We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$125
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$103
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$156
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$133
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$125
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aloft Liverpool(Liverpool)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$106
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,505)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveler rating
660
575
187
55
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
575
187
55
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopposite lime street stationcity centrest johnsarriving by traintrain stationcar parkempire theatretwo double bedsperfect locationreception staffalbert dockchecking outtea and coffeebreakfast was excellentfull englishfollowing morningcavern club
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Liverpool for one night and decided on this Holiday Inn because of the central location and the near by parking at St Johns shopping centre which is only £6 for 24 hrs when staying at this hotel - you just need to get your ticket stamped when checking out.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and check in at 3pm was quick. We particularly thought Katie had excellent customer service skills at breakfast.

The room was fine - nothing special but clean.

Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice.

Would stay again for a quick getaway but not for a special occasion.

If you are travelling to Liverpool by train then this hotel would be ideal as its just over the road from Lime st station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemountain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear 'Bluemountain69',

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm pleased to see that you had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and decided to single out Katie in our restaurant for her excellent service. I have passed on your kind comments to Katie and rewarded her for her excellence in service.

We work very hard at the hotel to provide a great base for our guests to explore all that the City has to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend, when we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming. When we arrived in our bedroom it was very clean and presentable, however on closer inspection there were dents in the wall, shabby leaflets and marks on one of our pillow cases. I thought these small things shouldn't have been present due to the amount of money we paid. On a more positive note, the hotel is in a great location and is close to everything you need and we were not disrupted by any noise. The breakfast was also very lovely, however we had to pay extra for this, but was worth the money. We were also able to keep our luggage at the hotel after checking out free of chrage which was very helpful. I think the location of this hotel is it's best selling point.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear 'Abi G',

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experiences at our hotel in Liverpool.

I'm glad to see that you found our staff to be welcoming, our rooms clean and breakfast great value for money.

When booking a room at the hotel we have a number of different options available to you based on either advanced purchase rates, best daily rates which each have the option of inclusive or non inclusive breakfast. Should you choose the non inclusive breakfast offer then this can also be purchased on the day at a rate of £7.50 per person for our full, all you can eat breakfast buffet. We believe this is offers great value considering the large choice of options available from the buffet.

We always recommend booking directly with the hotel for our best rate guarantee and through our website hiliverpool.com

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not be put off by the look of the hotel on approach. Must admit I was hesitant when saw the shopping centre but had an excellent stay. The room was very clean with two good nights sleep had by all of us. Could not fault the breakfast, it was more than sufficient but did not have any evening meals in the hotel. After the hectic nightlife of Liverpool, it was nice to relax in the bar area for a quiet drink before turning in for the night. Only feedback is not consistent service in the bar. Friday evening was excellent and the bar-man could not do enough for us - even making a coffee however on Saturday night was told the coffee machine was switched off so no hot drinks available. Can recommend a stay here and will be returning as visit Liverpool regularly due to the university.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hattieNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear 'HattieNorthwest'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated and good to see that you don't judge a book by it's cover!!
We are very pleased to read your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and our ability to offer you a restful night sleep followed by a great breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.
My we apologise for our inconsistency in bar service. Please rest assured that we will use your feedback constructively for the benefit of future guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool for many future visits.
Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms a bit dated but spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel, bed and pillows perfect for a good nights restfull sleep , Located across the road from Lime street train station . Had a good full English breakfast that set us up for the day exploring Liverpool , great pub across the road for a relaxing drink . Staff all very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEVIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear 'Kevin H'
Thank you for placing your very kind review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated.
We are particularly pleased to read of your compliments for our staff, cleanliness and great breakfast. Togther with being able to have a good nights sleep we hope to have put ourselves firmly in your mind for a return visit to Liverpool.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for two nights on business, and chose the hotel for its great location - just a few steps away from Lime St station and city centre facilities. The hotel is clean and pleasant enough with a nice bar overlooking the city. However, the staff, although friendly, were a bit slack. I often had to loiter around waiting for someone to appear, and while eating in the bar I was a little disturbed by a group of staff who'd gathered around a colleague, showing off her party dress - fine for the staff room but not front of house - no matter how quiet the place might be. The bar food was adequate but overpriced for the standard. Room service meal was very poor - dried out as if left sitting under a heat lamp for too long and the tray contained no condiments or napkin. Acceptable accommodation and nice bar but better eat out!

Room Tip: Front rooms would offer best view across the city. Right side rooms also provide a good view of the city skyline but have the disadvantage of being above the ugly flat roof and ventilation shafts to St John's Precinct.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear 'JPJE'
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn of your kind comments regarding our location, cleanliness & friendliness of staff.
I am sorry for our shortfalls in food & beverage service and I will be following up your invaluable feedback accordingly.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool on many future occasions.
If I may be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews