We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Eat and Chat!”
Review of Salt House Tapas

Salt House Tapas
Ranked #45 of 1,696 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Liverpool main bus station is around the corner.
Description: Modern, urban tapas joint set in the old Bishops residence, opposite John Lewis in L1.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat and Chat!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've had 2 meals now, and both were superb. Tapas it is, but not only Spanish, but twists on other small portions from around the block! Love the concept, and was, on first visit, a nice meal spent with our family. We had too much to eat, too much to drink, and missed the last train; Fantastic!
Second time was with friends before War of the Worlds, in December. Same great food, and service.
Would highly recommend, and I'm coming back soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    568
    127
    57
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow , thanks tripadvisor for pointing the way to this restaurant. the food was excellent. best tapas in Liverpool, almost as good as the real thing. Only fault was that the jamon serrano was cut too thickly, had it been cut as fine as the manchego then it would have been superb. the scallops were best ever, my husband had the mussels and the sauce was also the best , couldnt resist dipping most of my bread into it. Then the piece de resistance, the fillet, excellent !! as for the dessert ( shared) the meringue ... well cannot praise it highly enough. I had the Rose Sangria, beautiful and the strawberries in it made a lovely dessert for me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slow roast shoulder of lamb is simply Devine”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went here with my two kids in early January. This is the second time I've been here and the tapas was even better than the first. We had a great selection of tapas but the high point was the slow roast shoulder of lamb on put lentils it was simply Devine. The chorizo in honey was also lovely. The staff here are friendly and helpful and I'm sure I'll go here again the next time I'm in Liverpool. The only minor gripe is the 50 pence charged for a jug of water. Although the money goes to the children's hospital it would be nice if they good give an indication of how much was donated in the last year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went for the 2nd time on Thursday lunchtime with some ladies for a catch up and some nice food. The food once again was excellent, the staff very attentive even though it was very busy, we ate from the lunch menu really good value, the chargrilled chicken with buckwheat and yoghurt was really tasty. Good food, good atmosphere ,good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Liverpool”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited last night for the fifth time. Food very good as always. The menu has changed since we were last there and the waitress said they do this every few months. My favourite this time was the fried Monte Enebrio goats cheese with honey and beetroot crisps. The sea bass was very good too. Our patatas bravas never arrived but appeared on the bill. There was no fuss and it was promptly removed.
The restaurant was very full but the tables so close together that people couldn't find a way through either to the toilet or to serve or to get in and out. Unluckily we looked like a good "passageway" and had people squeezing past our table (between the kitchen and the windows) all night . I very soon moved my coat which was on the back of my chair as it was being trodden on.
We were eating pre-show and weren't sure how long it would take. We booked and were seated for 5.30 and had actually finished eating by 6.15. The food came as it was prepared with cold items first .
We live 100 miles away from Liverpool but always look forward to visiting here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt House Tapas also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Salt House Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing