extra blanket. That would have helped in mid winter.
I didn't want to approach the mechanical receptionist for help. My view was an office block.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear rockinggranny,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
I am sorry to note that the receptionist did not handle your arrival and room allocation well.
We are in the process of changing our smoking rooms to non smoking, officially from the point of refurbishment which takes place in January of 2013. In the meantime we have been trying to prevent the rooms from being used as smoking to give the best opportunity to remove any "smoking" odours. This may have led to some confusion with regards to the booking. I will of course follow up regarding how the matter was handled. So often on these pages my team are mentioned very favourably in terms of their Guest service skills and their friendly approach, so I am disappointed that you were not met with the same.
I do hope you will return to the hotel in future, and look forward to welcoming you back!
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. The room was a decent size and very clean.
Check in was slow but not the staff's fault as their system was down.
During the evening there was a problem with the electricity in our room, so we had to move. The staff were very helpful and apologetic - they even got us another 'corner' room, which was lovely.
Great location, 10 minute walk from Albert Dock.
Only negative was having to go to the bar to get more tea-bags and milk. Not ideal on a Friday evening, plus there was only one poor girl serving!
Would definitely stay here again at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'corner room' overlooking the dock - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duet4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Duet4123,

Thanks for your kind overall review, though it does look a little generous considering the couple of issues you highlighted.
I will be sure to follow up on your comments.
I am however, delighted that the overall experience was good enough for you to see past them and give us a good overall rating.
Many thanks and hope to see you back at the hotel soon,
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a function at the hotel. The hotel was very clean, the room was nice (a bit small and the bathroom was tiny - but it was fine), the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. My only complaint was that they didn't appear to be serving food in the lobby area during the afternoon, even though there were menus on the tables.
All in all good value (£95 b&b) and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor - they have been refurbished and there is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybradycoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ladybradycoen,

Thank you for your kind comments! No complaints at all is always a good place to start, and I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
I note your comments regarding the Lobby service. We do tend to alternate the service areas, depending on what is happening in the hotel, but your point regarding the menus being on the tables is a valid one, and I will ensure that it is acted upon.

Many thanks and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for one night after Xmas shopping,room was excellent fabulous views and staff in the Restaurant were so friendly and helpful we will definatly stay again,we both really enjoyed it.
Breakfast was excellent too.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 10th floor overlooking The Mersey,views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Elaine M,

Thank you for your kind review, which is much appreciated.
I really appreciate you spreading the word on line.
Hope to see you back again soon,
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,082 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#34 of 100 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#20 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Heywood House Hotel
#18 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing