We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure”

The Italian Club Fish
Ranked #28 of 1,679 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The menu boasts some of the finest seafood dishes around. Prepared by the award winning head chef and owner Maurizio Pellegrini and his professional, committed and talented kitchen brigade, all food here is made using only the finest and freshest of ingredients. The tempting range of antipasti (including mouth-watering oysters and scallops), pasta, risotto and mains on offer are made with traditional techniques and reflect a typically Italian passion and love for food. Specials change daily and feature seasonal produce. The Italian Club Fish is a must for people who like the intimacy and friendliness of dining in a family owned, run and orientated restaurant, in pleasant and understated surroundings. Service is of the highest of standards, where the real aim is to please.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I come here quite a lot and every time has been excellent. The menu isn't extensive but they do have specials that change frequently. It's not cheap but the portions are huge so you definitely get what you pay for. The staff are always brilliant and will go out of their way to help. Once I got a free glass of Champagne because I'd been in work all day and my husband was blatantly a bit sozzled after being with his mate all day! Another time we got chatting to another couple who gave us a whole bottle of wine as they had to leave and couldn't finish it! The ostriche lido is to die for by the way. It's small and cosy but you don't feel like you're sitting on top of the next table though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanasbungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew e, Guest Relations Manager at The Italian Club Fish, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoy our food and also thanks for the kind words about the staff! They are a good bunch, and do try very hard! Hope to see you again......soon!

PS...Don't tell too many people about the free champagne!! :)

Andrew Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    138
    41
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
.Wirral
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here many times the last time being 22nd December after finishing off our christmas shopping. We have never been disappointed when dining here the oysters are a favourite and the scallops. The house wine is lovely and the tiramisu is the best dessert I have ever eaten. We can't wait to return and will be booking for valentines night definitely.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew e, Guest Relations Manager at The Italian Club Fish, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lisa!

Thanks for taking the time to write your review! greatly appreciated! I will ensure all the kitchen brigade see your review in respect of your comments about the food!!
Look forward to seeing you for Valentines!!
Kind regards,
Andrew ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sea food Italian”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked into a hotel on the Albert dock. Also booked ahead for an evening meal because finding a decent seafood restaurant can be tricky. This place did not disappoint. Friendly staff and a nice ambience to the place. A little on the small side, but the food made up for it. Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew e, Guest Relations Manager at The Italian Club Fish, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Geoff.... Now what is it they say about small packages!!! Seriously though, really glad you had a really nice time and that you recommend us!
The owners have a real passion about the fish they source, and then prepare!
I will make sure all the team see your review!
Hope to see you again next time you are in the City!
Regards and best wishes,
Andrew Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This restaurant has never let us down. Excellent service, wonderful food, polite service, great ambiance.
Good portions, good prices. Our favourite fish restaurant in Liverpool. One of the best we have ever been too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave151076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at The Italian Club Fish, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dave!!! Thanks for your very kind words!!!! Your review has been pinned up on the staff noticeboard!!! All the staff, chefs, managers and family do try there best to ensure that our guests have a really nice time with us!!
Glad you are a regular, and thanks again for your review!

Have a really nice festive break and we look forward to seeing you again in 2013...in fact hopefully again & again!!!!
Andrew Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic fish restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A pretty, cosy restaurant serving fantastic fish dishes. Sadly, Mr. Fattykat doesn't care for fish, so we don't eat here nearly often enough! - but this was my birthday treat. I started with a glass of prosecco and half-a-dozen oysters (ignoring Mr. Fattykat's horror - they are pretty much his nightmare food) and had squid ink tagliatelle for a main course. Jet-black, garlicky, and studded with cherry tomatoes and clams! Mr. Fattykat had a huge, crunchy plateful of fritto misto - I helped him polish off the "challenging" morsels of calamari (...he doesn't do cephalopods either!). We shared a delicious lemon cheesecake with strawberry ice-cream, and a carafe of decent house wine. This is a feelgood restaurant - every time I've been it's been buzzing and busy, but never feels chaotic. You can almost pretend that you're on holiday somewhere lovely with clear blue waters and fishing boats. My only complaint would be the toilets, but I understand that these are in the process of being renovated - so hopefully all will be sorted soon. Pescetarian heaven!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fattykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at The Italian Club Fish, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks for your delightful and descriptive review! Was extremely entertaining and enjoyable to read, and I have give copy to all the staff!!

I'm loath to call your other half Mr Fattykat.... but glad he had a good time as well, and with a selection of 13 non-fish dishes...then hopefully we can - together- coax him to dine with us a bit more frequently!!

The joys of a Victorian building & ancient plumbing... has led to our need to try and renovate this aspect of the building...... a job which sounds easier said than done! Please bare with us, as this may take a bit longer to resolve!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you hopefully in the not too distant future!
Warmest seasonal regards!
Andrew Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Club Fish also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Italian Club Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing