We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night out with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Reception and concierge so helpful and friendly.excellent customer service made our stay in this lovely hotel very memorable.a special thank you to Michael and Frank.great location,food and service.there was no problem checking in early and we could use the gym and spa after we had checked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherinejoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at the hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with our staff, Frank and Michael were very happy with your comments about them, its always a real boost for staff when they are highlighted for their great customer service.

I am very glad you were able to use our great leisure club here at the hotel.

I hope to see you and your party return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

we stayed here November 8th to 10th, our welcome from staff was friendly and professional, we were very pleased with our room overlooking the dock, spacious and clean with everything we needed and more, not that we spent much time in our room as we were there to enjoy the sights, pubs and food. it is close to city without being in the thick of it. ten minute walk and you are in the centre. albert dock is a short walk away past the liver building. we love Liverpool and would stay here again, we didn't have breakfast as we thought it was a lot to pay on top of room price, so we ate elsewhere, there is plenty of choice anyway just a short walk away. didn't use the pool as we spent all our time out but it looked lovely, our friend went for a swim and sauna on first day, he said it was clean and warm and not busy, I would recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring this wonderful city. can't wait to return.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking dock and not main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review on the hotel following your recent stay.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much and were happy with your room , cleanliness and location of the hotel.

Its always nice to see when our guests are so happy with the city as well, Liverpool is a great place with plenty to see and do.

Just like you cant wait to return, we cant wait to see you back here again.

Hope to see you soon at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is in a great location close to Liverpool 1 and the Albert Dock. The staff were friendly and room was a good size. The breakfast while offering a good choice could be improved upon, a minor criticism that would not stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be in such a great location, we are very central to the hot spots of the city.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the choice of breakfast and while it may not have been to your standards, you would return.

It is always great to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay that much that they will come back here, its a real boost for the whole team here.

Hope to see you in the future at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Situated next to the Liverbird building in Princes Docks the hotel is ideally situated for exploring the docks and Liverpool city centre – both of which are a few minutes’ walk away – with the added convenience of being able to park your car on site for a reasonable fee (£20 for the weekend Fri – Sun).

The hotel has a modern feel and buzz to it and although the room (std double, room 325) had no ‘wow’ factor it had everything you need and furnished in a practical manner with plenty of storage and shelving. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the sound proof excellent (we were facing onto a 6 lane dual carriageway but heard no traffic noise) so we enjoyed a really good night’s sleep for both of our nights.

The breakfast was really good. The usual hot and cold buffet offerings together with hot porridge, but the quality of the food and the way it was cooked put it above other hotel buffets. “The best breakfast in Liverpool” boasted the sign – well I haven’t tried any others so can’t say whether it is true or not but the others would have to go some to beat it!

Unusually all the hotel staff seemed to be local with lovely thick Liverpool accents and all very professional and friendly.

All in all an ideal base for staying to explore what Liverpool has to offer.

I didn’t try the leisure facilities but the gym looked really well equipped.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Nigel,

Thank you for such a great review on the hotel from your recent stay.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay here with a really good nights sleep.

We pride ourselves on having 'the best breakfast in town', so its brilliant to see that you enjoyed the choice and standards that we provide for our guests.

The hotel has a great location, and I can see that you found it an ideal base while exploring our great city.

I hope you return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A group of us came here on a Saturday for a birthday and we had a great time. Friendly staff when checking in, they even let us check in earlier as we arrived early. The rooms and facilities were lovely, the breakfast was amazing so much choice! I was even able to order a sandwich to my room when we came in after midnight! we also relaxed in the pool/jacuzzi/sauna the next day, all part of the room cost! One of our group complained about a disturbance in the next room - some people were having a party through to the morning, although the staff dealt with the complaint right away and knocked money off the overall bill. Very good customer service, overall everything was brilliant!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Carly,

Thank you for this lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am so glad that you had such a great time here.

I do apologise that you were disturbed by noise of another guest, but I am happy to see that this was quickly resolved by our reception team.

Our guests comfort and overall experience is paramount to us and therefore we work hard to ensure this.

Hope you return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a celebration with friends for our 50th birthdays, and from start to finish the staff were all wonderful. The hotel itself is really nice, no fault with anything, it is comfortable, clean and very well appointed, but it truly is the great team of staff who make this place special. When we got to our rooms there were birthday cards and chocolate cakes for us, such a lovely thoughtful thing to do, and totally unexpected! Liverpool is a special city, and the staff at the Crown Plaza exemplify this!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuyArtOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review on the hotel from your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you all enjoyed your birthdays here at the hotel, and that you liked the cards and cake I left for you all.

Your 'no fault with anything' comment was brilliant to hear, and all the staff were thrilled about this. We do have a great team here who work immensely hard to ensure all guests have a great stay here.

Thank you again, and I hope to see you at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed over for one night at the Crowne Plaza in Liverpool, who were hosting my wife's ex-company pensioners' dinner/dance. Our reception was friendly, professional and speedy.

The hotel's rooms were everything you would expect from a large, modern hotel group. The bathroom, with the exception of a cracked bath panel, was clean and modern with a full selection of complimentary toiletries and ample towels. A single dressing gown behind the door and only one chair at the table gave away the fact that this might not have originally been a double bedroom. With plenty of room to circulate, there were no complaints. It was interesting to see that the hotel boasted a selection of bed pillows that were available, varying in fillings and texture.

The view from our window on the fourth floor was stunning. We overlooked the new liner terminal and could see over the River Mersey to the docks, towns and hills of the Wirral Peninsular. As evening came, the lights of the waterfront became mesmerizing and we could have stayed transfixed if we hadn't had a reception to attend. The only drawback to this room was the incessant low-frequency noise of a large fan outside the window. This ran continuously but did not disturb us too much through the night.

Drinks in the bar were the usual overpriced hotel rates but it was only to be expected. However, young male bar-staff were distracted by female bar-staff and I had to remind them to complete the pouring of my Guinness.

With over 200 guests sitting down to dine, the hotel staff coped admirably and the courses were served without event. My wife's pr-request for a gluten-free option was catered for although the sweet variation was nearly forgotten. Cabaret and dancing were the orders for the rest of the night. We never got to use the spa but, from previous visits when I did, I can confirm a clean and adequate facility.

In the morning, full English buffet breakfast was available and started the day well with a large selection of choices. The standard of delivery was good and each item was cooked at short notice and served up fresh and hot.

Booking out tends to be speedy but the payments for the car park could be misinterpreted and leave you with an unwanted extra. Make sure you ask reception on arrival to make parking charges clear. In all, it was good value for money considering its aspect and proximity to the city and its tourist attractions.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms could suffer from air conditioning noise and south facing rooms can provide superb r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a brilliant review on the hotel following your recent stay.

I am so pleased that you and your wife and such a great stay here, and also enjoyed your evening event.

I would like to thank you for the small points you have raised, as all feedback is gratefully welcomed and we use this to improve our services and standards.

There is a wide choice for breakfast so I'm glad you agree and were happy with the standard that we provide for our guests.

I do apologise if the car park charges were not explained to you, I have spoken to reception to ensure we are telling guests on check in, they are also on our website too if you ever need to know them for any future reservations you may have here.

Again I would like to thank you and I hope to see your return in the future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cliffe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,910 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $98 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing