We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Scunthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Customer Service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night cabaret stay and can only say that from the moment we checked in Customer service from the reception staff was non existent. We had to ask what time breakfast and dinner were served and where also where was the car park which is a public one charging £12 per day. What would have been a reasonably priced stay turned into an expensive On 2 days running our key card would not work and as we were on the 5th floor it was a long way to reception. When we got there there was no apology or explanation.
The entertainment was down in the dungeons and was totally unsuitable for older customers and when we asked about the 99p bar we were told we had to have a wrist band which should have been issued to us on reception. There was no mention of this when we booked in.
Room was adequate but far too hot and the radiators would not turn off and the old windows could not be opened. The food was just ok but chaotic as it was self service.
The public rooms were beautiful but the rest of the hotel is very shabby and there was no loung area to sit as this was being uses for meetings despite there being dozens of other function rooms that could have been used.
All in all it was pretty disappointing and we would not stay there again. Reception staff could do with some training in customer care

Room Tip: Choose a upgraded room rather than the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    1,469
    1,306
    912
    1,382
See reviews for
685
2,162
292
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, hotel was clean but really rather tired . No check-in before 14h although there's a left luggage if you arrive early.
Centrally situated -town centre, shopping, nightlife and Lime Street station for buses to / from the airport all at your fingertips.
The hotel has some magnificent victorian interior architecture but needs a major refurbishment to bring it back to its former grandeur. I stayed in a basic room but had a look in some other rooms including de-luxe, none were as fresh as the sites promotional photos. The staff seemed very friendly so thats worth noting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunsworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

just back from an overnight stay at the adelphi a great listed building with outstanding features bedroom spotless food very good with an extensive buffet for breakfast staff very friendly an all round great experience will be returning soon

Room Tip: front facing rooms for a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philhosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First Visit to Liverpool - An excellent weekend at the Adelphi Hotel staying Friday and Saturday nights.
Its location is close to the railway station and tourist attractions.
Parking for £6 per day is nearby.
The Adelphi hotel has seen better days and now getting old, however the place does have some character and charm with large rooms and public areas. It was clean and tidy throughout.
Spindles Health and leisure (Gym Pool Sauna Steam room) attached was a bonus and also had friendly helpful staff.
The twin room was of a good size with TV, Tea & Coffee and good size bathroom on suite.
Large bath with good shower – plenty of hot water and towels.
Fittings are a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable and a quiet night’s sleep was achieved.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner dance - evening meal good, served hot and with attentive pleasant waiters.
Breakfast is buffet style – again well laid out, good choice, hot and of a good standard.
Bar was ok and drinks reasonably priced.
Would stay again - Good location and value for money

Room Tip: Had a twin room on the 3rd floor - Good size , quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have just returned from the Adelphi hotel after organising the SAA AGM/Dinner Dance for 100 people. I have had nothing but praise from all who attended and who thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The location was excellent, the rooms were something special, and I can only imagine what they must have been like in their hayday. The Staff at reception, restaurant & bars were all extremely friendly and helpful. I would like to make special mention for the following people who helped the weekend go so successfully; Kevin Carter, Conferencing Manager - nothing was too much trouble for him, Jason, duty manager - who catered to our every need, Sarah & Alan, Cromptons Restaurant, who looked after us magnificently on the Friday evening and last but not least Peter Fiddler, Banqueting Manager, his organising of the event ensured that all present had hot tasty food, served with a minimum of fuss. The room was "dressed" amazingly and everyone who attended agreed this was the best function we have ever had. We will definitely use the Adelphi hotel again!! I would also like to thank the excellent DJ Carl for letting me end the evening with my rendition of "Lipstick on your collar" without turning the microphone off!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAAIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

An amazing weekend stay in the heart of Liverpool and close to tourist attractions. The Adelphi hotel with the age in is great condition and showed good chatacter. There were a few things that were tired but is a lovely hotel to stay. Service and attitude of the staff was very good could not do more if they tried. 3/5 for the room 5/5 for service and 5/5 for the conference and dinner with a dance in the evening. Would go again any time great value of money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angharad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here 13th April for a Saturday night out on the town with friends in Liverpool, the hotel reception staff were friendly really efficient on booking in and approachable for any queries.
The room i had was a double on the 2nd floor and although it was a little warm in there it was more than adaquate for comfort needs bed was lovely and decoration fabrics in the room all were very nice although maybe a little tired looking.
Room service was ordered and was very prompt on delivery, this is a ideal situated hotel for lots of attractions in Liverpool and does get busy seemed alot of coach parties and wedding guests were about this weekend all adding to the great atmosphere and buzz in the hotel.
I would stay here again as although Im not a tourist in Liverpool i do think its a great location for going into the local bars and clubs especially when the heels are on :)
Would recommend Smokey Mo's for a very lively bar which does have a dance floor although the whole bar starts to bounce when the right tunes come on.
Didnt sample the breakfast although I do hear it is very good, instead took advantage of the late check out for 11am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravellinglion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,014 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,380 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing