We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ideally Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Firstly, my review (paticurlarly on price) is based on the fact and so view from that i paid just £47.50 for a one night stay (Friday night) as i got a deal through booking.com

Price:
Bargain! for £47.50 i got a double, or should i say king size, bed on the 10th floor with views out overlooking the docks and facing the city centre...
Money well spent and i would have happily spent upto £80-90 for the same room etc.

Facilities:
In the room i got a modern(ish) bathroom, plasma and drink subsistence with available room service.
Admittedly, my stay was a "dump your bags and get back out in the city" type stay and so i never fully explored the hotel.
However, as well as the mentioned room service, there was a bar next to reception and a restaraunt on the 1st floor should you wish to use them!
The hotel itself has a "corporate" feel to it which is probably their target market.

Hospitatlity:
The staff were great, i actually booked in haste as the £47.50 price seemed unbeatable... but what i didn't realise until i got there was that i had booked a twin room (wanted a double), the lady just laughed it off and swiftly upgraded me at no cost - try your luck and save some £££'s! ;)
Also, the next day after check out, i wanted to leave my bags, they were happy to hold on to them and even offered this service with a £100 liability

Location:
Spot on! literally 5 mins stroll out of the hotel down to Liverpool 1/Concert Square (bars) or 10mins to Lime street.
I chose this hotel as i was visiting a friend in uni (john moores) and it cost me £4 ina taxi from there! happy days!
Also close to the station is a costs, a tram link and plenty of shops - not forgetting the docks as mentioned above

One downside of the location is the main road which is quite busy... it is also quite noisy!

Would i return?
Yes and probably will!... not for a romantice stay or anything fancy but for an overnight/weekend in the city i would definitely reccommend!

Room Tip: High Floor had decent views and had been refurbed (10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanMcReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear DeanMcReviewer1,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am pleased you managed to get our special deal for the Friday night. Not often available, but we were trailing the short term offer, and are likely to run similar ones in future. However, don’t feel you need to wait for those. We do see ourselves as the best value 4 star hotel in the City, and therefore our rates are usually highly competitive within our category.
Great to see you had a good stay, enjoyed your trip, and that the staff were great! They and i are greatly encouraged.
Thanks again and best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    777
    381
    141
    77
See reviews for
212
891
83
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked to stay here for a football weekend through a 3rd party, unfortunately the hotel was booked up and we were moved to another hotel within the Liverpool area. However I would like to say that the staff were very helpful. A gentleman named Martin who was working in reception organised a cab to take us to the new hotel, and covered the cost.
I have stayed here at the Atlantic Tower twice before, the rooms and staff are both great.
Looking forward to maybe getting to stay when it is not booked up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Josephine M,

Thank you so much for your very generous comments! Sorry to hear you were one of the few we had to book out, and thanks for being so understanding about it. I am sure Martin will be very pleased to hear how well you felt he handled it! Overall, its great to note that on past experience, despite this hiccup, you would still be keen to return to the hotel.
As I have commented on previous responses, the overbooking was not a policy decision, but one of human error, and we have taken significant steps to ensure this risk is minimised in future.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

booked in april to stay for 2 days in nov and a few days before we were due to stay i was told the hotel was double booked so we were being moved to a different hotel not of the same quality we were very annoyed so cant say what it was like but found the other hotel was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear andreah17,

Thanks for posting your review, and sorry to hear that we were unable to fulfil your reservation.
I would like to assure you that it was not a policy decision which led to you being booked out, but one of human error.
We established the issue some time in advance and were proactive in contacting guests in advance to arrange alternatives. I appreciate it was not ideal for you, and rest assured it was not for the hotel either. We had to pay a significant premium on the rates we had received here at the hotel for the few rooms which we needed to book out. Of course I am happy to do this to minimise any guest impact.
There have been two or three calendar dates which we have unfortunately had issues with this year, and I am pleased to say that they have all now passed and we have a tighter procedure in place to prevent this happening again.
My very sincere apologies for the mistake. I am pleased the alternative hotel was nice, and do hope you will consider returning to us in future.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Over to watch my beloved Liverpool FC and booked the hotel and match package through Thomas Cook. Hotel is very good with friendly affable staff. Room service bloke was a true gent. Rooms are very comfortable Close to Anfield and the Albert Dock. Great weekend enhanced by our stay in the hotel. Can't go wrong with Liverpool...best city in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Andy W,

Thanks for your kind review. Its great to read about how the team here at the hotel helped to make your stay such a good one. I am a firm believer that our people are our biggest asset, and I really appreciate you underlining this point!
I would also agree that Liverpool is the best City in the UK!
Thanks for taking the time to spread the word online.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited for a conference but could not sleep because of road noise and howling wind blowing through the single glazed windows. 11th floor up and in an AA 4* hotel I don't expect this. Rang reception and they had no other rooms and suggested putting fan on. This helped a bit with heating, thank you, but not with noise, if anything added to it. Yes its November, but its also 2012 and double glazing/blackout blinds are available.

If you want to keep your good name, I suggest you update your building.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear akw11,

Thank you for your feedback, and sorry to read you were not satisfied with the Single glazing and its implications.
We do have a couple of floors where the rooms are double glazed, and upgrading the remainder is certainly something I have put on our owners agenda. Feedback on this issue is very rare, but is non the less valid and I will add your comments to support our investment proposals.
I am pleased to say that we have recently done a great deal in improving the Physical product and service levels at the hotel, and I am sorry that you did not experience this when you stayed.
If you are back in town please do contact me personally and I will be sure to allocate you one of our double glazed rooms.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had booked into a hotel across the road, but on seeing the room and dirty corridors decided not to stay. Walked across to the atlantic tower and booked in for the night, then rebooked for a second. Very friendly staff, great food, excellent location, good view from the room and all at a very reasonable price. What more could you want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh00ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear sh00ie,

Thanks so much for your very kind review.
We are very much aware that our guests do have a choice about where they stay, so the fact that you chose to come to us after visiting a nearby competitor is very encouraging.
"Very friendly staff, great food, excellent location, good view from the room and all at a very reasonable price."
I couldnt have put it better myself!
Look forward to seeing you back at the Atlantic Tower soon.
Best regards,
Alistair Risk
General Manager

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really good hotel, close to all attractions, Lovely view of Mersey. First time in Liverpool, loved it! This hotel is an ideal base with helpful staff - got a free upgrade to a 'room with a view'. We stayed on the 10th floor which is being refurbished - they were still painting the hallway when we arrived !! Do have one complaint - the en suite was awful, the refurbishment doesn't seem to include the bathrooms, the sink had been 'painted' and it was flaking off, it just wasn't nice, but i didn't go to Liverpool to spend all my time in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view, even if its pouring with rain, its lovely to watch all the ships and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zan_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear zan_sharp,

Thanks for your review, and pleased to note you had a good stay overall. Its always encouraging when the team get a mention for their friendly and helpful attitude. Makes all the difference!
I note your comments on the bathrooms. Our refurbishment programme has not covered the bathrooms, as they have held up well, though the have had a bit of a freshen up. The issue you mention regarding the sink is currently being resolved. The sink units requiring replacement are no longer available, and therefore we have to replace all the surrounding units as well, which has slowed progress. The job is, however under way, and I am confident that the few remaining sink issues will be completely resolved shortly.
Thanks again for your comments, and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing