We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

just got back from my first trip to liverpool it was amazing this hotel was really good very central and the staff was lovely very clean and the service is excellant we had a lovely view over the albert docks lovely breakfast in the morning discount if you park in the echo car park as well we had a fire alert on saturday night and they dealt with it cool calm and collectively
if you go to liverpool go on the fab four taxi tour its amazing what they tell you definately go back to this hotel very goog to all concerned

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your first visit to Liverpool - hopefully it won't be the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. It's idealy situated for everything going on around the Albert dock area. Rooms were full of character with brick ceiling etc. very clean and comfortable bed. Towels changed on a daily basis. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was given a map of the area and informed of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. I noticed there was even a card on the reception desk saying welcome to all attending the echo conference. Touches like this make a difference. I would certainly recommend this hotel and intend to return with my partner for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey111144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Pleased to hear that you would recommend the hotel to others and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday evening, as we were going on a night out with friends at the Albert Dock. This hotel is in a brilliant location for anybody who is either visiting the dock/Beatles Story or attending an event at the Echo Arena. It's also only a 5/10 minute walk from Liverpool One and the city centre bars/restaurants.

Our room was good, pretty basic, but with a great view across the dock to the Liver building. We didn't hear too much noise when we got back, which was surprising for a Saturday night stay!

The breakfast choice was also good, we didn't eat much but there was a good choice of options.

I'd definitely consider the Holiday Inn Express again if I didn't want to stay right in the centre of Liverpoo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us & thank you for taking the time to post your feedbac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and in a perfect location, , ,clean and staff very helpful highly recommend staying here ,,, no issues with anything breakfast was what you expect and rooms were well kept with towels and changed every day

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank eltel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for leaving a five star review, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a brilliant location for exploring the Albert Dock area and the nearby surrounds. Really close to the Beatles Story, Museums, Tate Gallery and the Liverpool wheel. The hotel rooms are a decent size and some have wonderful views. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only disappointment was breakfast - dreadful coffee, croissants and the cooked breakfast is pretty average. Wasn't quite sure what spices the fruit was! But as a hotel in the right place its excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the docks and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and made the most of the excellent loaction of the hotel by exploring the local area. I will ensure that your comments regarding breakfast are passed onto the breakfast team, we will strive to make improvements in this area whilst working within the brand standards of Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My fiancé and i stayed here Sun 15th Sept.

Really easy to get to in the city centre if you're driving.

Car parking is available at the Liverpool Echo arena multi-storey car park opposite, just follow the road round to the left and its situated about 5 min walk away from the hotel. Parking costs £10 for 24 hours, but dont forget to ask for a voucher from the hotel reception on checkout and you get a 25% off voucher from the parking. There is also parking bays directly outside the hotel, but these cost abit more.

Rooms are clean, spacious and well presented but also nice touch that you can see the original brickwork from the 1870's from the building which was the docks former pumphouse. Flat screen tv, tea making facilities, towels, choice of pillows all provided as standard. Beds comfortable. We also had a room with a sofa bed which helped having somewhere to sit and chill out.

Hotel is around a 10min walk from the city centre main shopping area, but around the hotel there are quite a few bars/restaurants if you dont fancy walking too far, both on the inside of the dock and outside also. The hotel has an offer on with the restaurant (pan am? i think) next door where you get a certain percentage off of your bill if you present your room key, incase anyone is interested.

Complimentary breakfast is also provided 7-10am, toast, croissants, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages etc... all enough to line your stomach.

Overall i was very pleased with this hotel and when we return to liverpool i will definitely stay at this hotel again.

10/10.

Room Tip: Select the room with sofabed if possible for abit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and I am pleased to hear that you will be returning on your next visit to Liverpool. We always aim to deliver the highest levels of customer service, the team always appreciate positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a business conference at the ACC, which is right opposite the hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful listed building, lots of exposed brickwork and cobbles everywhere. Check-in was a breeze and the girl at the desk offered a map of Liverpool and approx. walking distances to the shopping centre and local attractions. My room was huge and very clean with a view over the small quay. The bathroom was also big and clean with a shower (no bath but I prefer that anyway). I have 2 negatives about the room; the lighting and the bed. The lighting was really bad with just a ceiling light above the door, one wall light and then a desk lamp and 2 bedside lamps. Although the window was huge, the only mirror in the room other than the bathroom was in a dark corner, so it made getting ready kind of tricky. The bed was comfortable but sagged virtually to the floor whenever I sat or lay on it. Not enough to put me off staying again but just areas for improvement.

Breakfast is included free of charge and consisted mostly of cereal, toast, a few different types of pastries and cooked breakfast, plus juice, tea and coffee. Perfectly adequate for me as I'm not big on breakfast anyway, but I did hear people in the bar moaning that it lacked choice etc. The staff at the hotel are fantastic, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble; I don't think I've come across such nice people as I did in Liverpool. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the Echo/ACC centre, about 5 minutes walk from the shopping centre and 10-15 minutes in a cabin from Lime Street Station.

There are several nice restaurants and bars close to the hotel (I think it was called the Britannia Pavillion) and part of the Beatles Story Exhibition is right next door. There are also several museums within walking distance along the waterfront. I made a pilgrimage to Mathew Street to see the Hard Day's Night Hotel and The Cavern Club, which again took no more than about 10 minutes. The shopping centre is huge with loads of shops, bars and restaurants, all walking distance.

Overall this is a great hotel with big, clean rooms in the perfect location with brilliant staff. I didn't have nearly enough time to see all that Liverpool has to offer so I will definitely be back and I won't hesitate to book this hotel when I return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your recent stay with us, other travellers will certainly find it useful. Pleased to hear that you will return to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you when you next return to Liverpool.
We use all guest feedback constructively to further improve on service and qualtiy issues and there are certaily some comments which we can work on from your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $78 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing