We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & safe. Slightly overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Lodge Guest House
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean & safe. Slightly overpriced for what you get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a group of 9 girls, we had adjacent rooms, one sleeping 6 and the other 4. At £40 EACH, we got a basic bed each (a few with dips), no power shower and no cooked breakfast :-( but the staff seemed nice enough. Considering the bigger room was practically £200 per night.. It Seemed a bit overpriced for what it was. A travel lodge would have probably been cheaper but it was still fun to all get ready together rather than in a load of seperate rooms... We were prepared for the shared bathroom and all had our hair done before we arrived! Next time, I would probably pay a little more and get somewhere in Liverpool centre. The worst thing about the weekend was the bedlam of trying to get a taxi home after a night out. We waited almost 2 hours in the pouring rain.. As did most by the looks of things.. Although when you DO get in one, the distance will cost you about £6-8 in total. We all enjoyed or weekend regardless :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowRanger_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
9
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The guest house is on the corner of a main road,Sheil Road,in a rather rundown area. Its ideal for Liverpool fans or stag/hen parties. We stopped for friday and saturday night in a double room (no.11) on the top floor for £58.
The guest house is a bit dated,but for our needs,a b&b,adequate. The lift is old and slow,so we always used the stairs. The room was clean and tidy,and towels fresh and the room cleaned the next morning. The car park is small for three cars only,but there is parking on the side road outside the guest house. The bed was comfortable and you have tv and sinkbut toilet and shower you share,there was two of each on our floor.
Breakfast was 7am till 9am and consisted of cereals,fruit and toast(you make your own) which was ok.
Overall the guest house is good if you want budget accommodation,but the area is poor and I will leave it at that. We used a taxi to the city which is just over £6.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleyfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and hospitable. The bed was the most comfortable thing I've slept on throughout all my travels! More than adequate continental breakfast. Highy recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and a group of girls travelled down from wales for a hen night in lpool
We booked a great room slept 5 of us all in the same room , the room was brill all newly decorated great big en suite power shower , spotless clean the manager was great to
Sorry we were a bit rowdy but it was a hen night , would defo recommend this b& b
See u next time were i siting lpool if you will have us again Pauline and friends

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlebrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

found the place to be well set out clean and everyone was pleasant found the night man to be very helpful would stay there again planning to go back there for xmas party with work thanks for a pleasant stay to all at castle lodge will see you soon

Room Tip: all room are good have stayed there a few times in the past family rooms are exceptional for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I'd stayed here regularly whenever I come up to see Liverpool play and it's very handy for the ground, and easy to get a cab into town in the evening. The rooms are basic, but warm and comfortable, and they don't charge the earth.

However, on my last stay I discovered that they no longer do a cooked breakfast. Before, it was always one of the better breakfasts but now, just toast or cereal, which after a night out is less than ideal.

In summary then, if you want a good breakfast, not here. But everything else is fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jonmdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Am cuttently staying at the castle lodge do not take any notice of bad reports iv never met any people so nice as the couple that run the place they are so helpfull with anything they can do for you everything is set out for continental breakfast just help your self on a morning rooms are perfect clean through out would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Guest House

Property: Castle Lodge Guest House
Address: 94 Sheil Road, Liverpool L6 3AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Guest House, we have 27 rooms and offer a high standard of overnight accommodation with a continental style breakfast whilst maintaining our inexpensive rates. Based in Liverpool and situated just 5 minutes from the city centre using local travel, we have been welcoming guests since 2000. With Anfield Football Stadium, home of Liverpool Football club within a 10 minute walk from us, we are ideally located for those looking for accommodation on match days. All rooms are of a high standard and include tea and coffee making facilities and TV for your personal viewing - free Wifi is available to our guests. Free off road parking is available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castle Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing