We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got a fine arriving after 10pm”
Review of Everton Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Everton Hostel
Ranked #63 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Paris, France
1 review
“got a fine arriving after 10pm”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had to pay an 15 pounds extra fee (more than the night rate!) because I arrived at 11.50pm (after 10pm), it is something I have never seen in my life and which is quite ilegal.
Moreover I had registered the time I was coming, and I was never said it would be like this.
The only shower i could find was in the lounge and the tube was full of dirty sheets so I could was myself.
The floor of the room was humid because the fridge was licking....
More than 30min walking from the city center.
A disaster

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaetan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    28
    23
    45
See reviews for
2
17
67
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well, I had planned to stay in Liverpool for just one night so I just hadn't worried much about getting the best place in the city. Great mistake. Everton Hostel is far away from the train station and the neighbourhood is safe as long as you walk around it before 6pm. The rooms are not clean and in the room I stayed in, the shower wasn't working. Ok, there was a piano and a chandelier, but seriously: who cares? The place was falling into pieces! There was a noisy party on the first floor and on the next morning I didn't even dare to take my breakfast (or even the fruit, which apparently is free all day long). So please, don't go even if you're on a budget. Go and sleep on the streets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinagonzalez-ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

All Over
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at Everton Hostel. We were given a ride by a local we met on the train, who informed us we were staying in a "scabby dive". It was unbelievably cheap and we just needed a place to crash a few nights and rest on our backpacking trip. We stayed in room 1 at the top of the stairs, an 8 person "en suite room". The person who showed us our room and such was incredibly friendly, Darrel, I believe. When we arrived our room had a few issues: Broken fridge, electricity not working for the washing machine and just generally broken and in disrepair furniture. The shower was luke warm but the sinks scalding hot. Shower was pretty sketchy too. There were people already in the room who said there had been no electricity at all earlier. Wasn't too big of a deal though, they let us use the washer in the common area and said they would look into the fridge deal. We also didn't have any tea/coffee in our room as promised. The beds were ok, able to sleep just fine, clean sheets. Breakfast is white bread with various spreads, cereals, milk, a few yogurts, and coffee or tea. It is a good idea to have something to supplement your breakfast with. We left for most of the next day and returned to find a "fixed fridge". It appears they just spliced the cords together and taped them with packaging tape.... fire hazard? We paid so little we decided not to worry about it. When the internet wasn't working one staff member was very helpful. Overall the staff were helpful and nice, aside from one who argued with us and basically didn't believe when we were having issues. They have lockers you can get a key for free. The first key they gave us already had someone's stuff in it. We were leery of leaving our stuff in the locker after that, but nothing was stolen. We met some really great people at the hostel and it looked like many of the other rooms were much nicer, cleaner, and better put together then ours. The last issue we had was when we were leaving. The roof starting leaking onto my bed. Luckily all my stuff was off the bed but I let the same unhelpful staff member know and got a "no one has ever told me that before!" And obviously didn't believe me... Don't know if they did anything about it but hopefully they did. Overall, I would maybe stay here again in a pinch or on a budget but I would NOT stay in room 1 again.

Room Tip: Would avoid room 1, pay a little extra for a 6 bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Scoop: Only stay as a last resort if everything else is booked up. If you do come be ready for a long commute from a bad location (20 minute walk), poor accomadations, and mediocre staff.

(No I'm not a naysayer, I've only done two reviews on Trip Advisor the other was for "The Ashfield House in Dublin, Ireland which was absolutely incredible and I only have positive things to say about that hostel).

The limited good about this hostel though (the Everton Hostel in Liverpool) was a cool beatles mural,the fact that a bus stop was right outside, and the fact that the staff is so indifferent that if you need to book an unplanned extra night they don't do enough business that it is an issue.

Example: Our second night there, was the last night in England for my group of three friends as such we partied hard (we are a group of 21 year olds who wouldnt meet up for two weeks in Spain), I had my first serious Hangover in liverpool but the one great thing is that the staff was so indifferent they didnt mind that I overslept and checked out two hours late).

Breaking it Down:


Location: Terrible (20 minute walk from Train station, 30 minutes from the heart of downtown with nightlife).

Quality of Accomodations:

Room- average (hostel standards)

Bed- average (hostel standards)

Bathroom - Worst in experience in Europe (zero water pressure, moldy spray nossel and shower, toilet took 3 flushes each time to work)-- TERRIBLE
Kitchen- Good

Staff: Less than average (one pretty indifferent, the other helpful)


We checked in and we were greeted by a rather unfriendly black man who seemed like he simply wanted to finish work an go home. We asked for advice for things to see and do an he had nothing to suggest.

We had to make our own way in Liverpool, not easy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent one night in the hostel (one year again, but I write this review just now), and we were absolutely satisfied with it. The room was clean, the staff was nice and helpful, we could watch the TV and use the internet :) the breakfast here was the best and biggest from all of my hostel-experience. The bathroom is correct. I can recommend this hostel to anyone for some nights during their Liverpool-trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Before we arrived at the hostel we payed the 10% deposit and were informed to pay the rest on arrival . When we arrived the card machine was not working and we did not have cash . They then sprung on us we had to pay a £100 deposit on arrival which we were never informed of .

The rooms are disgusting , cold and need upgrading . The staff were ok , but spoke little english .

The bed sheets were very dated . Our bathroom sink was not attached to the wall .

Also there was 8 of us in one room so when alot of things were plugged in , the electrics smelled like fish which clearly shows faulty wiring .

Our door was also faulty and one evening on our way out to some pubs we could not get it shut which lead to some banging . one girl went for help from the guy I assume was the manager (difficult to tell due to the casual dress code) pushed her out the way and use abbusive / fowl language towards . I find this highly disrespectfuly when the situation could have been easily fixed .

The fires in the sleeping area were also gas , which is not recommended for in sleeping areas .

I do not recommend . I also believe the building needs inspected as it is not up to standards !

Room Tip: Ask for a reciept when paying your deposit . make sure your door shuts , as this is a fire risk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

overall a basic but clean, friendly and cheerful place to stay. It lived up to my expectations and was good value for money. We had the whole top floor as there were 20 of us in our group, we had access to tea, coffee etc whenever we liked. The breakfasts were again basic but there was lots of it cereal, toast, cheese, ham, yoghurts and lots and lots of fruit. The other guests were really friendly which helped make the stay very enjoyable, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Embassie Independent Hostel
#29 of 102 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
#25 of 102 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Anfield
The King Harry Bar & Hostel
The King Harry Bar & Hostel
#69 of 102 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA Liverpool
#9 of 102 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Central Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
#13 of 102 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everton Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everton Hostel

Property: Everton Hostel
Address: 53 Everton Road | Anfield, Liverpool L6 2EH, England (Formerly Think Hostel Liverpool)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Everton Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everton Hostel is ideally located close to Liverpool FC, National Express Coach Station and the central area of Liverpool. The hostel is within (15 mins) walking distance to all major attractions, and interesting cheap shopping of Liverpool, with a bus transport network at your door. In a 200 year old building, we invite our fellow travellers to relax in our entertainment lounge, enjoy a film or sports on channel on Sky TV/DVD room, plays foosball, pool or play-station or read our books and surf our mega-fast internet, in the reading lounge for free. Board games available in the entertainment lounge with complimentary fruit, drinks, teas, biscuits or purchase a beer and enjoy the city views. The hostel overlooks the city which can be viewed at Everton Park 1 min walk or from the top dorms in the hostel. We have a wide selection of dorms; from private apartments to a 10-bed dorms for the really price conscious traveller. Great care has been taken in furnishing our spacious rooms to the highest standard with top quality bunks and secure storage facilities. Guests can enjoy FREE Internet and WiFi access in each shared dorm and entertainment lounge, relax in the lounge or have a drink with friends. A FREE continental breakfast, served in each dorm and lounge 24/7 and included in the price.Our large and beautiful lounge is a great place to meet new friends. Our bar is a great place to hang out with cheap drinks every night of the week!! Both lounge and bar are equipped with large flat screen TVs. Please note we operate a 48 hour cancellation policy. Any damage will be billed to your card or can be paid in cash on the day. We appreciate the importance of clean facilities therefore we'll be cleaning the dorms daily between 11AM - 14:00, making sure everything is spotlessly maintained to standards. Our facilities include en-suite Kitchens (Free washer dryer use) & Bathrooms with hot showers 24 hours a day. Check in from 3PM or leave your bags before - security lockers are available and we can lock your luggage in storage outside the rooms - these cost £2 or free if your brought your own padlock. Check out is 11AM with breakfast anytime in each dorm and the common room, each dorm and common has a fridge stocked daily. Photo ID required at check in - Bookings cannot be accepted by anyone under the age of 18 unless they are accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Towels are not included in 'Linen' but can be purchased or hired from reception. Hostel features include:-Free Individual Lockers and Locks-Free Towels, Linens and Duvets-Free Coffee and Tea, hot chocolate & juices-Free Breakfast, Fruit, Toast, Choc spread, jams, peanut & honey spread, Eggs, Juices, Biscuits-Free Wireless Internet Connection & PC in all shared dorms-Free access to guide books from all around the world-Book exchange-Free Maps and Advice-Free Luggage storage-Free Satellite TV and films-Free CD/DVD Burning Facilities-Free Pool Table/Foosball/Playstation/Boardgames-Free Shower Gel, Shampoo, Soaps, Cheap Beer...If you're going out then take the bus from Queens Square or Taxi from the venue, you can walk 15 minutes and be in the heart of the City. If you're having a really late night then you can catch the night bus back from Queens Square! There is also plenty to do on Concert Square and Victoria Street with The Cavern Club, Empire Theatre, pubs, restaurants and the Liverpool One shopping centre. Just ask our staff for ideas!This beautiful building gives our guests the chance not just to experience Liverpool's history but also to sleep in it! The restoration has added all modern facilities without spoiling the building's character and guests can be assured by our conscientious staff, security key system and commitment to the highest standards. Our mission is to provide comfortable, secure, clean and spacious accommodation to the budget traveller. Don't just see Liverpool's history; live in it for a while! Whilst you are visiting, our home is your home..Where will you sleep tonight? CALL TO CONFIRM YOUR ARRIVAL ON THE DAY BEFORE 12:00 -WE ONLY TAKE (£) CASH AND CARD PAYMENTS. LATE CHECK-IN FEE. If you are a group off 2 or more people we will require a Deposit off £20 Per-Person. When you Check-Out we check the room(s) you stayed in, if everything is OK in the room(s) then we give you your full Deposit back otherwise we have the right to charge you for any damages. Everton Hostel: Cash Payment in UK GBP (£) on arrival. Group cash deposit £20PP on arrival refunded on departure. Late Check-in after 22:00 will incur a charge of £5 for each hour if unable to check-in before 22:00 daily. Check in until 02:00AM (as not to wake other guest). Check out until 11:00AM but can be extended (cost in-cured). IF NO SHOW WE WILL CHARGE YOUR CARD INC CARD FEES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Everton Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing