We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
New Yorker and Mumbaikar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short stay but comfortable”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a conference in LIverpool. The rooms are decent, clean and you get a feel of being in Beatle-land through the lilting music played along the Albert Dock. The area was bustling with activity even during the late night which makes it safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchitectnMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    601
    227
    40
    35
See reviews for
292
562
55
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

i had paid for two nite and in the mid of the nite like 2am fire alarm was activated and we had to leave the building whilst the fire brigade checked it out it takes more than an hr but not gonna blame tat...anyway it was noise at nite as theres a pub just rite beside out hotel even im stayin like 7floor away i still could hear the noise coming all the way dwn after the fire alarm went off we just dun feel safe to stay in there anymore and i had told the gal over counter why we are not stayin for another nite she didt say much and didt even bother to keep their guest at ease for stayin safe wiv them and theres no recovery done by them least a refund or wotever nth... kinda disppointed with their reception staff... Do not stay at this hotel if you need peace and quite, theres no room service... dun think i'll be bk again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoeTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
It has been some time since we had a fire alarm activation overnight, I'm unsure from your review when you stayed with us however please accept my apologies for the alarm activation but as I am sure you can appreciate where fire is concerned the safety and wellbeing of our guests is paramount. The team are highly trained to deal with these situations, if you have any concerns regarding the evacuation which were not addressed at the time please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and discuss this further with a member of the hotel's management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Lovely reception staff, friendly and helpful . Good location - You have to pay for parking - 3.50 overnight from7pm until 0800 - then had to pay from 0800 - 0900 so we could have breakfast - Hotel website does not make that clear.
Rooms spotless - very comfortable but sadly, the paper thin walls mean you can hear next door watching TV, laughing and all sorts of other things….. - Then when next door got up at 0530, you can hear them walking across the floor boards, opening and closing drawers and using the hair dryer - needless to say - did not sleep much. However, reception very good when I rang them and asked if they could ask the room to turn TV down - very prompt on that.
Breakfast - don't bother…..Tinned clementines and grapefruit with yoghurts. Insipid looking scrambled egg with baked beans and burnt sausages with dubious origin - Not something to pay or get up for - very disappointing - Only went for a UNi visit and wished I had stayed at one of the airport hotels which were cheaper and offered better value for money.

Room Tip: You need ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our free breakfast. As with all Holiday Inn Express hotels we offer a substantial continental breakfast plus three hot items of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans.
With regards to parking the hotel does have two parking options available - the pay and display on Albert Dock which is where you parked or the multi-story at the Echo Arena where you pay on exit and the hotel has discount vouchers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for a Saturday night treat after seeing mrs brown boys!!!! Greeted in reception by friendly staff. Room lovely view of Mersey!!! Comfortable beds although disappointed to see single beds :/(. Returned from show and retired to bed but had little sleep due to noise from pub downstairs then people returning from nights out. Just settled when women again @5 with laundry people. Breakfast horrendous. Totally disappointed. Scrambled egg (mush) sausage (tasteless) and baked beans. Uch!!!

Room Tip: Chose rooms with view of mersey. Have breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay. We do have a team of staff available 24 hours a day to assist with any guest problems, I trust if this was bought to their attention the situation was rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went to Liverpool for a city break and Christmas Shopping. Albert Dock is great central location and would recommend Holiday Inn Express. All staff were lovely and made us very welcome. Also accommodated us with an early breakfast due to our departure time. Given extra Tea/Coffee on request. Room very clean and towels changed frequently. Bed very comfortable.
Secure entry/exit for guests was a bonus.

Room Tip: Room facing the docks gives you nice view but to other side is the Big Wheel and as beds are comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hope you managed to get all your Christmas shopping done! With Liverpool One just a few minutes walk from the hotel and the excellent array of shops Liverpool is now a great shopping and leisure destination
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We try to get the same room every time we visit this hotel as it has the most incredible view across the Albert Dock to the three graces. Our room was spotless with crisp white sheets & a lovely clean roomy bathroom. Breakfast was great, really hot with plenty of choice, something for everyone. The staff at this hotel are in our experience always most helpful & pleasant.

Room Tip: Try & get one with a lovely view across the Albert Dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueandWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Great to hear from some of our regular guest - pleased to hear that the team managed to accommodate you in the same room so that you could enjoy the wonderful view of Albert Dock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a very nice looking hotel on the inside, very unusual layout for an Express, it is in the old dock buildings on Albert Docks and the rooms are huge with brick ceilings that are a great feature, it is close to the city centre, about a 5-10 min walk from Liverpool One and there are plenty of restaurants and bars right next to the hotel. The room I had gave a lovely view over the water within the Docks. It around £65 for a night I thought it was great value. Parking is a bit of a trek over by the Arena but you do get a discounted rate if you tell them you are parking there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are a unique Holiday Inn Express as the building is Grade I listed - as part of the Albert Dock complex we really do benefit from our location and historical listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing