We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on what you want....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Depends on what you want....”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having stayed in a few Britannia hotels before, I pretty much knew what I'd write in this review before checking in .... "grand old building, could be magnificent in the hands of a decent hotel chain... which Britannia isn't!" And lo and behold, so it is. Much of what other people have said was true for me: the room, whilst adequate, was not too clean and was in serious need of a coat of paint; the bathroom reminded me of my student days, but worse; there was a distinct smell of boiled cabbage in the public rooms and the carvery restaurant was even laid out like a nursing home canteen. Most of my fellow guests were seemingly on coach tours or hen do's, quite a funny combination. Having said that, though, I guess it comes down to what you want. For me, the building, whilst definitely in need of a spruce up, is a stunning piece of history that's worth coming to see in itself. And the point is that, were it to be in the hands of a large international hotel chain who gutted it and brought it "up to the standard" of any generic modern hotel, it certainly wouldn't cost £38 per night to stay there!! Personally I don't find the decor outdated or depressing, I just find it reminiscent of the bygone days of Liverpool's maritime glory. And for that I'd happily sacrifice a few mod cons. I ought to add that the staff I dealt with were cheery, welcoming and polite, the bed was very comfy, and the shower - whilst old - was hot and very powerful. Breakfast was fine, in the Butlins style. All in all, would definitely stay again but would also suggest that if all of the above is not your type of thing, there are plenty of Travelodges within walking distance at the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    1,448
    1,277
    889
    1,346
See reviews for
671
2,117
284
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for one night (fri 17/5/13) after booking as a place to stay and go for a meal in town and explore the city the next day, and we both couldnt really fault it for the price.

We paid £36 for the night without breakfast, the room was big and clean, and as a base to stay and to go out from couldnt have been better. The hotel is huge, and like others have said was grand in its day, and alot of the former charm still remains. The huge room just back from the reception is a far nicer place to sit than the equivelent in the Holiday inn just down the road.

Will definatly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattullo_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on a weekend in Dec 2012. We had booked the room via frequent flyer points and wanted something close to the station as was travelling with my 11 month old. The location of the hotel is great as it is walkable from the train station and very close to the main market area (then Christmas market). The hotel has a grand exterior so you tend to build up a lot of expectation especially if you read the little booklets on the reception about the grand past of the hotel. The first thing that disappointed me was that even though the hotel is supposedly disabled friendly the access via the disabled lifts is extremely inconvenient. The lobby is ornately decorated and so are some of the reception rooms on the ground floor, definitely tells you that the hotel must have been "the place to be" in its days. The rooms are comfortable size but nothing great to talk about- ok if you are only looking for a place to sleep. The bathrooms were clean but the accessories are extremely old (but working). The windows were inconvenient to open and the room felt a bit claustrophobic even though the air conditioning was on. However, the room size is quite decent which was great for us with the baby. The room service was ok. The breakfast buffet (included in the room tariff) was quite sumptuous though there was a long queue. Don't go with very high expectations but with an open mind. This is an old building which has been adapted for modern travellers so cannot be compared to newly built hotels. Wish the owners would invest a little in this price of history, i am sure it will rock.

Room Tip: Not recommended for travellers looking for disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazalvishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A cheap trip with a freind, room large,and comfy, food OK, staff fine, though packed in like sardines alongside coach loads. Spa nice and reasonable though some local members were rude.
Location really handy.
Because of the age of the building it was not really suitable for people with walking problems. Lots of small staircases, a wheelchair lift into the dining room which was so slow it was inadequate and not enough lifts for amount of floors.
Only real moan was that our room was too hot

Room Tip: noisy from nearby pub at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed two nights and I can guarantee the hotel isn't value for money! the staff were very rude and as far as I am concerned the pictures were very deceiving as the hotel wasn't clean, bed was uncomfortable, the TV was bad, I came across trays of dirty mugs by the lifts on various floors, the room was old and only when I complained about the internet I was upgraded to an executive room which looked more like a normal 3* room nothing special at least I was able to use internet.

Room Tip: opt for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageuse329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Wirral
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Where do you start? The junkies on the stairs. The toilets that don't flush. The noise. Really it's a glorified knocking shop. You can probably rent rooms by the hour. Dante's inferno has nothing on the Adelphi. Sleep in a doorway, it's probably a cleaner experience.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing