We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for budget accommodation”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very good value at £65 per night. Rooms were clean and comfortable (no view from the internal bit of the building), bathroom rather well appointed - seems as if they've spent some money on new fittings. Breakfast good value wholesome and well cooked. Location is second to none really - literally next door to James St Merseyrail station from where you can get anywhere in Merseyside it seemed, and about 200 yards from the docks and Royal Liver building. The extra bed requested on room was brought up at 11pm with smiles and scouse chat from the lads on the late shift. No worries with this hotel

Room Tip: Overlooking the road would have a better view, but if you're using it just as somewhere to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniman2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear miniman2804,

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us in Liverpool. We are lucky to have such a central location and we're pleased this was handy for your visit. I will pass on your review to the nights team who will be very pleased with their mention.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    888
    269
    55
    41
See reviews for
379
865
114
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location, right beside James St train station, the docks/musuem and the shopping area. The room was ideal for a short stay and we didn't hear any noise despite out room facing the street. The choice of TV channels was the best I've seen in any hotel. On the minus side, the bed was a bit soft.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Bullet M,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will think of us for your next visit to Liverpool.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

They say you only get what you pay for, well that is really the case here. No frills just clean and modest. Luckily my room was overlooking the back (which I did ask for) and although dark, was clean. It is clear they do not cater for people to stay more than two or three nights as there are no wardrobes or drawers, just a basic hanging space. One word of warning though, I am unsure about other rooms, but my room (120) had a very high step intro the bathroom.
The breakfast room which shares the same space as the bar on the 1st floor, was adequate and the bar closes on the dot at midnight. There were 8 of us in the bar but clearly the barman was not interested or had any incentive to stay on to serve us after midnight. The location is quite good for the riverfront, but there are loads of hotels in this area. This hotel does NOT have a car park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Broadslord,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it highlights where we can improve the service we offer our guests.
We're pleased you found the rooms clean and your requests were catered for. Although we don't have drawers in our rooms we do have wardrobe hanging space with spacing above and to the side along with bedside storage. A few of our rooms do have a step into the bathroom but on your next visit feel free to request a room without and we will be able to sort this for you.
I will be passing our review onto our restaurant team to investigate why this occured.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in Liverpool Days Inn for 3 nights. Very central hotel, close to trains, buses. Had two requests to hotel before arriving (a) early check in and (b) change of room from family to twin room, neither of these requests could be accommodated and that was understandable but no acknowledgement was made of these requests. Bedrooms basic, beds not very comfortable and if you have a pull out bed for a person you can be guaranteed a sleepless, painful night. Carpet in our room was bumpy in places and as we had someone using a walking stick it was quite dangerous. Bonus of the place is the shower which was spacious and able to adjust water with ease.Wifi advertised but not always available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear bunvee,

Thank for taking the time to review your stay with our hotel and for bringing these issues to our attention. I was very concerned when I read your review and have been investigating into this. I have passed on our review to the relevant departments as well. I hope the time you spent in Liverpool more than made up for this.


Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was hoping that the hotel would have views over the Mersey - but no such luck! It is up a side street not far from a junction with a busy dual carriageway. The exterior was a little disappointing & the tiny reception desk was the size of a broom cupboard! The internal layout was a little confusing, especially if you use the stairs instead of the lift. The room decor looked really modern - for the 1970's with odd colours. The wardrobes were open-fronted and looked like a bulk buy from Ikea! Having been disappointed that our room overlooked a carpark, at least it was quiet (unlike some reviews & were unaware of the proximity of the underground station until we were outside). We did not try the breakfast having read some mediocre reviews. In its favour, the hotel is handy to the waterfront area (we had come from a ship docked at the cruise terminal, which is why we picked this hotel). Also, it seems to be one of the best value hotels in the centre. In the USA the Days Inn chain are I believe mostly motels, and in many ways, this is more like a motel than a hotel. For a good value 2-night break to see some of the sights of Liverpool, it is recommended, but I'm not sure I would have been keen to stay longer!

Room Tip: Quiet overlooking the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portishead26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Portishead26,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the decor of our rooms. I hope the handy location and good value of your stay more than made up for this.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

this is the second time that we stayed at this hotel but just a few things were lacking from previous stay.
bed making was slap dash. had to request a toilet roll. ice machine on corridor was out of action for whole stay.
The positives were location, comfort of room, breakfast, general cleanliness, friendliness of staff

Room Tip: we were on 3 rd floor, far end from lift and think this was a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abergirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear abergirl5,

We love to hear that guests choose to stay with us again. I apologise that you had issues during your second stay and would like to thank you for bringing these to your attention. We are pleased you found the room comfortable and staff friendly and we hope you will think of us for your third stay in Liverpool.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Days Inn Liverpool is located near the city centre, not far from Liverpool One, Albert Dock, the newer Echo Arena - all of which are a few minutes walk away. Having said that you are next to James Street/Mersey Rail station, there are various bus stops and a taxi rank to hand too. Car Parking is nearby in the form of a 24hour underground car park (the hotel does not have parking of its own.)

The purpose of my visit as to see a gig ay the Echo Arena nearby to see Neil Young & Crazy Horse in concert, with some friends..

The room was spacious, modern, clean, comfy and of more than adequate standard. I booked a standard room with a king size double bed on the mezzanine floor (split level 1st floor - entrance through restaurant).

The room had TV, tea/coffee making facilities and is air conditioned. There is an ensuite bathroom (which I found a little small as the door just about missed the WC pan altogether when opening/closing) and with soap and shower dispensers bolted to the wall. There is an ironing board and a hair dryer for the well groomed of you.

As eluded too earlier there is a small bar come restaurant too on the first floor. Should point breakfast us a separate purchase to the room and is not inclusive of the room rate. The breakfast is a hot buffet affair with cereals and juices and fruit for the more discerning health conscious punter (that rules me out as I looked a cooked fried breakfast especially after a heavy night out in the real ale pubs in the city centre plus the afore mentioned concert. The breakfast is modest £6.50 on top of the room rate/tariff.

Other features of the hotel include 24hr dining options including a light bite menu, laundry and dry-cleaning service available, express checkout, room hire available for events and special occasions.

I has more than enjoyable stay there and was sufficient for what I wanted and considering the price range. If I am ever to find my self in Liverpool again would consider a return visit to the hotel with its friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LairdPhilT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Inn Mgr M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear LairdPhilT,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with our hotel and for such detailed feedback. We hope you and your friends had a great time at the concert and that you will think you us again for your next gig. Just to let you know if you show your concert ticket to our restaurant team you will receive 25% off food and drinks in the evening.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,376 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,009 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Days Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Days Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing