We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Usually a big fan of Holiday Inn but this one's a stinker. The central heating stuck on HOT. The windows open, but won't stay open as the curtain rail is too close! TV channels poor when working. But kept dropping out (As did radio). It's very tired looking and restaurant average at best and very impersonal. Only stayed there one week but never again.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear ‘Warren1212’,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback we receive and indeed use it to help develop the product and the service we offer.

I was disappointed to see that we had failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. It is also unfortunate that the opportunity was not granted to us in being able to resolve this issue for you before you had departed.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you in more detail and attempt to win back your confidence in the hotel. I am available at the below email. I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,
Barbara
Barbara.liu@hiliverpool.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights and don't regret it, good choise with a perfect location in city centre. Bus from airport stops right outside and you're in walking distance to a number of pubs, restaurants, shops and sights - it's all literally on your doorstep.

Room was spacious and had a small seating area and desk. Bathroom with tub/shower-combination. Only thing to complain about was that the door was anything but soundproof. Woke up a couple of times when other guests walked down the corridor. Not because they made a lot of noise, just a few people talking normally. No disturbance from street or city though, windows were as soundproof as the doors should have been. Also missed having a fridge or minibar in room, but all in all a nice room, spotless, spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was good and the bar offered an adequate selection. Never tried the restaurant, too many options nearby to get a good meal for less. A bit pricey menu, but that's no surprise when comparing hotel restaurants with other restaurants though.

The people in Liverpool are in general very friendly and the hotel staff were no exception, allthough it seemed that the young lady at check-out had left her smileys at home that day. But overall staff were nice and serviceminded all the way.

Nice room, comfy bed, friendly staff and 100% perfect location - it all adds up to a huge recommendation from my point of view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear ‘Karamera’,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to review Holiday Inn Liverpool on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and the location; many of our guests never leave the shopping centre when they come to Liverpool so our location does work quite well.

I have passed on your very kind comments to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon.

Kind Regards,

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the grand national so it was really busy. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We asked at the bar for decaff but they had none- 5 mins later they delivered to the room! Pat the housekeeper helped me get scissors& was so friendly. Breakfast was excellent & all staff were cheery & chatty. It is perfectly situated for shopping, restaurants, bars & transport links. Highly recommend & we will be back! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear ‘Annette P’,

On behalf of everyone here at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, we are thrilled to hear you had wonderful stay and enjoyed our full English breakfast buffet.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your wonderful comments on our hotel and staff, especially Pat (housekeeper). I will be sure to extend your positive comments on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

All staff friendly, nothing too much trouble!! Asked at bar for decaf coffee and they couldn't find any. We were in our room no more than 5 minutes wen they knocked on the door with enough sachets to last the weekend!! Brilliant!!! We asked Pat the luvly maid for a pair of scissors (to make pretend pull in pants from tights!!) and, bless her she had to go to the office to find some. They were with us within minutes!! She must have stopped whatever she was doing just for us!!! Bless her!!
Breakfast!! Lovely food!! Brill service!! Even offered to make us more toast because we burnt ours!! Table constantly being cleared away. Full as a butchers dog!!! FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollimaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear ‘Hollimaker’,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

We are really delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others and our staff love hearing about a guest’s visit.

I have passed on your very kind comments to Pat (housekeeper) and the rest of the team and we look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed here for night as was attending a funeral in liverpool,was very happy with the price,happy with the location,rooms,staff,everything.
have not got a bad word to say about this hotel.
rooms spacious,very clean and tidy and loved it that we had a bath and not just a shower.
defo will recommend and will be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Nicola
Thank you for your fantastic review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre; it is very kind of you.
It is particularly pleasing to learn that you will recommend us to others staying in Liverpool and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to visit in the very near future.
Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here whist on a business trip to Liverpool. Hotel is in a very good location right in the heart of the city opposite Lyme Street rail station and very handy for shopping and tourist sites in the center of Liverpool. There is a multistory car park next door and if you take your parking ticket to reception to be stamped it will cost you £6.00 for overnight stay [as compared to £13.00]. The staff were very pleasant and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant.The lounge bar was pleasant and comfortable.I have stayed at many Holiday Inn hotels around the country but this was the smallest room I have had to date. Having said that it did what it was supposed to do and that was give me good nights sleep after a long business day. The room had mostly everything needed like kettle for tea and coffee, flat screen tv which included Sky sports, bathroom was small but with plenty of clean towels. All together the room did the job but was let down by the soiled window netting [and that is a man noticing that]. If I had been on the tv program 'Four in a Bed' I would have marked the hotel down for that, surely not the regular Holiday Inn standard. Breakfast was good but evening meals are limited although the fish and chips I had went down well. Taking everything into consideration I would stop over again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the train station, see a lot more going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear 'valleypieman'
Thank you for placing your review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated.
I was very pleased to read your great comments regarding the pleasant and helpful service you received from members of our Reception and Restaurant teams. I have ensured that your compliments have been forwarded to those responsible.
Regarding the net curtains in your accommodation, these have now been replaced.
Having looked through your reviews from previous hotel stays, it is lovely to see that you are a loyal guest to IHG hotels. We, therefore, look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Hotels & Resorts on many future occasions.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted to visit a family member at The Royal Hospital over Easter,but the room prices over the weekend were sky high.On the monday most of the prices were less than half,so we looked for an overnight stay.
We normally drive and stay at places by the Albert dock area,as we were going on the train and parking was not too important,we looked at places near Lime Street.
The Holiday Inn seemed ideal,so easily on lined booked it.
Straight oppisite the Railway station,friendly person on the booking desk,clean room,nice and quiet.
We did not use the bar or resturant,but on walking around it all looked in good order.
When we checked out I asked about parking,they said just park at the public car park (attached to the inn) take a ticket,because you were stopping at the inn you will get 1/2 price.
We will probably stay again if there were any deals on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear John
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete your review following your recent stay in Liverpool whilst visiting the close-by Royal Liverpool Hospital.
We are very pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future. For best deals, have a look at us online.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,258 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime Street, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $81 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel is ideal for both Premier League football teams; Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison Park, and for Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have free Wi-Fi and views of the city and the fabulous surrounding architecture. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE shopping and entertainment centre. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the newly refurbished restaurant, bar & lounge with fabulous views over the St. George's Quarter. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents and there is free wi-fi in all areas. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent St. John's shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing