We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Benefactor, But Deserves Visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed March 6, 2013

It would be very easy to be critical of the Adelphi: it is run down and past its glorious, former best; the bedrooms and corridors are looking tired; the reception area can be quite chaotic at times. However, it is quite simply a magnificent building and the public areas are magnificent. The Sefton Suite, for example, is a replica of the Titanic's first class smoking lounge and is worth a look, even if you are not staying at the hotel.

The deal my wife and I had was excellent: three nights dinner, bed, lunch and breakfast with two free drinks each every night at a real budget price. Added to that is the excellent location of the hotel, within a couple of minutes walk of the start of the shopping district and a few more minutes away from the dock area. It is ideally and centrally located if you want to walk the Beatles' trail, which we did, and if we came back to Liverpool, we would definitely stay here again, warts and all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,440 - 4,446 of 6,200 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over night on a trip to Liverpool. The hotel is sited right next to the shops, pubs and docks where all the museums are. The check in was fast and staff were really friendly. The room was really big and spacious. I could not fault the cleanliness of the room at all. Double bed, 2 single chairs, table, dressing table double wardrobe and still plenty space to move around. There was a very deep bath with overhead shower. Water was red hot and was stocked all the complimentary products you would expect. The corridors and lifts were clean and tidy was hotel was really quiet. The staff at the restaurant was very nice in the hotel and and food was great, plenty to eat and plenty of choice. There was a function night on the night we stayed but we were there to go out so not stayed in. I could not fault this hotel at all and I will be returning here again this year with other members of my family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeinateapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend at the Adelphie ... Yrs it's old but the rooms are very true to its character. The decor is amazing. It has so much to see in all of its huge public rooms. It's like stepping back in time and knowing what it would feel like to be gentry of old. The food was very good and all the staff were brilliant. The room we had on the 6th floor gave outstanding views of the city from our window and of the glorious sunset. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would defiantly stay in this hotel again when I next visit Liverpool.
It is central to everything and has fantastic museums just outside of its door.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wennortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just spent Sunday night at the adelphi,

Traditional hotel,clean,food good.Bar prices very reasonable.
Enjoyed our stay would certainly go back

Spoke to some locals who were negative about the hotel, we would disagree.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iysha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed a weekend in February for 2 nights - Room 106. First impression of hotel on entering was very bad- 45 minute queue to check in at 2.30 pm Friday-lobby was wall to wall stag and hen parties - all drinking and loud and taking ages to check in- glass smashed in reception was left for 20 mins before being brushed up- unbelievable. Once the crowds had all gone and we got checked in (45 mins later!!)things improved and the empty lobby looked much more inviting with its marble accents and imposing staircases and lounges. I had specifically asked for a 1st floor room due to reading other reviews about lift problems (which I would now concur with) and ghosts on the 3rd and 5th floors and I was reassured when I saw the room ,whose door opened onto a small hallway which had 2 doors off it - 1 to the bathroom ( huge deep bath with shower, new toilet & sink but lino (bit tatty) on floor ) - definitely a nod to years gone by, but fine. The 2nd door off the hallway/porch led to a large bedroom with high ceiling, 2 dressing table style alcoves (one had a vanity unit/sink) , window facing to the side of the hotel ,marble fireplace, 2 twin beds and an ancient tv which looked like it had been bought in 1960 on a little rickety table - interesting mix of styles . Very warm room at first but radiator did turn off and internal window could be slid open to allow cool air from outside although as a bar and a taxi rank were below window this made it very noisy all night (never mind the sirens /ambulances or whatever, continually). The room lit up well ,contrary to what others have said about their rooms ,with a central light, wall lights above each bed and a seperate large table lamp (which we kept on all night to ward off any nosey ghosts). We did not eat at the hotel at all or view the pool area but the lounge areas and function rooms looked quite grand, in keeping with the outside of the hotel and the marble decor. All in all it was a pleasant enough stay with an acceptable room ( no worse than many other hotel rooms), what seemed to be clean fresh beds, but perhaps less than clean carpet edges and tops of lamps etc. The stag/hen type clientele would be what would most put me off this hotel and the check in timings, which I have never experienced anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CH109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Travelled with National Holiday. When it was time to check in there was a huge queue it got so bad it started to block the hotel entrance. It took over 30mins for us to get checked in & we were given an envelpoe telling us what time our evening meals & breakfast would be. When we arrived at our room I wanted to come straight home. The carpet was stained, wallpaper was coming off no duvet cover on bed, mould around window, Only 1 lamp to light the room the double bed was so close to the very hot radiator I was lucky not to get burnt. Now the bathroom. The toilet wouldn't flush couldn't get the temperature of the shower right. There was alot of noise from outside. I could go on but would be here forever. The 2 good points were the food it was very appetising & a good selection. The other good point was checking out. Will never go back not even if you paid me.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 6th floor stay away from 610
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our flight from LPL was cancelled so instead of going home, we decided to stay here. It was on my bucket list after watching BBC1's series Hotel back in the late 90's. It was very busy in reception when we arrived and took around 20 mins to get to the front of the que. Not the best of starts. It was January and snowing (thats why flight was cancelled) and when we got to our room it was so warm we had to open the windows! Room was ok for what we paid but outdated. We were on a no smoking floor and the room smelt of smoke. There is a £50 cleaning charge so we were right on the phone! Within 5 minutes a very apologetic maid came armed with her febreze. We decided to eat out for our evening meal, and asked the very helpful receptionist (no que now) where we could get some traditional scouse. Within seconds she was on the internet, found a nearby pub & gave us directions & map. In the morning the que for breakfast was out of the restaurant, so we went to a pub around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROCKETRICK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,349 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 100 in Liverpool
5,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: $51 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing