We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so far so good, sofa so bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Limerick ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“so far so good, sofa so bad!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with two mates in a triple room. The room was a good size, and had all we needed, including an iron and ironing board. The bathroom, while small, was clean and bright and had a powerful shower with plenty of hot water for the three of us.

There was a queen bed which was fine, but the pull-out sofa bed was terrible. The bed springs were weak and the mattress was flat. It was a back-breaker! You'd be more comfortable sleeping standing up! The staff were understanding and offered to move us to another room if one became available which we declined. Hard to believe they didn't have another bed or Mattress to replace the one in the room. It should be thrown out. I pity the next occupants of room 209.

There is a quiet bar/restaurant on the first floor, where we had an evening meal, the food was ordinary but adequate, however it was unusual not to see any steak on the menu. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel, preferring the small locally run cafes in the city center.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location; next to James St. underground train station and bus stop. Its less than 5 minutes from Liverpool One and the pedestrianized shopping streets and only 5 minutes from Mathew Street and the Cavern quarter. Oh, and there’s a great pub and comedy club just around the corner – The Slaughter House.

Room Tip: avoid the triple or family rooms with a sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel_Gard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Belgard

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Days Inn staff, we are extremely grateful when receiving positive feedback.
In regards to the comments about the sofa beds we are in the process of replacing them with single beds due to our guest’s feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    891
    270
    55
    42
See reviews for
380
868
114
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel last week after reading TA reviews. I booked on the phone using what turned out to be a canadian call centre - it took ages. I arrived early and was told there was no chance of a room ahead of 2pm. I find that strange - I am sure rooms do not suddenly become cleaned and ready for use at the magic hour.
Once checked in the room was fine, clean comfortable and in good condition. The wifi also worked pretty well.
I eat in the restaurant lured by a half price promotion for the new improved menu staring that day. It was a very limited menu and portions were small - I hate to think what the old menu was like!
The bed was ok - not mega comfortable but it wasn't my best nights sleep.
Breakfast was school dinner stuff - limited choice buffet - no fried eggs and the food was not of good quality.
If I stay at the hotel again - which is quite possible I will go room only & eat elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear kenao

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve the running of our hotel. Feedback such as your own helps us focus on the details that maybe overlooked when looking for improvements.

I hope you will return in the near future. Once again thank you for your time.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

You don't get a big plush lobby with uniformed bell boys running around but what you do get is large, simply furnished but comfortable rooms, an excellent breakfast and very friendly, efficient and informative staff. We stayed four days during the week. Our room was large, as was the bathroom, with a comfortable king size bed, plenty of pillows, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and, best of all, a really good hair dryer. Lovely big shower with copious hot water. Soap and nice towels but no other toiletries although essentials could be purchased from reception. Breakfast was extra but at £6.50 each (if booked the previous night, otherwise £7.50) it was good value. There is no substitute, of course, for freshly cooked delivered to your table but the buffet breakfast at Days Inn is one of the better ones. Hot food is regularly replenished. It comprises cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices, croissants, toast, pastries, bread rolls, bacon, tomatoes, beans, hash browns, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, choice of hot drinks: excellent start to the day.

The location of the hotel is its other great asset: 5 minutes' walk to the Albert Dock area with all the great museums and the Mersey Ferry and not much further to the amazing Liverpool One shopping centre. We arrived by train from Euston into Lime Street and it took only 10 minutes to walk to the hotel. If you have heavy luggage a taxi or a train to St James' Street station which is right next door to the hotel is another option.

We would definitely stay here again: it's a bargain!

Room Tip: Odd numbers probably have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, General Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear BarnesOnTour,

Thank you so much for your review of Days Inn.. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel and also that you enjoyed our city.


TripAdvisor reviews can really affect people’s decisions when they are choosing a hotel to stay in so your review will assist in showing potential future guests what a great hotel we have here.
We hope to see you again at Days Inn Liverpool soon.

Kind Regards,
Janet McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Days Inn Liverpool. We are Beatles fan and it was a fantastic place to stay for our purpose. We arrived in Liverpool by train and you can't find a hotel this close to the station. It is right next door in the same building (James Street Station). The hotel is 10 minutes walk to Albert Dock (Beatles Story, Magical Mystery Tour, National Trust Lennon & McCartney childhood home tours), Maritime Museum, Museum of Liverpool and ferry across the Mersey. It is 15 minutes to walk to Lime Street Station. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and quiet. There is free wifi and hot drinks in our room. The breakfast buffet was a good deal for the price: You get a hot English / continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. We are very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emydaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, General Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear emmyda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor.. I am sure many people found this review informative.
Hopefully you will be back to stay with us in the near future.

We hope to see you again at Days Inn Liverpool soon.

Kind Regards,
Janet McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

close to albert docks and shops....beatles museum etc....clean nice decor and good cooked breakfast buffet...with friendly bar staff and value for money bar menu in evenings. Wonderful power showers. Ice bucket machinein corridor. Much better than initial entrance suggests. Couldnt find china town though but we did try walking from shops so did take a wrong route

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, General Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Susan I

Thank you so much for your comments on the Days Inn..Next time you visit I will get you a map so you can go to China town.
TripAdvisor reviews can really affect people’s decisions when they are choosing a hotel to stay in so your review will assist in showing potential future guests what a great hotel we have here.
We hope to see you again at Days Inn Liverpool soon.

Kind Regards,
Janet McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent Sunday night at The Days Inn.We arrived after a long drive and were able to check in at 1.15pm.I had requested that with hotel.The room was comfortable,extra pillows,ironing board nice big shower.The elevators were quite slow.We used the Q Park carpark which is about 500m from hotel,the hotel give you a voucher which allows you to park for 24 hours for £9. Taxis were readily available outside the hotel.The staff at reception were very good.We went for drinks and dinner at Liverpool One Centre which is very close by and has a large selection of eateries.Visited Mathew Street for drinks and went shopping At Liverpool One and walking around Albert Dock which is across the main road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear alibasher

Thank you for your lovely review and great comments, they are very much appreciated. Its sounds like you got to see and do lots while in the city and I'm sure our location was very continent for all your site seeing.

We hope you will be returning again in the near future and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellently positioned hotel, close to The Albert Dock, and also to the town center where there are numerous excellent restaurants. The hotel has been recently refurbished The staff were very helpful. We had a very large, clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear lammkin

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and hotel we appreciate all feedback as it helps improve the services we provide on a daily basis.

Your review helps show potential guests what a great hotel we are and for this we are very grateful.

Thank you once again, we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,382 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,582 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Days Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing