We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay in November”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay in November”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We used a discount voucher which included a meal, and Breakfast
Everything top class , esp the meal , good service , and friendly staff
No Complaints

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORMYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Moyesy,

Thank you very much for your kind review which is short but sweet!

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, found the staff friendly and particularly enjoyed the meal.

Many thanks for spreading the word online, and hope to see you back again soon.

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    795
    390
    144
    77
See reviews for
216
913
85
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
640 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel room was very comfortable with a great view of the Liver building and the Mersey river. The dining room for breakfast was good with the full breakfast available. The evening dining room could be better with no great aspect to it - but the staff were excellent and very friendly.
The hotel is very convenient for the Albert Dock, with the whole area having been redeveloped, and also close by is the new main shopping arcade which leads into the established shopping areas.
The car parking is very close by and quite reasonable. Overall, I would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahOB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear cdb49,

Thanks so much for your kind review,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and shared online that you would recommend us. I note your point regarding the restaurant. Our main restaurant, the Vista, actually has a fabulous view of the Pier Head, the Liver Building and the River Mersey, but unfortunately was in use for a private event during your stay. Hope you return again soon to see it in full!

Many thanks and best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

£50 for one night? very small room with double bed, and awful car pack window!
I have stayed before and there are much nicer rooms but are £150 a night! haa.
We are from liverpool and booked a room for a overnight stay returning from manchester on the day of my birthday, hungover we didnt check out on time which they werent happy about but oh well, talk about a rip off! shower very low pressure, no space around bed. plus was the television size, if youd be watching it

Room Tip: a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhiiandDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Rhiandrew,

Thanks for taking the time to post the above review, and sorry to note you did not find the hotel to be of good value, especially at the rate of £50.00.

We do have a number of different room’s sizes, and there is a difference in price between each room type, though rates are very much driven by demand, so the £150.00 you quoted would only be at peak periods. Shower pressure can be affected when there hotel is quiet, in that it takes a few minutes for the pressure to get through the system with 12 floors in total.

I do hope you will look again at our prices and availability as we dio offer some excellent deals in our larger rooms too.

Kindest regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The staff at this hotel have one goal and that is to make your stay the best possible, all staff took the time to get to know you and your needs and did everythign they could to accomodate. There is an excellent view form the 9th floor and easy access to all local attractions. I will definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 9th floor, room 911 had an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Beverley C.

Well, what can I say! Thank you so much for your lovely review. My team and I are greatly encouraged. We do recognise that the guest is at the heart of everything we do, and it is fantastic that you not only experienced this but took the time to spread the word online.

Many thanks again, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed on Business Trip. Issues with Bar not being open/closing early. Bit of a hike into the Centre of Liverpool.
My Room ok, but colleague had to move because of road noise at front of Hotel, which somewhat negated the nice view!
Breakfast Good.
Staff on reception not the best in terms of knowledge or friendliness(especially when we came back & asked why Bar is closed!(incredible)
Car Parking, you have to park round the Corner in a grotty Car Park.(charged) If I had known I would have stayed at a Hotel with onsite parking. Its a pain.
All in all its ok, but if I had to pay.....would look elswhere.

Room Tip: ask abour road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peewee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear PeeWee123,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to note you did not have the best experience, and offer my apologies.

We do have two Bars in the hotel, The Vu Bar and the Vista Bar, on separate floors. At quiet times we do occasionally close one of the two bars to ensure we have some atmosphere in the remaining one, which I am sure would have been open during your stay. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you at the front desk, and will follow this up with the team. The Car park is round the corner from the hotel, nearer than the closest Public Car Park, and is manned during the day and well lit by night! Our charge of £6.00 per overnight stay is highly competitive (£12.00 elsewhere). Whilst I agree that it is not exactly adjacent to the hotel, it is nearby; we do have a drop off area for luggage etc at the front door, and the Car park is in an internal courtyard with Plants etc.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and for the feedback.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't really fault it. Was on 11th floor, views amazing, right in front of the church and liver building. Room clean and cosy and had everything you needed, even iron and trouser press. Reception very helpful. Good central location, about 10/15 min walk from lime street station and minutes away from albert dock and liverpool one shopping. Really enjoyed liverpool, albert dock well worth a visit and spent new years eve in matthew street which had something for everyone. Definitely would stay at the atlantic again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobby68Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear dobby68Lincolnshire,

Thank you for your very kind review above, from which the team and I take great encouragement. I am delighted you would return to the hotel, and hope to see you again in Liverpool soon.

Kindest regards,

Alistair Risk- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here just before new years eve. Just booked a last minute couple of days to do the beatles tour and sightsee. As this was last minute- i got a deal on last minute.com making our room rate go from £177 to £44 per night. However if I had paid £177 I would have been sorely disappointed. My main problem was we left the 'Do not Disturb' sign on our door as we went out one day in a rush to do a tour. When we came back the maids had been in (the sign was back inside our room- so hadn't even disappeared-just hung neatly). Our room was on 7th floor (room 717) and it was very small. There were black marks on the bedsheets- the bed was rock hard, and the covers were not comfortable- so hard more like thin cardboard. Even the toilet paper was budget-i have seen thicker tissue paper. The walls are very thin your can hear next door talking and TV. The windows cannot be double glazed (and even though it was blowing a gale outside-so the windows sounded like they were going to give way), you could still hear the traffic outside- even on 7th floor! Our comment card had already been filled in- but it was for room 703- again another maid blunder! When this is advertised as a luxurious I am guessing not all rooms are this bad??? The location is central so easy to walk to the docks and town centre so that was good. The parking- there is about 6 spaces at the front (which seem always full)- if you are lucky to get a space over night is £6 and then £2 for every extra hour. Otherwise behind the hotel is a multi story for £12 per 24 hours (which was safe and undercover). Overall i would not stay in this hotel again- and would think twice about using Thistle.

Room Tip: avoid room 717.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear UKLady1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to see that your experience was so disappointing, and I offer my apologies.

I hear your comments regarding room 717, and am pleased to advise that a refurbishment programme on the 7th floor has started today, and should be complete in around 6 weeks time. This includes New beds throughout! The vast majority of our rooms have already been upgraded to a very high standard, and with the 7th floor catching up this will give us a great deal more consistency with the product. In the build up to New Years Eve the hotel was very busy, and therefore the 7th floor was used as at maximum occupancy, though we do try to reflect the standard in the price paid.

I will share your comments regarding the do not disturb sign and the guest comment card with the housekeeping manager for follow up.

Thanks again for taking the time to feedback, and I do hope you will reconsider and return to the hotel in future.

Yours sincerely,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing