We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just come back from a 2 night stay here and I loved it. Ok the hotel is basic but the location could not be any better. The rooms are a great size and had everything we needed for our stay. We had a room with a sofa bed as we had our 10 year old daughter with us as well, the bed was already made up for us when we got to our room which has never been the case in other hotels I have stayed at we have always had to do this ourselves. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and had plenty of choice. The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel, I will be coming back. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 is because of the noise at night from the bars below, but the view from my window made up for this. The staff are all very polite, friendly and helpful. we took advantage of the 20% discount off your bill at Pan Ams if you are staying at the holiday Inn and had a lovely meal. I'm looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillylou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good to hear that your family enjoyed their recent stay with us & that you would return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    621
    233
    41
    35
See reviews for
311
588
55
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SheffieldYorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we were told that Neil Young and Crazy Horse had cancelled their European tour, we tried to cancel the two nights stay we had booked at this hotel but couldn't. However, we were glad we hadn't as we had a great weekend. The hotel would have been literally five minutes from the concert venue so that is worth noting for a next time, and the back door of the hotel comes out onto Albert Dock. There isn't much you can say any more about Liverpool. It is a great place for a short break, so much to see and do and its always buzzing! The atmosphere is great! This hotel was everything we needed. The architecture is impressive. It was formally a warehouse on the docks and all the rooms have bits of the original features. The ceilings are to die for. One side of the hotel looks over the Mersey - a great sight! The bedroom was spacious and clean with a good flat screen television. My only complaint was that I like lots of interesting little bottles of shampoo, creams etc and it seems that the modern and I'm sure cheaper way is to have soap dispensers in the shower room and above the sink. Our bedroom looked over the very impressive Liverpool Wheel. The facilities in the hotel were good with free Wifi. Breakfast was included. There was plenty of fruit and yoghurt, bread and preserves, but only sausage, scrambled egg and beans for a hot choice. Bacon would have been welcomed! Oh, and the coffee was dreadful!! All in all, we picked it for its nearness to our aborted concert and it satisfied all our needs. Just one tip, don't include a Saturday night as there is a nightclub underneath somewhere and the row went on into the early hours!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Mersey River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of reviewing our coffee provider so can hopefully improve on that element of your stay should you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our hen party stayed here and we really could not have chosen a hotel which was better situated in Liverpool for our needs. Located right on the Albert Dock, it is a perfect place to stay to explore the city centre which is a very short walk. Our rooms had beautiful views of the Liverpool 'postcard picture' Liver Birds. For a hen do it was great because we wanted to be close to shops, bars and restaurants. However, because it was so close to the booming nightlife of Liverpool it might not be suitable for visitors wanting an early and quiet night! Also be aware that it is across the road from the arena (great if you're going to a concert, probably not so great if you're not!). The hotel itself was clean and very nicely decorated (paintings on the wall, high ceilings with beams). We had breakfast included and it was pleasant enough although it was very busy at the time we went (9.30am). Overall, a very good experience. I would stay here again on my next visit to the lovely city of Liverpool.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MissGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Sounds like it was a good hen weekend! LIverpool is a great location. Pleased to hear that you would return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want to be right at the Albert Dock and close to the Mersey this is a perfect choice. Situated in a Grade 1 listed building (formerly a warehouse) this offers a different experience from normal 3 star hotels and has really good-sized rooms although these had double rather than king sized beds. Amazingly, smoking rooms are available here. With a special offer we got this hotel with breakfast for a very good price, but if you leave having breakfast until nearer the end of the serving time you will find things are running out. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. Overall a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Don't park in the parking spaces opposite which are expensive. Go to the ACC multi-storey 2 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were happy with the customer service levels provided by the team. We do try to replensih breakfast as quickly as possible but as I am sure you can appreciate there are some times (especially at the weekend) when the breakfast buffet does get extreemly busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Right on the banks of the Mersey waterfront and Albert Dock is a fabulooosa location. So much to see and do next door. Rooms are very clean, nice and most importantly ..... everyone gets the full works breakfast included. Rates are always cheaper Sunday's / weekdays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-from-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are slightly bias but we do think we have the best view in Liverpool! Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in many holiday inns and this is one of my favourites. Lovely modern hotel overlooking the Mersey and the docks. Big modern room with lots of space. Think it use to be an old warehouse. Lovely place to eat brekky overlooking the docks. Excellent position for all attractions. Only fault is the parking which you have to walk to, not much fun if its raining. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us - you are correct the building is a converted warehouse, in fact Albert Dock is the largest Grade 1 Listed Building in the country. We do have a couple of options for parking one of which is just across the road, the cheaper option is unfortunately a couple of minutes walk away - reception can give more info.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

i was booked into the beechmount hotel which i found old and rundown so at last minute had to find a place to stay
staff were very friendly and told us they only had a smokers room left
we booked in and found that you could not smell any smoke at all
the refurbished wharf has been done up beautiful
very spacious and clean
handy to all eateries and bars
i highly recommend a stay at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherman5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we love to hear good recommendations for our hotel, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,660 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing