We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty smelly sticky”

The Famous Grapes Pub
Ranked #20 of 198 Nightlife in Liverpool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This was a favorite hang-out for the Beatles and many other rock bands, which also served as a safe haven from their screaming teenage fans.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dirty smelly sticky”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Oh my goodness, how hasn't this place been condemned?
It's the filthiest place I have ever been in!!
2 minutes max!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    62
    25
    16
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No frills boozer”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Friendly staff and decent prices but very rundown. Expected a bit more from the singer who was on, sounded like an X factor reject. Sorry

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Plastic glasses - check.
Tacky carpet - check.
Smelly - check.
Full of lowlife - check.
Plenty of weirdos - check.
Fantastic time - check.

We called in right at the end of Beatle week, so the pub may have been at its 'worstbest' but we had a fantastic time - so it has to be five stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm,stockton on tees
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Visit for Beatle weekend 2013”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been coming to Liverpool for the last 11 years ,and always call in the Grapes for a few drinks, as we are Beatle Fans the front of the Grapes Pub advertises the history of the Beatles etc..which in one small part of the pub there is a Beatles corner which is really good, but we are really disappointed that when it is Beatle week there is never any Beatles music being played,anything but the Beatles, which seems mad when the frontage of the pub is covered in the Fab 4.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Diverse”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well, what can you say? All walks of life in here! Middle aged quiet couples, hen doos, business associates, locals. Great atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grapes Pub also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Famous Grapes Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing