We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Atlantic Tower.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here for the Grand National weekend, and we booked very last minute so we could only get this hotel available. Read some reviews so a bit worried, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very nice. The staff at the hotel were excellent, and the breakfast was good too. The location of the hotel is very central. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank hattomhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed two nights in this well located hotel by the dockland area.... Check in was smooth and reception staff friendly and helpfull.. Parked the car for £6.00 for the day and was just located at the rear of the hotel.... Easy!..
The room was adequate with safe/tea and coffee/iron and board/seperate hairdryer and lots of cupboard space. The view was over the dockland and was fantastic....
Great breakfast with smiling helpfull staff and well cooked food......
Checkout was organised and painless...... A good all round stay in the vibrant city....

Room Tip: Well located and friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marrmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

For second time have booked here for a Saturday night, because it's cheap, and regretted it. It's stag and hen heaven. Gangs of drunken youngsters. Reception staff are hardened by this, and struggle to provide the right quality of service. Room I was allocated seemed to have had people in before, not dirty but it just didn't seem right (crumpled bed linen was a bit of a clue). Phone didn't work when I tried to call reception. Room tiny, as many are in this 1970s hotel. Reception thought there was nothing wrong with the phone not working.

Noisy young neighbours. Reception denied having any other rooms to move me to until I offered to pay, then an upgrade was available. Shocking but true.

Forget this hotel at the weekend unless you will be so smashed that you will sleep through the noise. It's a shame, during week it's been a decent hotel, but I think it's in a spiral now due to its client base.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L878765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The reception staff was quite rude and when I haned out my reservation to the girl at the counter as she "coudn't" understand my surname, she picked op other documents there and start reading them.

The bedlinen was dirty, smelled like sweat and had stains, I complained at least two times and they were so rude telling me that this was impossible and finally after leaving the building for a fire alarm (no apologies at all) my bedlinen were changed (without apologies)

The breakfast was decent but you can see the dirty room in front of the lifts were the cereals are stored and the british girl at the counter was extremelly rude when I pointed that the bed was dirty and while I was telling me she was ignoring me.

I won't come back

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank talcaparisylondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Owner at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we are most concerned to read these comments and disappointed that your stay was uncomfortable. We will take on board your comments and ensure that the reception and House Keeping teams are made aware of their short fall of service standards on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed here last weekend just for 1 Night. Lovely entrance and reception area, greeted by a very very friendly man on reception who completed a very smooth and quick check in. I left my scarf at reception and really appreciated that we were only in the room for 2mins before we received a phonecall to advise id left it behind and they would keep it behind reception. We had a room on the 11th floor which I am assuming hadn't been refurbished yet, saying that room was a very good size with everything we needed, quite a small bed by hotel standards but lovely modern bathroom and fab views over the Mersey and room was very clean.
Breakfast next morning was exceptional, Room is located on the 1st floor again with lovely views and fantastic selection and really enjoyed it. The staff in the breakfast room were fantastic unlike other hotels where there is a long wait for the toaster the waitresses did this for us as well as our tea and coffee.
Brilliant location to city centre, Albert docks, bus station and Liverpool One.
In short I would recommend this hotel to friends and would definately stay again. I am a travel agent and would also recommend this hotel to customers.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Carley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Owner at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding the Atlantic Tower by Thistle Liverpool. we are delighted to read your comments and was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. we will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed 1 night (Sunday night), the room we had was a "corner" room, it was huge! Good sized bathroom and clean. Car park (6 GBP) was not marked very well, so keep your eyes open when looking for it. King-sized bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Room rate was really good (prepaid on Expedia). Did not have breakfast in hotel, really good breakfast/lunch takeaway spot across the street. If you are looking for breakfast on Albert Dock before 9:30 am, you might have problems! (There is 1 coffee shop though....)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_in_UK113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Owner at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this really positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed you stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I read the previous reviews for this hotel with trepidation and we stayed here as part of a a birthday trip. The hotel was lovely. The room had a lovely comfy bed and we had a view over the Mersey and a decent bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and hot. The best for me was the staff. The most friendliest, helpful people in a hotel that I have encountered in a long time! That said, this hotel isn't really 4 star but a very decent stay in the centre of Liverpool. Trying to find the parking is a little tricky. The actual parking is place is just off Old Hall Lane, follow the road right round between Tesco and Sainsburys and onto Rumbold Street where the parking is between a stone arch identified by two flags. Nice stay and take it as you find it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busyfeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Owner at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments and compliments about our hotel. All feedback is greatly received as we are continuously striving to improve all aspects of the hotels offerings and making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 99 in Liverpool
2,528 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
1,956 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $64 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing