We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed at hotel with my two children in one room. Great price and good standard of accomdation even included a free breakfast. Staff good, polite and helpful. Location great for docks, Liverpool eye and Liverpool one. If you drive park in the AAC car park at the echo arena just turn next right after turning for hotel. You get 25% off with ticket from hotel only 9 quid for 24 hour and close to hotel. Pizza express right opposite was expensive but good if you use tesco vouchers

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed your recent stay with us, I trust you had a nice time in our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I took a friend to Liverpool as a birthday present to explore the Beatles. As it was a gift, I was hoping for a slightly more luxury experience. You enter the hotel through a slightly shabby hallway and some fire doors, then have to take the elevator up to the 2nd floor. The hotel reception looked a bit boring. Some designer touches would help. Don't get me wrong: if I was travelling alone this would all be fine, but I was hoping for something more "special".

The room was nice. Spacious, clean, comfortable, with some nice vaulted ceilings and exposed brickwork. For some reason or other the "standard" HI furnishings didn't really match the rest of the decor.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing: bland and tasteless scrambled eggs, no bacon, often out of sausages and cutlery, mediocre coffee.

If you're looking for a decent place to sleep, this is fine, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Sorry to hear that the hotel didn't meet with your expectations, as a limited service hotel the Holiday Inn Express brand prides itself on being simple, smart and spot on. IHG has a broad spectrum of hotels ranging from Holiday Inn Express right up to the Crowne Plaza and Hotel Indigo brands - there really is a hotel style to suit every need and occasion within our brands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I usually rate higher than * rating because I enjoy a break away. I did like the room decor, shower was hot, location was excellent and I loved the building.
Service was good and friendly.
Low points (but wouldn't stop us from returning) ...
Heard every noise by neighbours
Room very dark even fully lit
Breakfast (hot only) was empty, asked if it would be refilled but only sausages were. Cold selection excellent but hot definitely poor.
I would return and a bonus we got 25% off parking.

Everywhere is easy walking distance.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank josienpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are pleased to hear that you would return to the hotel. We do use all feedback constructively to further improver on our quality and service standards so please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Brilliant location for all attractions. Rooms are amazing with fab views. I expected the breakfast to not be up to much as I had read the reviews previously but it wasn't as bad as some people have described. It was just obviously done on a minimal budget.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank scambrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really do appreciate your comments. Pleased to hear that you loved the view from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have stayed here before. Its a quality hotel with fantastic rooms in the Albert Dock.....good nights sleep and was looking forward to a decent breakfast......last time there it did the trick and there was plenty on offer from the buffet.

This time it was a massive let down.

Only one toaster working....queue's.......only one hot drinks machine working .....queue's.....scrambled egg was some atrocious tasteless egg powder stuff....no bacon...grey rubbery sausages.....tasteless beans.....massive let down.

I would stay there again if I had to.....but get your breakfasts sorted out please.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Please accept my apologies if you service levels didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion, as you have stayed with us previously you will know that this is not our usual standard. I hope you will return to the hotel during your next visit to Liverpool so we can restore your faith in the hotel and brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights over the Christmas Holidays and checked in really easily. The hotel is situated on the Mersey and our room had a lovely view of Albert Dock.

The room was very clean and the facilities were what you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express.

It was situated close to the town centre and there are lots of museums nearby.

The only downside was the breakfast as it was very busy and they run out of quite a few things. So there was no yohurt, pastries or eggs and sausages. Whilst they did replenish the eggs, there kept saying the sausgaes were coming but we waited half an hour and still no sign of them so we gave up waiting. It was a bit disorganised at breakfast.

Room Tip: Get up for breakfast early in the hope there is some left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for leaving us a five star review, we really do appreciate it.

The breakfast team work hard to keep the buffet fully stocked at all times, apologies if on this occasion our breakfast was not up to standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a pleasant surprise! Location is excellent. Lovely welcome after a long tiring day, good rates, breakfast fab! Rooms with a view over the dock or Mersey free WiFi - so relaxing Very helpful friendly staff :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the dock or Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review - pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $82 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing